About: Digital Humanities Innovation Lab (DHIL)

About the Lab

The DHIL assists SFU researchers with the development of digital scholarship by providing consultations, training, mentoring, research software development, and technical support. We foster collaboration and interdisciplinarity across faculty and promote the development and dissemination of high-quality research that positions SFU as a world leader in digital scholarship.  

Located in the W.A.C. Bennett Library at SFU Burnaby and utilizing meeting space at the Vancouver and Surrey Campuses, the DHIL leverages the Library’s expertise in digital initiatives, unique special collections, and research skill-development programming.

See Contact the DHIL for ways to reach the Lab.

Our work in the lab is guided by a collaboratively written Charter and Code of Conduct.

Lab team

Rebecca Dowson (on leave until May 2023) is the Digital Scholarship Librarian and Library Collaborator at the DHIL. In her role, Rebecca supports researchers at all levels who are engaged with digital humanities through project consultations, digital skill development workshops, and coordinating the Library's resources in digitization and project hosting. Her research interests include the intersection of libraries and digital humanities, with a particular interest in digital cultural heritage projects, digital skill building, and new forms of scholarly publishing.

Michael Joyce enjoys writing software that talks to other software because he’s bad at talking to people and doesn’t understand apostrophes. He brings 21 years of digital humanities and web application development to the DHIL, including working as Web and Data Services Developer for the Bennett Library, a Programmer Analyst for UBC Mathematics, and a Web Developer at the Electronic Textual Culture Lab at UVic. He hates spreadsheets and loves highly structured databases.

Ali Moore is covering the role of Digital Scholarship Librarian in the DHIL until May 2023. Ali supports the DHIL projects, in addition to offering consultations and facilitating workshops on DH projects and tools. Ali has an MLIS from McGill University, and since joining SFU Library in 2015, she has worked in a variety of roles, most recently as the Assistant Head of the Research Commons. Ali is currently the Manager of the SFU Knowledge Mobilization Hub. Ali has expertise supporting student and faculty researchers with scholarly communications, knowledge mobilization, research impact, online presence, and data visualization. Ali's research interests include library assessment and scholarly publishing.

Joey Takeda is the User Interface Developer for the DHIL. He has worked as a programmer for a number of DH projects, including The Map of Early Modern LondonLandscapes of InjusticeLinked Early Modern Drama Online, and The Winnifred Eaton Archive. He has an MA in English from the University of British Columbia, where his research focused on Indigenous and diasporic literature, textual and editorial approaches, queer theory, and ecocriticism.

Faculty collaborators

The lab was founded and co-directed by Drs. Colette Colligan and Michelle Levy from 2016-2020.

Colette Colligan is a Professor of English. She also leads the France Field School. She specializes in nineteenth and early twentieth-century literature, print and media culture, the history of pornographic print cultures, and digital humanities.

Michelle Levy is a Professor of English. Michelle specializes in Romantic literary culture, book history and digital humanities. Her research investigates the material practices that defined literary production and dissemination in the Romantic period, and she is particularly interested in the history of women’s writing and the interplay between the cultures of manuscript and print. She is project lead on the Women’s Print History Project, 1750-1836, a comprehensive digital bibliography of women’s books.

Past team members

Saba Akhyani Digital Fellow (2020–2022)

Rémi Castonguay Digital Scholarship Librarian (2019–2021)

Kenny Chakola Digital Fellow (2020)

Dogan Erisen Digital Fellow (2017–2018)

Deanna Fong Digital Fellow (2016–2017)

Sophia Han Digital Fellow (2020–2022)

Erik Hanson Digital Fellow (2017–2019)

Hannah Holtzclaw Digital Fellow (2018–2020)

Julie Jones Digital Scholarship Librarian (2021)

Kimberly O’Donnell Digital Fellow (2017–2019)

Kandice Sharren Digital Fellow (2018–2019)

Catherine Winters Web Developer (2018–2019)

Alex Xanthoudakis Digital Fellow (2019–2020)

Abdul Zahir Digital Fellow (2017)