You are here

Academic English Grammar and Writing for Multilingual Learners

Academic English Grammar and Writing for Multilingual Learners is a co-curricular course offered by the Student Learning Commons (SLC) and has been carefully designed to help you succeed as a multilingual learner of English. 

The course combines grammar for academic purposes, critical thinking, and academic writing for university. The syllabus focuses on developing an appropriate academic voice to help you express yourself correctly and appropriately in academic writing as a member of the SFU academic community.  Students will do regular in-class writing, learn how to develop a critical stance, and write a research paper  and a give a presentation.

The course is not formally graded, but you will complete several reading and writing tasks, all of which will be graded and used to provide personalized feedback. Open to both undergraduate and graduate students.

The required workbook is Grammar for Academic Purposes by Steve Marshall. Students have the option of purchasing the online version ($23.95) or the book ($32.95; available in the SFU bookstore).

Fall 2018 Term

September 19-November 30, 2018

Wednesdays and Fridays, 10:30 AM-12:20 PM

Library Room 7200

 

Category: 
Audience: 

Upcoming Workshops

Title Location Dates
Academic English Grammar and Writing for Multilingual Learners : 2018-09-19 to 2018-11-30 Burnaby, Bennett Library, Rm 7200 Wednesday, September 19, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Friday, September 21, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, September 26, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Friday, September 28, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, October 3, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Friday, October 5, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Friday, October 12, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Friday, October 19, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, October 24, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Friday, October 26, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, October 31, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Friday, November 2, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, November 7, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Friday, November 9, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Friday, November 16, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, November 21, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Friday, November 23, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, November 28, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Friday, November 30, 2018 - 10:30am to 12:20pm