Psychology Information Resources: Books & Articles
Starting your research
For general guidance or tips on doing your assignment(s), start your research here.
Library catalogue
Books, journals, DVDs and other media located in the SFU Library can be found using the library catalogue.
If you're new to using the library catalogue, visit our SFU Library Catalogue Search Guide.
Electronic books
To find electronic psychology books accessible through the SFU Library do a Keyword search in the library catalogue, limit your search to "eResources". From the library catalogue record for each title use the "Connect to" link to view the text
Books published by the American Psychological Association can also be searched online in the PsycBooks collection. PsycBooks contains the fulltext of most books published by the American Psychology Association, including the multi-volume Encyclopedia of Psychology published by the APA.
Journals and magazines
The online databases will help you locate journal and magazine articles. They provide centralized access to most of the electronic journals to which SFU has access, whether as part of a print subscription or through our major fulltext databases.
Databases
Key databases for Psychology:
- PsycINFO: The most inclusive database for research in psychology. PsycINFO Quick Guide
- Social Sciences Citation Index: Multidisciplinary social sciences index which allows citation searching.
- Web of Science: A citation database which shows which authors are citing other author's works.
- Digital Dissertations (Dissertation Abstracts): Index to PhD and Master's theses in all subject areas.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook: Descriptive and evaluative information about tests.
For a full list of databases relevant to your research, see the following lists of databases:
- Psychology (in the most general sense)
- Psychology, Cognitive and Biological
- Psychology, Law and Forensic
Electronic journals
Search the electronic journals database to find online editions of psychology journals available through the SFU Library. Search by title keyword or subject, or browse the selected list of e-journals relating to Pyschology. To search several journals at once, use instead one of the databases listed above.
