You are here

Student Learning Commons: Burnaby

 

During COVID-19, Student Learning Commons services continue.
 
For the complete range, including consultations, support, workshops, handouts, and groups, see SLC services continue online.  

 

Contact information: Email, phone, mailing address

email: learning-commons@sfu.ca
phone: 778.782.4648

Student Learning Commons Office
W.A.C. Bennett Library
3rd floor, Room 3020
Simon Fraser University
8888 University Drive
Burnaby BC  V5A 1S6

Contacts for SLC staff located on the Burnaby campus 

SLC Staff

Donna McGee Thompson, Head, Student Learning Commons

Email: dmcthomp@sfu.ca

Phone: 778.782.3294

Peggy Fung, SLC Assistant 

Email: peggyf@sfu.ca

Phone: 778.782.4648

Dr. Tim Mossman, English as Additional Language Coordinator 

Email: tmossman@sfu.ca

Phone: 778.782.8510

Ruth Silverman, Learning Services Coordinator

Email: rsilverm@sfu.ca

Phone: 778.782.8465

Dal Sohal, Learning Services Coordinator 

Email: dsohal@sfu.ca

Phone: 778.782.8509

Julia Lane, Undergraduate Writing Services Coordinator 

Email: jhlane@sfu.ca

Phone: 778.782.9705

Robyn Long, Graduate Writing Services Coordinator 

Email: robynl@sfu.ca

Phone: 778.782.7165

Writing and learning strategies consultations

You can book an appointment for a writing or learning strategies consultation.

Workshops at SFU Burnaby

We offer workshops covering a variety of learning and writing-related topics. If you haven't made an appointment with the SLC before, please see Consultation Information to learn more about our appointments process and how to register on our system.

Services for graduate students

Specialized writing and other research support services designed for graduate students are available through the Research Commons.

Find the Burnaby SLC 

The SLC is located on the main floor of the W.A.C. Bennett Library in Room 3020 and is open between 9:00am - 4:30pm Monday - Friday.

SLC location

This short wayfinding video shows how to get from the front entrance of the W.A.C. Bennett Library to the Burnaby SLC: