Publishing: Directories and Associations
This guide lists selected print and electronic information sources on directories in Publishing which are available to SFU faculty, students, and staff. If you do not find what you need, contact Nina Smart, the Liaison Librarian for Publishing, 778.782.5051 or firstname.lastname@example.org, Monday to Thursday.
- Government and Policy Information
- Statistics and Industry Reports
- Schools publishing programs around the world
- Alberta Magazine Publishers Association
- Alcuin Society "for lovers of books, the book arts, fine printing and reading"
- l'Association des libraires du Québec (ALQ)
- Association nationale des éditeurs de livres (ANEL)
- Association of Book Publishers of British Columbia ABPBC "provincial association of book publishing companies"
- Association of Canadian Publishers "representing Canadian-owned book publishers of literary, general-trade, and scholarly titles"
- Association of Canadian University Presses Association Des Presses Universitaires Canadiennes
- Association of English-language Publishers of Quebec Association des editeurs Anglophones du Quebec (AELAQ)
- Association of Manitoba Book Publishers
- Association québécoise des éditeurs de magazines (AQEM) Magazines du Québec
- Atlantic Publishers Marketing Association
- Book Publishers Association of Alberta (BPAA) "provincial association of book publishing companies and is one of the strongest communities of regional publishers in North America"
BookNet Canada "agency dedicated to innovation in the Canadian book industry supply chain"
- Canadian Association of Learned Journals
- Canadian Booksellers Association "for the current and future economic well-being of booksellers"
- Canadian Children's Book Centre (CCBC)
- Canadian Printing Industry Association (CPIA)
- Canadian Publishers' Council "representing book publishers in Canada since 1910". Includes Web publishing links
- Canadian Society of Children's Authors, Illustrators and Performers (CANSCAIP)
- Editors' Association of Canada "The voice of Canadian editors"
- Federation of BC Writers "the voice of writers in BC"
Le Groupe de recherche sur l'édition littéraire au Québec (GRÉLQ)
- l'Infocentre littéraire des écrivains (L’ÎLE)
- League of Canadian Poets including Poets and Members page
- Literary Press Group (LPG) "to foster the survival, growth and maintenance of Canadian owned and operated publishing houses"
- Livres Canada Books (formerly Association for the Export of Canadian Books)
- Magazine Association of BC (MABCP) "represents, connects and promotes the BC magazine industry" -- formerly BCAMP
- Organization of Book Publishers of Ontario (OBPO)
- Magazines Canada
- Playwrights Guild of Canada including a list of members
- Saskatchewan Publishers Group
- Writers' Union of Canada including Members' pages
- ABA (American Booksellers Association) "national trade association for independent booksellers"
- Association of American Publishers
- Association of American University Presses (AAUP) including membership directory
- Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers (ALPSP) "largest international trade association for scholarly and professional publishers"
- Association of Magazine Media (US) useful Insights and Resources section
- Independent Book Publishers Association (US)
International Publishers Association "global non-governmental organisation representing all aspects of book and journal publishing worldwide"
- Online Publishers Association (US) useful Resource section
- Publishing Ireland
- Publishing Scotland
- Publishers Association (UK)
- Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) "international alliance of academic and research libraries working to correct imbalances in the scholarly publishing system"
- Society for Scholarly Publishing (US)
UNESCO Culture Sector's Books and Reading
- Canadian Heritage Arts and Culture Includes sections on Books and Magazines, and a list of their Publications
- Canada Book Fund (formerly BPIDP, aka "Bippydip") Canadian Heritage
- Periodical Publishing Policy and Programs Directorate Canadian Heritage
- Canada Council for the Arts Writing and Publishing section
- Archives, Libraries and Publishers programs from Library and Archives Canada
- What is Policy? from the Caledon Institute of Social Policy
Materials at SFU Library:
- Report / Royal Commission on Publications Z 481 C35 1961
- Canadian publishers & Canadian publishing / Royal Commission on Book Publishing Z 481 O57 1973
- Support to cultural industries
- Challenge of change: a consideration of the Canadian book industry Z 481 C36 2000
Canadian Public Policy Collection Full-text monographs. Sample subjects: Publishers And Publishing; Book Industries And Trade; Electronic books
