History Information Resources: Facts & Data
A handbook is a single-volume reference book of compact size that provides concise factual information on a specific subject, organized systematically for quick and easy access. The following list are just a few of handbooks useful for historical research:
- The Routledge companion to European history since 1763 [online]
- The peoples of Canada : a pre-confederation history [print]
- The peoples of Canada : a post-confederation history [print]
- Canada 's first nations : a history of founding peoples from earliest times, 4th ed. [print]
- The Longman handbook of modern British history, 1714-2001, 4th ed. [print]
- Routledge handbook of Southeast Asian history [print]
- Chinese history : a new manual [print]
- Handbook of Latin American Studies [print]
- Historical Statistics of Canada
- Historical Statistics of the United States Millenial Edition Online
- International historical statistics : Europe, 1750-2000, 5th ed. [online] | [print]
- International historical statistics : Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000, 4th ed. [print]
- International historical statistics : the Americas, 1750-2000, 5th ed. [print]
- Statistics Canada - Guide to finding statistical information produced by Statistics Canada.
- British Columbia Statistics - Guide to finding statistical information produced by BCStats.
- Statistics - Canadian Census - Guide to finding online and print census data.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States - Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
A historical atlas is a book of maps showing the changes that have occurred over a given period of time in a geographic area, or in the development of a spatial phenomenon or event. Historical atlases typically contain more text than a standard atlas and may also include a chronology or timeline and biographical notes on persons whose names appear in the text.
Listed below are some examples of historical atlases available at the SFU Library. You can also search for subject specific atlases by adding the word atlas OR "historical atlas" to a keyword search in the Library Catalogue.
For example: atlas AND "cold war", "historical atlas" AND "French Revolution".
- Atlas of world history [online]
- The new atlas of world history : global events at a glance [print]
- The Times atlas of world history, 4th ed. [print]
- Concise historical atlas of Canada [print]
- Historical atlas of the United States : with original maps. [print]
- Historical atlas of Central America. [print]
- An historical atlas of Central Asia [online]
- Oxford Art Online - The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Includes links to art images from galleries and museums around the world. Many images are held in private collections and are not readily available in public websites.
- ARTstor - The Collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
- Art Images - SFU Library's Art Images is a growing collection of online images documenting a broad range of art in support of teaching, learning, and research at SFU. Currently the collection is composed of over 2000 images with an emphasis on the history of Western Art.