Health Sciences Information Resources: Facts & Data
Handbooks
- Mayo Clinic internal medicine : concise textbook. RC 55 M34 2008 - a diagnosis and treatment guide focused on major internal medicine diseases and disorders.
- Medical biomethods handbook. QH 506 M425 2005 - a handbook covering molecular biology and molecular diagnosis.
- Merck manual of diagnosis and therapy, 18th ed. RC 55 M4 2006 - popular reference source aimed at health care professionals and students, which provides essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders.
- Oxford American handbook of clinical medicine, rev. ed. RC 55 O94 2007 - a succinct but comprehensive handbook that provides guidance on the practice of clinical medicine, including examination, investigations, common procedures and in-patient care.
- Physicians' desk reference. RS 75 P5 - authoritative source of US Food & Drug Administration (FDA) regulated information on prescription drugs, including usage information and warnings, and drug interactions. Drugs are organized by brand and generic name, manufacturer and product category.
Statistics
Canada:
- Statistics Canada - Canadian statistics
- Statistics Canada's Guide to Health Statistics
- BC Stats - British Columbia statistics
- Database of Online Health Statistics - compiled by the Institute of Health Economics in Alberta
United States:
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - key source for health-related statistics for the United States.
- Statehealthfacts.org - a product of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation that identifies health-related statistics by US state.
- Healthdata.gov - Health datasets from the HHS
International:
- undata - a compilation of United Nations and agency statistics; includes World Health Organization statistics.
Images
- AnatQuest - human anatomy images, including cryosections (cross-sections or slices).
- Public Health Image Library - collection of Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) images, image sets and multimedia files. If you click on the link and receive a message that the session has "timed out," click on "Home" to begin your search.
- The Virtual Body - includes images of the human brain, skeleton, heart and digestive tract.
- The Visible Human Project - collection of images, including cryosections, Computed Tomography (CT) scans, and Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) scans. To view a larger collection of images, view the projects and web applications of The Visible Human Project datasets.
For more information on locating images for health sciences, please view UBC Library's Medical Image Resources Guide.
