You are here

Academic Writing for Graduate Students (EAL)

Academic Writing for Graduate Students is a non-credit, 12-week co-curricular course designed for graduate students for whom English is an additional language (EAL).  You will learn how to apply your analytical skills to the discourses of your chosen disciplines and to explore how effective academic writing in Western scholarly tradition is achieved in order to position yourself as junior scholars in your chosen academic communities. 

Required textbook:

Swales, John M., & Feak, Christine B. (2011). Academic Writing for Graduate Students: Essential Tasks and Skills (3rd Edition). Ann Arbor: U of Michigan Press (ISBN: 978-0472-03475-8).

Category: 
Audience: 

Upcoming Workshops

Title Location Dates
Academic Writing for Graduate Students (EAL) : 2019-05-15 to 2019-07-17 Burnaby, Bennett Library, Rm 7010, Research Commons Wednesday, June 19, 2019 - 9:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, June 26, 2019 - 9:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, July 3, 2019 - 9:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 - 9:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, July 17, 2019 - 9:30am to 12:20pm
Academic Writing for Graduate Students (EAL) : 2019-09-11 to 2019-11-27 Burnaby, Bennett Library, Rm 7010, Research Commons Wednesday, September 11, 2019 - 9:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, September 18, 2019 - 9:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, September 25, 2019 - 9:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, October 2, 2019 - 9:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, October 9, 2019 - 9:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, October 16, 2019 - 9:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, October 23, 2019 - 9:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, October 30, 2019 - 9:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, November 6, 2019 - 9:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, November 13, 2019 - 9:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, November 20, 2019 - 9:30am to 12:20pm
Wednesday, November 27, 2019 - 9:30am to 12:20pm