You are here

Academic Writing for Graduate Students

 

During COVID-19, Student Learning Commons services continue.
 
For the complete range, including consultations, support, workshops, handouts, and groups, see SLC services continue online.  

 

This seminar-style workshop series is designed for multilingual graduate students with English as a non-dominant language. Workshop activities include richly varied writing, reading, and language-specific tasks designed to develop academic writers. Participants will learn how to apply their analytical skills to the discourses of their chosen disciplines and explore how effective academic writing in Western scholarly tradition is achieved.

Required textbook:
Swales, John M., & Feak, Christine B. (2011). Academic Writing for Graduate Students: Essential Tasks and Skills (3rd Edition). Ann Arbor: U of Michigan Press (ISBN: 978-0472-03475-8). (PDF Available)

Category: 
Audience: 

Register for upcoming workshops

Title Location Dates
Academic Writing for Graduate Students : 2020-09-15 to 2020-12-01 Webinar Tuesday, September 15, 2020 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Tuesday, September 29, 2020 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Tuesday, October 6, 2020 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Tuesday, October 13, 2020 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Tuesday, October 20, 2020 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Tuesday, October 27, 2020 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Tuesday, November 3, 2020 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Tuesday, November 10, 2020 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Tuesday, November 17, 2020 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Tuesday, November 24, 2020 - 10:30am to 12:20pm
Tuesday, December 1, 2020 - 10:30am to 12:20pm