FNST 301 Issues in Applied First Nations Studies Research
If you need help, please contact Moninder Bubber, Liaison Librarian at 778.782.4264 or bubber@sfu.ca or Ask a librarian.
Professor: Rudy Reimer/Yumks
Course Outline: FNST 301 Issues in Applied First Nations Studies Research (Jan - Apr 2012)
Other SFU guides of interest:
- Anthropology, Education, Health Sciences, History, Legal Information, Sociology, Resource and Environmental Management,
Contents
- Style Guide: American Antiquity - Information for Authors & Style Guide. Society for American Archaeology (SAA).
- Scroll down to page 14 to see citation formats
- Background Information (Encyclopedias, Biographical, Chronologies, Guides to First Nations Research),
- First Nations Terminology
-
Sage eReference Sage eReference -encyclopedias and handbooks.
- Books
- Journal articles -- Database grouped by: First Nations/General, Canadian, Primary Documents, Electronic Journals
- Government information
- Sessional Paper
- Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
(formerly, Indian and Northen Affairs Canada) - including their Annual Reports - Aboriginal Canada Portal
- Libraries Archives Canada (LAC)
- Canadian Museum of Civilization
- Office of the Auditor General
- Sessional Paper
- Primary sources
- Maps and Atlases
- E.g. A Stó:lo-Coast Salish Historical Atlas. Bennett G 1171 E1 S86 2001
- First Nations Peoples of British Columbia. B.C. Ministry of Education. Aboriginal Education [Map]
Other Non-SFU guides
- Aboriginal Archives Guide - by Association of Canadian Archivists
- IPortal - Indigenous Studies Research Tool - (University of Saskatchewan Library)
- Xwi7xwa Library's Subject Links (University of British Columbia) - by topics
Books
- How to find books guide
- Overall Strategy:
- Define topic.
- You may want to start with encyclopedia articles to obtain an overview of your topic, find out about important authors or sources, and then move on to find books.
- Use existing or known sources to get into the body of literature.
- Do brainstorming to identify possible keywords.
- Check the Library Catalogue to see if the Library owns it (book title or journal title), and if not,
- Fill out the Inter Library Loan (Document Delivery) form to borrow it from another Library, if not at SFU.
- Go from "keywords" searching to "subject" searching
- Truncation:
- allows you to retrieve material with various endings of a "root" word:
- most databases use asterisk (*). A few use other symbols such as "!", "?", "$"
- Email results. This helps to keep track of your bibliography.
- Send citations to RefWorks
Journal articles
- Guides: How to find journal articles guide,
- What is a scholarly, peer-reviewed journal?,
- Popular vs scholarly -- see highlights
- How to Critically Evaluate Sources
- Moving from Citation to Article
- Electronic Journals
Overall Strategy:
Use the same strategy as for books for defining your topic and identifying key authors and sources and capturing results. Go from the from Journal Articles and Databases link on Library's home page to:
- First Nations Studies -- list of databases using the pulldown menu
- Google Scholar -- if you do use Google, use Google Scholar instead, using the link at the bottom of the page or look for it under "G" in the alphabetical list of databases. Then it will link to the fulltext of electronic books and articles for all those things that the Library has already paid for.
First Nations and General Databases
- Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) - from 17th century to present. Includes citations to books, articles, and govenment report about Native North American culture, history, and life, archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
- Native Health Databases - bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
- Academic Search Premier - multi-disciplinary
- America: History and Life - focus is North American history, including Canada
- Anthropology Plus Unites Harvard's Anthropological Literature and the Royal Anthropological Institute's Anthropological Index Online
- AnthroSource Full-text journals published by the American Anthropological Association. To join concepts together use capitals for "AND" as well as "OR" for correct boolean searching within this database.
-
CINAHL with Full Text CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
-
Environment Complete - Indexes over 1,900 environmental journals, with fulltext access to about 750. Also available is fulltext access to over 200 monographs.
- JSTOR - archival..... does not cover the current 5-7 years of journals.
-
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts - linguistics, language and speech, language and hearing pathology.
- Medline - health literature
- Project MUSE Search,
- Sage Research Methods Online Access to research methods online from books and numerous reference sources. E.g. search for "oral history"
-
Theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and policy science.
- First Nations Periodical Index - no longer updated
Canadian Databases
Journal Articles
- CBCA Fulltext Reference- Canadian popular and scholarly journals, from mid 1980s on wards.
- Use UBC's Wxi7xwa Library's terminology listed in their guide
Guide to truncation symbols and First Nations terms used in the databases (pdf)
- Use UBC's Wxi7xwa Library's terminology listed in their guide
-
Canadian Public Policy Collection Full text of public policy documents from Canadian institutes, think-tanks and research groups. Includes the Canadian Health Research Collection
Newspapers
- Canadian Newsstand - fulltext of major Canadian daily newspapers from about mid-80s.
