Physics Information Resources: Background Information
Dictionaries and terminology
- Dictionary of astronomy, 2d.ed.
- Dictionary of geophysics, astrophysics and astronomy.
- Dictionary of material science and high energy physics
- Also in print QC 772 D57 2001
- Dictionary of physics, 5th ed
- Dictionary of pure and applied physics
- Also in print QC 5 D56 2001
- Encyclopedic dictionary of condensed matter physics. QC 176 A3 E5913 2004 (2 vols)
Encyclopedias
- Dekker Encyclopedia of nanoscience and nanotechnology
- Also in print T 174.7 D455 2004 (5 vols)
- Encyclopedia of acoustics.QC 221.5 E53 1997 (4 vols)
- Encyclopedia of analytical science, 2d.ed. QD 71.5 E53 2005 (10 vols)
- Encyclopedia of applied physics. QC 5 E543 2004 (23 vols)
- Encyclopedia of catalysis. QD 505 E53 2003 (6 vols)
- Encyclopedia of chemical physics and physical chemistry. QD 451 E539 2001 (3 vols)
- Encyclopedia of condensed matter physics. QC 176 A3 E58 2005 (6 vols)
- Encyclopedia of energy
- Also in print TJ 163.2 E394 2004 (6 vols)
- Encyclopedia of magnetic resonance: EMR
- Also in print as Encyclopedia of nuclear magnetic resonance. QC 762 E53 1996 (8 vols.)
- Encyclopedia of mathematical physics. QC 20 E63 2006 (5 vols)
- Encyclopedia of modern optics.QC 351.2 E53 2005 (5 vols)
- Encyclopedia of nanoscience and nanotechnology. T 174.7 E53 2004 (10 vols)
- Encyclopedia of physical science and technology, 3d.ed. Q 123 E497 2002 (17 vols)
- Encyclopedia of polymer science and technology, 3d.ed. TP 1110 E53 2003 (12 vols)
- Optics encyclopedia : basic foundations and practical applications. QC 351.2 O64 2004 (5 vols)
- Particle Data Group - The Review of Particle Physics
- A biennial comprehensive review summarizing much of the known data about the field of particle physics produced by the international Particle Data Group (PDG).
Biographical information
- American National Biography
- Biographical Memoirs (from the National Academy of Sciences)
- Complete dictionary of scientific biography
- Online access to the Dictionary of scientific biography [1970-1980] and the New dictionary of scientific biography (2008).
- Einstein Archives Online
- International encyclopedia of women scientists. Q 141 O27 2002
- International women in science : a biographical dictionary to 1950. Q 141 H2167 2001
- Prominent scientists : an index to collective biographies. Q 141 P398 [1980]
- Women in chemistry and physics : a biobibliographic sourcebook. QD 21 W62 1993
- World who's who in science: a biographical dictionary of notable scientists from antiquity to the present. Q 141 W7 [1968]
