SA 321: Social Movements
If you need help, please contact Moninder Bubber, Liaison Librarian at 778.782.4264 or bubber@sfu.ca or Ask a librarian.
Instructor: Megan Humphries
Course outline: SA 321 - 4 Social Movements (S) - (May - Aug 2010)
Additional Readings
Contents
- Writing and Style Guides (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.)
- Understanding and Avoiding Plagiariasm (tutorial)
- Background Information (Encyclopedias)
- Encyclopedia of American social movements HN 57 E594 2004
- Encyclopedia of activism and social justice HM 671 E53 2007
- Handbook of social movements across disciplines. / print HM 881 H36 2007
- Books
- Journal articles
- What is a scholarly, peer-reviewed journal?
- How to critically evaluate sources
- Primary Documents
- Selected Websites G8 / G20 - Recommended by Professor Humphries
- RefWorks / RefWorks FAQs, RefWorks Training, RefWorks Cribsheet -- manage your bibliographies
- Citation Finder Use this tool to locate journal articles, books, etc. when you have a specific citation but don't know where to find the item.
Library Services for Undergraduate Students
Books
you could try keyword search :
- (social movement* or protest movement*) AND theor*
- civil rights and women
- feminism
- animal rights and movement*
- anti-capitalis* and movement*
- globalization and political activi*
- Labor union* and political activit*
- Women and global* and resist* and (solidarity or activi* or protest*)
- g8
- seattle and resistance
- neoliberalism and resistance
- neoliberalism and (resistance or protest* or movement*)
- neoliberalism and (resistance or protest* or movement*) and _________ (name a country or region)
- From your list of titles that appear, check their subject headings.
- Try "subject" searches. Note: if you have a large list of titles, sort by "newest first" by pressing the "limit" icon. Some typical subject headings that may be helpful for this class include:
- African American women political activists -- History -- 20th century
- Civil rights movements -- United States -- History -- 20th century
- Feminism -- United States -- History -- 20th century
- Group of Eight (Organization)
- Iraq War, 2003- -- Protest movements.
- Labor Movement -- 4 Related Subjects
- Neoliberalism
- Peace Movements
- Protest Movements
- Social movements
- Social Movements -- 29 Related Subjects
- See also the narrower term Animal rights movement
- See also the narrower term Anti-feminism
- See also the narrower term Anti-globalization movement
- See also the narrower term Antinuclear movement
- See also the narrower term Environmentalism
- See also the narrower term Gay liberation movement
- See also the narrower term Human rights movements
- See also the narrower term Labor movement
- See also the narrower term Peace movements
--subdivision Protest movements under names of wars, e.g. World War, 1939-1945--Protest movements - See also the narrower term White supremacy movements
- Social movements - China (also check names of other countries as sub-headings under "social movements")
- Social Movements - Islamic Countries
- Social Movements -- Latin America
- Social Movements - Philosophy
- Social Movements - Political Aspects - Canada
- Social Movements - Research
Journal articles
There are a number of journal article and citation databases specific to Sociology available to you. DO NOT limit yourselves to these. Sociology touches on many other subject areas, such as geography, women's studies, criminology, and economics. Also, have a look at news databases such as CBCA and CPIQ. News sources are an excellent place to look for references to sociological studies. Have a look at our complete list of electronic article and citation databases to see the range of what's available to you.
Databases vary widely. Some provide you with full text articles, others with only citations, some with both. If the full text of the article is not available, however, most of the databases at SFU will give you the option to find the article either in print in the Library, in another electronic database or at another institution. Click on the "Where Can I Get This?" link in the citation. This process is described in greater detail in the "How to Find Journal Articles" tutorial.
- Sociological Abstracts : Sociological aspects of twenty-nine broad topics, including anthropology, business, collective behaviour, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies, and violence.
- Social Theory: fulltext. ... database brings together an extensive range of influential writings representing the most important trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present day. Included in the more than 150,000 pages of searchable content are seminal works by such theorists as Harriet Martineau, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Max Weber, Karl Marx, Emile Durkheim, Jürgen Habermas, Talcott Parsons, Michel Foucault and Jean Baudrillard.
