POL 313: Political Ideologies: Library Research Guide
This research guide is intended to help you get started with your POL 313: Political Ideologies course assignment research.
If you need help, please contact Jenna Walsh, Indigenous Initiatives Librarian & Liaison for Archaeology, First Nations Studies and Political Science at 778.782.9378 or firstname.lastname@example.org or Ask a librarian.
Do you need some basic definitions or background information? Try these subject-related resources:
Encyclopedia of Political Science
Offers a comprehensive and in-depth exploration of the central ideas, ideologies, and frameworks underlying the study of politics, and highlights the intersections of politics with philosophy, cultural studies, sociology, religion, psychology, history, and economics.
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics
- The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought
- A Glossary of Political Theory. Available in print: JA 61 H65 2007
- The Facts on File World Political Almanac. Available in print: D 843 C5797 1995
- World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties (3 vols.) Available in print: JF 2011 W67 2006 (Lib use only)
- The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Politics. Available in print: JF 51 O94 2007 (Belzberg Library)
- Handbook of Party Politics. Available in print: JF 2051 H336 2006
- Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice (3 vols.) Available in print: HM 671 E53 2007 (Lib use only)
- Encyclopedia of American Social Movements (4 vols.) Available in print: HN 57 E594 2004 (Lib use only)
Or check out our Online Reference Sources page for links to general encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, etc.
Books and Reports
Search the Library Catalogue to find print and electronic books, journals and reports on your topic.
Begin with a keyword search to find all the books and reports remotely related to your topic and then look at the record of a relevant book to find the best subject headings. Keyword searches ensure that you do not miss finding any relevant material but you will often also retrieve items that are off topic. Subject searches will find the most relevant books on your topic but it may be difficult to find the right subject heading(s) for your topic.
Journal Article Indexes
See Databases in Political Science for a complete list of subject-related journal article databases online. Some recommended databases for course-related research topics include:
Politica Science Complete
Covers political theory, comparative politics, law and legislation and non-governmental organizations.
International Political Science Abstracts
Topics include method and theory; political thinkers and ideas; political and administrative institutions; political processes (public opinion, attitudes, parties, forces, groups, and elections); international relations; and national and area studies.
Searchable, archival collection of core scholarly arts, humanities and social sciences journals.
Covers public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science and other social sciences.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Canadian Public Policy Collection
Includes monograph publications from a variety of Canadian public policy institutes, research institutes, think tanks, advocacy groups, government agencies and university research centers.
CBCA Fulltext Reference
Covers Canadian topics including business, politics, literature, history and news events.
Ipsos News Centre
Polls, public opinion and research information on international topics including politics, technology, health, finance, consumer products and consumer trends.
Other general databases that they also be of interest include:
Academic Search Complete
A large, multidisciplinary database that can be a good starting point for most research topics. It has articles from both popular and scholarly journals. Can you distinguish between the two? See What is a Scholarly Journal? for help.
America: History & Life
Contains literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs.
Allows you to search for scholarly publications in a wide variety of subject areas via Google. *Tip: Make sure to connect through the library website's Journal articles & databases page (instead of through the web) for access to additional content available to SFU users.
Keesings Record of World Events
A monthly digest of concise, detailed reports of worldwide political and economic affairs taken from the world's press from 1931 onwards.
Current issues of newspapers from around the world for the past 30 days.
Fulltext of major Canadian newspapers and Canwest's small-market BC papers from 1985 onwards.
International news coverage, business news, legal cases and law reports. Dates back to the early 1970s.
The most complete guide to alternative & radical media dating back to 1969. Includes editorials, regular columns, speeches and interviews.
Search the websites of known or reliable sources, such as government websites and the websites of political parties, social movements, research institutes and think tanks. Alternatively, search the personal websites or blogs of academics. Try to avoid commercial websites. Look for the words gov, org, edu in the URLs of the websites you visit. From reliable websites, follow the links to explore your topic further and find new resources.
Here are some sample websites:
- Parliament of Canada: Political Parties
- Governments on the WWW: Political Parties
- Global Greens: The Network of the World's Green Parties and Political Movements
- World Social Forum
- NIRA's World Directory of Think Tanks
- Harvard Kennedy School Think Tanks Directory
Evaluate websites the same way you would evaluate books or journals articles. Consider the currency, authority, accuracy, objectivity, quality, cohesiveness and reasonableness of the website you are examining.
Writing and Citing
Use the SFU Department of Political Science Guidelines for Writing Essays and Research Papers and the SFU Student Learning Commons' Writing for University to guide you as you write your research paper.
You may also want to peruse the following books:
- The Political Science Student Writer's Manual. Available in print: JA 86 S39 1998
- Social Sciences Research: Research, Writing and Presentation Strategies for Students. Available in print: H 62 S736 2008
- Academic Writing: An Introduction. Available in print: PE 1408 G53 2009
You need to correctly cite all of the books, journal articles and websites that you used in your research. Start with the SFU Library's Writing & Style Guide. A couple of other guides that you may want to look at are the Citing Sources (Duke University Libraries) and Diana Hacker's Research and Documentation page.
Citing your sources and creating the reference list is time consuming. Take notes throughout your research and make sure to mark the page number(s) of passages you plan to paraphrase or directly quote in your research paper.
Consider using a citation management tool called RefWorks to organize your references and automatically generate a bibliography from your references. See the SFU RefWorks Quick Guide to help you get started.
Learning how to properly credit others when you use their ideas is a difficult, but important, part of research. Start with the SFU Library's interactive tutorial Understanding and Avoiding Plagiarism to test yourself and to learn more about plagiarism. Also read the SFU Library's Plagiarism Guide for further discussion of this critical topic and for links to other plagiarism guides.