World Literature Information Resources: Home

Liaison Librarian
Holly Hendrigan
holly_hendrigan@sfu.ca
778.782.8023
 

Welcome!

This guide lists selected print and online information sources related to World Literature and available to SFU faculty, students, and staff. 

If you need help, please contact Holly Hendrigan, Liaison Librarian at 778.782.8023 or holly_hendrigan@sfu.ca or Ask a librarian.

What's New

New World Literature Books at SFU Library

All new books and other resources for World Literature are listed and updated weekly on the World Literature new library acquisitions page.

Featured Resources

Baffled by how to find World Literature books on library shelves?  Check out this new finding aid.  It can also be found in the stacks. 

Gale Literary and Critical Databases Combined
Includes both the Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online and 6 of the Gale Literary Criticism series. 

The Dictionary of Literary Biography provides access to all volumes of this award winning series. Featuring comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics, you'll find profiles of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works. Additionally, you can search for essays on publishing houses and literary topics.

Gale Literature Criticism Online provides access to six major Gale Literary Criticism series. It includes scholarly and popular literary commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and journals. 

Magill's survey of world literature: Offers profiles of major writers outside the United States from all time periods, accompanied by analysis of their significant titles of fiction, drama, poetry, and nonfiction. Includes indexes by category and country.  

  

Help with Course Assignments

World Literature 100 (Fall 2011)
World Literature 201 (Spring 2010)
World Literature 303: Global Culture and its Others
World Literature 401: Early Modernities
World Literature 404: Literature and Translation
Writing About Film