-
Project MUSE Search - fulltext, Humanities and Social Science journals. Can search JSTOR from within this database... just check off the box for JSTOR in the left column.
- JSTOR Full text of core Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences titles, going back to first issue... does not include the current (the very latest) 6-7 years of a journal due to publishers' restrictions.
-
Google Scholar (Beta version)- Search specifically for scholarly literature.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index : Covers basic periodicals on all social sciences and humanities topics.
- CBCA Full Text Reference : -comprehensive coverage of Canadian topics
- Canadian Newsstand - Fulltext of major Canadian newspapers and Canwest's small-market BC papers.
- LexisNexis - News papers, international legal cases and law reports.
- Alternative Press Index -Alternative & radical media
- Web of Science : Not just for science, this database covers content from the arts and humanities as well as the social sciences. "citation" searching is unique feature.
Primary Documents
Primary sources library research guide for more sources.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
in-depth access to the published histories and records of women’s reform organizations throughout the United States during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
- Can do "advance search" - limit by time period, nationality, age, etc.
- Try "Browse" -- movements or chronologies, etc.
- Globe & Mail Canada's Heritage from 1844 (to 2001) - Multidisciplinary - newspaper only
- New York Times -- newspaper - 1851-01-01 to present, except for the latest 36 months (embargo)
- Times of London Digital Archives -- newspaper -- including prior title, Universal Daily Register (1785-1788). Full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-1985.
Selected Websites on G8 / G20
Websites recommended by Professor Humphries
G8: June 25 - June 28, 2010
G20: June 26 - June 27, 2010
Official websites:
G20 - http://www.g20.org/index.aspx
Government of Canada official G20 website - http://g20.gc.ca/home/
Government of Canada official G8 website - http://g8.gc.ca/home/
Wikipedia entries:
G20 – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G-20_major_economies
G8 – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G8
G20/8 Research and related groups:
G20 - University of Toronto -- http://www.g20.utoronto.ca/
G8 - University of Toronto -- http://www.g8.utoronto.ca/
Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives - http://www.policyalternatives.ca/projects/trade-and-investment-research-project
Selection of protest groups:
Council of Canadians - http://www.canadians.org/g20/index.html
2010 People’s Summit - http://peoplessummit2010.ca/section/2
G8/20 Toronto Community Mobilization - http://g20.torontomobilize.org/
Defenders of the Land - http://www.defendersoftheland.org/story/179
Ontario Coalition Against Poverty (OCAP) - http://update.ocap.ca/
CUPE - Canadian Union of Public Employees --http://www.cupe.on.ca/doc.php?subject_id=217&lang=en
Mass Media articles and resources:
Globe and Mail ‘Watch list’ of protest groups planning action around the G20 -
http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/world/g8-g20/background/toronto-g20-protester-watchlist/article1557600/
Toronto Star - G20 -- http://www.thestar.com/topic/News-GTA-TorontoG20Summit
CBC - G20 -- http://www.cbc.ca/canada/toronto/story/2010/04/30/toronto-g20.html
Vancouver Sun - http://www.vancouversun.com/
Alternative Media articles and Resources:
This Magazine - http://this.org/
Canadian Dimension - http://canadiandimension.com/articles/3003/
Alternet - http://www.alternet.org/
The Tyee - http://thetyee.ca/
Independent Media.ca - http://www.independentmedia.ca/
Briarpatch - http://briarpatchmagazine.com/
Rabble - http://www.rabble.ca/
Democracy Now - http://www.democracynow.org/
-- do a search for "G8" or "G20" in their search engine.
Columbia University - Earth Institute - http://www.earth.columbia.edu/articles/view/1791
-- do a search for "G8" or "G20" in their search engine.
ONE - http://www.one.org/us/
-- do a search for "G8" or "G20" in their search engine.
-- G8/G20 in Canada
-- Data Report 2010 Monitoring the G8 Promise to Africa
| Attachment | Size |
|---|---|
| RefWorksCribsheetMar2009RevApril222010.doc | 31.5 KB |
| SA 321 Additional readings Megan Humphries May 13 2010.doc | 22.5 KB |