- British Columbia Newspaper Index
Indexes the Province, the Vancouver Sun, and The Victoria Times Colonist (1990- ).
- Newspaper index [microform]
Created by the B.C. Provincial Library, indexes the Vancouver Province, Vancouver Sun, Victoria Daily Colonist (1900-1990) (PN 02 12 Microforms Classified ).<---- 6th floor in microfilm area, by call no.
- AMMSA Archives - from Aboriginal Multi Media Society of Alberta -- fulltext of First Nations newspapers some going back to 1983. Click on the URL.
From the Home page, click on to the individual newspaper, or use the search box, and limit it to News, from the pull down menu.- Titles covered include: Alberta Sweetgrass (from 1993), Buffalo Spirit (from 2004), Ontario Birchbark (from 2002), Raven's Eye (from 1997), Saskatchewan Sage (from 1996), Windspeaker (from 1983)
- Titles covered include: Alberta Sweetgrass (from 1993), Buffalo Spirit (from 2004), Ontario Birchbark (from 2002), Raven's Eye (from 1997), Saskatchewan Sage (from 1996), Windspeaker (from 1983)
- Globe & Mail Canada's Heritage from 1844
Searchable full-text of the Globe and Mail from 1844 to 2001. Includes major events in Canadian history, plus thousands of images, advertisements, and political cartoons dating back to the pre-confederation era.
Covers major news in Canada and around the world during this period, including every image, advertisement, classified ad, birth and death notice. E.g.- Indian* or native
- Tip: choose "boolean search" in the bottom pull down menu if you use "or" or "and" to combine terms.
Theses
-
Central access point for Canadian theses (Masters and PhD), including free full text of theses since 1998.
Government Reports
- Canadian Research Index - Canadian Government reports. SFU Library has the microfiche collection associated with the "Microlog number", besides each record. (6th floor). Once you identify a report here, you may also wish to go to the government department's website and see if the report is available online. E.g.
- The Magic leaves : a history of Haida argillite carving
by Peter L. Macnair and Alan L. Hoover. (British Columbia Provincial Museum special publication ; no. 7 ISSN 0707-1728) Victoria: Ministry of Provincial Secretary and Government Services, 1984. 211 p.
Microlog 85-01368
map 6th floor microfilms:
- The Magic leaves : a history of Haida argillite carving
- For earlier period, try print equivalent: Microlog Index (JL 75 Z955; 1979-1995; Bennett Reference Indexes)
- Early Canadiana Online - (see Primary Documents section for more details) -- Full text, online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century.
Primary Documents
- Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF) - Covers the cultures of the world. Full-text data on world archaeological traditions. There is a microfiche collection which has been partially converted and updated into the electronic. Check both to see if your group is covered. The database uses a classification scheme to organize topics, which works better than keywords in the databases.
- List of Cultures to see if your group is covered in their database or the microfiche collection (6th floor) - eHRAF User Guide for assistance.
- List of Cultures to see if your group is covered in their database or the microfiche collection (6th floor) - eHRAF User Guide for assistance.
- Early Canadiana Online
Full text, online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century, including "Journals of the Legislative assembly of the Province of Canada", "Sessional papers" of the Dominion of Canada. SFU Library has the "CIHM Microfiche" collection that supplements the database.- Be sure to also search the Library Catalogue, since not everything that was microfilmed has yet been made available fulltext within the ECO database.
- In the Library Catalogue, search: "cihm" AND "your topic".
- cihm and haida
- cihm and stalo
- cihm and (boarding or residential) and school
- In ECO database, search for "haida" and "your topic"
- Search in "Fulltext"
- When you come across a relevant item, check its "subject headings" and do a search on that.
- Try searching "Haida" in "subject heading" (use the pulldown menu)
- Haida Indians
- Haida language, etc.
- Search in "Subject" -
- To email or save items from the ECO database:
- Click on a title from the results list
- Download the "pdf" document
- Save as (pdf) on your desktop
- Send as "attachment" via your email.
- Browse by Collection
- collections such as "Native Studies", "Jesuit Relations", "Fur Trade and the Hudson's Bay Company"
- Early Encounters in North America (1534 - 1850)
-includes works by American Indians, Canadian First Peoples, and many European groups, capturing first impressions, hundreds of years of observations of flora and fauna, descriptions of encounters with indigenous peoples, and new language elements as they evolved. Also resents the perspectives of traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, officials, and others.
Tips:
From the home page, click on to the "Peoples" link. Check the list under "North American" to see if your group is represented. E.g. Clayquot (1 doc), Bella Coola (1 doc), etc.
Even if the above section does not contain your group, do a "keyword" search, and there may be documents. E.g. "Haida"
Look for "Cultural events" or "Environment" or "Encounters", etc. from the Table of Contents.