For more books search the SFU Catalogue. Sample subject headings:
- Publishers and publishing -- Government policy -- Canada
- Book Publishing Industry Development Program
- Federal aid to the arts -- Canada
- Federal aid to publishers -- Canada
- Canada -- Cultural policy (See also: Province X -- Cultural policy)
Cultural industries -- Canada
- The book trade in Canada : your complete guide to the Canadian publishing marketplace (select the "SFU Library Journals II" version, then Industry Directories) Older editions in print Z 485 B661
- B.C. Bookworld Author Bank "for and about authors pertaining to British Columbia". Hosted by SFU Library
- Canadian advertising rates & data (CARD Online) Canadian periodicals and media
- Canadian ISBN Publishers' Directory for finding publisher information, from Library and Archives Canada
- Canadian writer's market PN 161 C334
Gale directory of publications and broadcast media Also in print PN 4728 Z9582 "annual guide to publications and broadcasting stations"
- Books in Print "more than 165,000 publishers, distributors, wholesalers"
- Bowker annual library and book trade almanac Z 731 A47
- Dustbooks eDirectories International Directory of Little Magazines & Small Presses and Directory of Poetry Publishers - mainly US, but good Canadian coverage
- International literary market place PN 161 I5
- Literary market place PN 161 L5221 "The directory of the American book publishing industry with industry yellow pages"
- Publishers' Catalogues Home Page "from Algeria to Zimbabwe", including Canada
- Ulrich's international periodicals directory "the most comprehensive directory of periodicals or serials available worldwide"
- World press encyclopedia Also in print PN 4728 Q53 2003
Writer's market PN 161 W83
Statistics Canada has many useful publications including:
- Annual Survey of Service Industries: Book Publishers
- Guide to Culture Statistics
- Periodical Publishing
- Profile of Selected Culture Industries in Ontario (Publishing section: p. 16 - 30)
- BNC research : the Canadian book market Z 481 B54 "comprehensive overview of sales performance within the Canadian book industry" produced by BookNet Canada
BookStats 2011 : summary overview Z 471 B66 2011
- Institut de la statistique Quebec Books and publishers page
- Consumer Magazine Fact Book 2012 Magazines Canada
Who Buys Books in Canada Hill Strategies Research Inc
- Publishing Industry Financial News Publishers Weekly: see the AAP Monthly StatShot
- Association of American Publishers Resources
- Circulation Tends and Data Magazine Publishers of America
- Academic Library Statistics Association of College and Research Libraries
Industry Statistics International Digital Publishing Forum (US only)
- BIS Value of UK book exports 2009 - 2011 Publishers Association (UK)
- UK Book Industry in Statistics 2011 Publishers Association (UK)
- Culture and Communication Statistics UNESCO
- Euromonitor reports from Passport GMID Sample report: "Canadian Consumers in 2020: A Look into the Future" for book expenditures
MINT Global Select "Search industry research" to search the Industry: publishing. Sample profile: "Publishing in Canada"
Book industry trends Z 477 D47 "Comprehensive coverage of publishers' dollar and sales unit figures" US
Copyright @ SFU "University provides the information on this website to help employees and students manage their rights and obligations under Canada’s copyright law"
- Balanced Copyright Government of Canada
- Canadian Intellectual Property Office "a Special Operating Agency (SOA) associated with Industry Canada, is responsible for the administration and processing of the greater part of intellectual property in Canada. "
- copyrightlaws.com to "educate about copyright, licensing and digital property in plain English"
- Copyright Canadian Heritage
- Copyright Canadian Association of Research Libraries
- Legal Deposit Library and Archives Canada
- Michael Geist's Blog Canadian copyright
- Scholarly Publishing this SFU Library guide includes sections on publishing choices, author information, open access and repositories
- The compleat Canadian Copyright Act : present, past & proposed provisions. Copyright Act (Justice Canada) Also in print Z 565 C64
For more books search the SFU Catalogue under the Subject: Copyright - Canada
- Quill and Quire (select the "SFU Library Journals II "access to the e-journal) click on Job Board tab
- Jobs postings on SFU's Thinkubator site
- BCAMP magazine job postings
- AAUP Job Search Association of American University Presses
- Bookjobs.com (mainly American)
- Bookseller: Jobs British book trade positions
Scholarships and Awards for SFU Graduate Students