GERO 820 Principles and Practices of Health Promotion
This web page is intended to help you find information for the GERO 820 assignments. For further assistance ask at the Belzberg Library Reference Desk or contact Nina Smart, Liaison Librarian for Gerontology (778.782.5051 / firstname.lastname@example.org) Monday to Thursday;
Instructor: Dr. Irving Rootman
- Course description
- Finding books and journal articles for the paper assignment
- Other useful web pages and books
- Style guides formatting footnotes and bibliographies
"This course is designed to cover and critically examine concepts, models, theories, and practices of health promotion specific to aging populations. It will cover the origins and development of health promotion, population health and health education theories and frameworks, current approaches to health promotion, and applications targeting specific groups of older adults. Students will gain an understanding of the major issues surrounding health promotion and health education at the level of the individual, social network, institution, community, and public policy." [Note: for further information see the Fall 2015 course outline]
Health promotion in Canada : critical perspectives on practice RA 427.8 H45 2012
Health behavior and health education : theory, research, and practice RA 776.9 H434 2008
Use the SFU catalogue to find books.
Useful online indexes
To find journal articles and government reports, use the following indexes:
- Ageline the major social gerontology index.
- Canadian Research Index Canadian government publications (Sample terms: Health promotion; Public health)
- Canadian Public Policy Collection "This fulltext collection brings together monograph publications from a variety of Canadian public policy institutes, research institutes, think tanks, advocacy groups, government agencies and university research centers."
- PAIS international public policy
- See also the How to Find Journal Articles guide and how to find peer-reviewed journals
- Action statement for Health Promotion in Canada Canadian Public Health Association
- Achieving Health for All: A Framework for Health Promotion Health Canada
- A new perspective on the health of Canadians Health Canada
- Ottawa Charter for Health Promotion World Health Organization (WHO)
- Bangkok Charter for Health Promotion in a Globalized World WHO
Health Promotion for Older Adults
- Arthritis Society
- Healthy Aging Through Healthy Living BC Ministry of Health
- Canadian Study of Health and Aging: Study methods and prevalence of dementia Canadian Medical Association Journal, 150 (6): 899-913.
- Dependency, chronic conditions and pain in seniors Health Reports Supplement
- Dare to age well Division of Aging and Seniors Health Canada
- Social Capital in Action Thematic Policy Studies see section: The Role of Social Capital in Aging Well
- General Social Survey: Time Use Statistics Canada
- How healthy are Canadians? Statistics Canada : "Seniors' health care use", "Predictors of death in seniors", "Healthy living among seniors" and "Successful aging in health care institutions"
- Population Projections for Canada, Provinces and Territories (2005 to 2031) Statistics Canada
- Measured obesity: adult obesity in Canada: measured height and weight Nutrition: Findings from the Canadian Community Health Survey. Statistics Canada.
- Preventing Chronic Diseases: A Vital Investment WHO
Paradigm Shifts in the Health Arena
- BC Healthy Communities
- Black's Medical Dictionary R 125 B55 2005
- Healthy Cities, Healthy Children The Progress of Nations, UNICEF
- Health Promotion Glossary WHO
- The Quality of Life Model University of Toronto
- Twenty Steps for Developing a Healthy Cities Project WHO
Predictors of Healthy Aging
Other useful Web sites and books
- Gale encyclopedia of senior health Also in print RC 952.5 G3485 2009
- Health Promotion Health Canada
- Seniors Health Canada
- Ageing Social Policy and Development United Nations
- Measuring health : a guide to rating scales and questionnaires Also in print RA 408.5 M38 2006
- Shape the Future of Health Care for the Romanov commission and more
Subject Resources for Health Care Policy & Research from UBC (some sources limited to the UBC community)
- Giving Effective Presentations tips from SFU's Student Learning Commons
- Book a Presentation Consultation through Research Commons: "to provide students with assistance in choosing the content of a presentation, organising the material, and feedback on the written content. This time can also be used as an informal practice for a presentation."
For citing research in your references and bibliographies, refer to the following:
- Citation Guide: APA SFU library guide
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association BF 76.7 P83 2010 [It's also available at the GRC library, call number RE 550 P82 2001.] Chapter 2 has content and organization of a manuscript as well as examples of papers.
- APA style help from APA
American Psychological Association (APA) Format from Purdue University