First Nations Research - Women's Studies
This guide lists just a few selected print and electronic information sources available to SFU faculty, students, and staff. To find additional materials, check the SFU Library catalogue, look at the subject guides for your discipline, or return to First Nations Research Resources. If you do not find what you need, ask for help at the Reference Desk, send an email to AskALibrarian, or contact Moninder Bubber (bubber@sfu.ca).
How to find:
Resources in the SFU Library
Use these subject headings to locate additional materials in the SFU Library CatalogueThese subject headings can be further broken down geographically or by nation, e.g. "Indian women -- Canada -- Social conditions" or "Ojibwa women"
- Indian women
- Indian women -- Canada
- Indian women -- Crimes against
- Indian women -- Legal status, laws, etc.
- Indian women -- Social conditions
- Indian women -- North America
- Indian women in literature
- Indigenous women -- Canada
- Inuit women
- Métis women
- Native women -- Canada
- Native women -- Civil Rights -- Canada
Journal articles
Use these indexes and bibliographies to locate journal articles on your topic. For a more complete list of databases, check the First Nations guide under "journal articles."- Academic Search Elite - multi-disciplinary
- Canadian Newsstand - fulltext of major Canadian daily newspapers
- Contemporary Women's Issues - select "Native American" from the Subject Area drop-down menu, and select an area / country from the "Geographic" menu, and press "search" button.
- CBCA Complete- Canadian newspapers, popular and scholarly journals
- Dominion Law Reports Plus - fulltext 1912 to present. Abstracts of Canadian Law cases
Look at their "classification scheme" - has a section on "Aboriginal Peoples". It refers to other related sections: see also CONSTITUTIONAL LAW -- Aboriginal rights; Charter of Rights -- Aboriginal rights; Distribution of legislative authority -- Indians; CRIMINAL LAW -- Game and fisheries; Indians; FAMILY LAW -- Adoption -- Aboriginal children; Child welfare -- Aboriginal children
You can also do keyword searching: aboriginal and women to bring up a list of cases. - Humanities and Social Sciences Index
- Law Source - indexes Canadian legal journal and provides access to Canadian legal cases and decisions.
- The Role of Aboriginal Women in Canada Bibliography (prepared by Faye Blaney, UBC)
- Women's Human Rights Resources Database (WHRR) - section on Indigenous women
Put together at the Bora Laskin Law Library, University of Toronto. Provides annotated links to relevant web resources, and access to full text of articles and documents concerned with both women's rights and indigenous rights. - Women's Studies International - indexes WS journals, and articles from other disciplines with a focus on women's issues.
Background information
- Canadian Encyclopedia - Articles under "Native People" in the subject index. See also "Native Tribes" for names of tribes and the variations in spelling, language groups, map, culture change, historical background, links to other sites, and suggested readings. Examples of articles:
- Native People - 6 general articles (e.g. Northwest Coast)
- Subjects, such as: Land Claims, Native Women's Issues
- Native American Women : A Biographical Dictionary (Bennett Reference E 98 W8 B38 1993)
Biographical
- A to Z of Native American women. Bennett Reference E 98 W8 S65 1998
- Native American Women : A Biographical Dictionary 2nd. ed. 2001. (Bennett Reference E 98 W8 B38 2001) (online restricted to SFU)
- North American Indian Biographical Database -(online restricted to SFU) - Alexander Street Press includes more than 100,000 pages of personal stories, dating from 17th century to present day, and including all regions of North America, with nearly 500 nations represented in all. It includes biographies of significant leaders, depictions of historically important events, and biographies of "Indians pursuing their everyday lives and reflecting on what was happening to them." Also includes speeches by chiefs, accounts of religious and spiritual life, and biographies from contemporary Indian newspapers, among other sources.
Associations and organizations
Directories of web sites
- Aboriginal Canada Portal *****
A portal to government resources, contacts, information, programs and services. You can search by keyword, or look at their site map (contains all topics). For example:- Policy, Research and Statistics
- Look up individual communities from a "pull down" menu.
- Women
- Aboriginal women : a profile from the 1996 Census
- Finding Out About Native Canadian Women Writers Published in English (National Library of Canada)
A list of bibliographies, interviews, anthologies, and periodicals concerned with Native Canadian women writers. Includes a list of prominent writers and their preferred genres. Some links to electronic resources.
- First Nations Women Links (Xwi7xwa Library at UBC)
-
Links, with brief annotations, to resources on the Internet. Topics include: Bill C-31, Law, Family, Health, Policy Making, Associations, Articles, and Biography. Also includes a link to the "Role of Aboriginal Women in Canada" bibliography. - Indian and Northern Affairs Canada - Statistical Publications
Provides access to full text of statistical reports concerned with Canadian First Nations, from 1971 to the present, including Census data, Indian and Northern Affairs Basic Departmental Data, socioeconomic indicators, time series, and projections. Some selected titles are below... -
- Aboriginal Labour Force Characteristics from the 1996 Census (PDF 723 Kb) in PDF format.
- Aboriginal Single Mothers in Canada, 1996 - A Statistical Profile (PDF 638 Kb) in PDF format
- Aboriginal Women: A Profile from the 1996 Census, Second Edition, Revised December 2001 (PDF 179 Kb) in PDF format.
- Registered Indian Population by Sex and Residence (from 1998, annual, in pdf)
- Status of Women Canada - enter "aboriginal" in the search box. You will find reports such as:
- A Holistic Framework for Aboriginal Policy Research
- Aboriginal Women: An Issues Backgrounder - highlights some of the main issues currently faced by Aboriginal women
- Aboriginal Women in Canada: Strategic Research Directions for Policy Development
- Aboriginal Women and Jobs: Challenges and Issues for Employability Programs in Quebec
- Aboriginal Women's Roundtable on Gender Equality
- From the Fur Trade to Free Trade: Forestry and First Nations Women in Canada
- Human Security and Aboriginal Women in Canada
- If Gender Mattered: A Case Study of Inuit Women, Land Claims and the Voisey's Bay Nickel Project
- Indian Registration: Unrecognized and Unstated Paternity - about Bill C-31 - Membership and Status - Unrecognized and Unstated Paternity
- North American Indian, Métis and Inuit Women Speak about Culture, Education and Work
- Turtle Island Native Network Spotlight on First Nation, Aboriginal and Métis Women
Links to news and information about native women, as well as aboriginal women's organizations, businesses, resources, newsletters, interest groups, biographies, and more.
- Women's Human Rights Resources - Indigenous Women's Issues
Put together at the Bora Laskin Law Library, University of Toronto. Provides annotated links to relevant web resources, and access to full text of articles and documents concerned with both women's rights and indigenous rights.
Special Reports
- Anisinapewihkwew : iskwawach anima masinayikan ka ki masinayikatek Anikik okik ka ki nuchitachik omeniw ka kitimayit ihkwewak = Nato anisininiihkwewak : o-oma onchi kaki kisasiniikatik Kakana wapantamowach kekunin kaonchi kakwatakiinta ihkwewak = Aboriginal women : from the Final report of the Canadian Panel on Violence Against Women = Femmes autochtones : extrait du Rapport final du Comité canadien sur la violence faite aux femmes. Bennett HV 6626.23 C3 A65 1993
- Human security and aboriginal women in Canada [electronic resource] / by Connie Deiter and Darlene Rude
- Report of the Aboriginal Justice Inquiry of Manitoba [electronic resource] / A.C. Hamilton, commissioner, C.M. Sinclair, commissioner
- Stolen sisters [electronic resource] : discrimination and violence against Indigenous women in Canada. By Amnesty International