- North American Indian Thought and Culture / also known as North American Indian Biographical Database - full text and audio file. Organized in a similar manner to "Early Encounters in North America" database. It contains biographies, oral histories, personal stories, speeches by chiefs, depictions of historically important events, biographies from contemporary Indian newspapers.
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (Britain)
- papers issued by the British House of Commons between 1801-1900 in all formats, including Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers, and Command Papers. These are the working documents of British government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy.
- Topics include Canadian confederation, the abolition of slavery, electoral reform, affairs of the British in North America, and more.
- Browse 19th Century Subject Catalogue,
- Select "Dominions and Colonies" and then "Canada, Newfoundland, and Bermuda" and then:
- "Churches", "Constitution & Government", "Emigration to Canada", "Indian Affairs
- Select "Colonial Administration" and then "Aboriginal Tribes"
- Select "Dominions and Colonies" and then "Canada, Newfoundland, and Bermuda" and then:
- Search by keywords: (canad* or british north america) and (aborig* or indian* or native*)
- (Hudson's Bay company) and (aborig* or indian* or native*)
E-journals
- First Nations Studies - Check this link for access to fulltext of e-journals.
Selected titles listed below...
Government information
Canada
Sessional Papers / Debates / Journals
NOTE: The "Sessional papers", the "Debates" and the "Journals" of the House of Commons of Canada (Dominion of Canada/ Legislature of Canada) are all part of the Early Canadiana Online database.
- Canada. Legislature. Legislative Council. Journals of the Legislative Council of the Province of Canada 1841-1866
- Canada. Legislature. Legislative Assembly. Sessional Papers 1860-1866.
- Canada. Parliament. Sessional Papers of the Dominion of Canada 1868-1925
- "Ceased publication in 1925." "In 1925, the House of Commons ceased to order annual departmental reports to be printed as Sessional papers." Cf. Note, Annual departmental reports, 1924-25, vol. 1, p. [3]" (quoted from Library record, mb)
- Continues: Canada. Legislature. Legislative Assembly. Sessional Papers 9_01607
- Continued by: Canada. Parliament. Annual departmental reports Ottawa : King's Printer, [1925-1955]
- Canada. Parliament. House of Commons. Journals of the House of Commons of the Dominion of Canada 1868-1976
- Canada. Parliament. House of Commons. Journals of the House of Commons. Current Sessions of the House of Commons, 1994 on
- Canada. Parliament. House of Commons. Official report of the debates of the House of Commons of the Dominion of Canada 1883-[1950]
- Canada. Parliament. House of Commons. Debates of the House of Commons of the Dominion of Canada 1875-1882
- Canada. Parliament. House of Commons. Appendix to ... of the Journals of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada 1842-1859)
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
(formerly -- Indian and Northern Affairs Canada)
www.aandc-aadnc.gc.ca
For land claim agreements, community profiles, maps, legislation, and treaty information.
- Advanced Search Engine
- About AANDC -- see "research & statistics" and "publications"
- Annual Reports
Note: Recent annual reports are now "Performance Reports", prior to that they were called "Estimates Reports". In 1991 the departmental annual report was integrated into the Estimates Part III (which now includes the Report on Plans and Priorities and the Performance Report) and the Public Accounts. These are available from Tresury Board & Library Archives Canada sites, linked below.- Performance Reports 1996 - 2010
- Indian Affairs Annual Reports 1864-1990
- Print copies of the annual reports at SFU Library
- HC 117 N48 C331 (1970/71 to 1977/78), HC 117 N48 C3311 (1978/79 to 1980/81), HC 117 N48 C332 (1981/82),
HC 117 N48 C3321 (1982/83 to 1990/91), HC 117 N48 C3314 (2002/03, 2003/2004, 2007/2008
- HC 117 N48 C331 (1970/71 to 1977/78), HC 117 N48 C3311 (1978/79 to 1980/81), HC 117 N48 C332 (1981/82),
- Microfiche copies of annual reports at SFU Library E 044 19 - Annual report of the Department of Indian Affairs [Microform]. microfiche (6th floor of the SFU Library) 1880-1935/36
- Performance Reports 1996 - 2010
- Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples - Report of the (RCAP), Print-- E 78 C2 R46 1996
Highlights from the RCAP - Major themes and conclusions are summarized
- Oral Narratives and Aboriginal Pasts
Aboriginal Canada Portal
A portal to government resources, contacts, information, programs and services. Includes national aboriginal organizations, business, economic development, claims and treaties, health and social services, justice and policing, research, statistics & maps, and policy.
Libraries Archives Canada (LAC)
Select the "popular resources" from left hand column, and then the "Aboriginal Resources". Use the search engine on top right to search andy of the following: library, archives or the entire website..
- Aboriginal Resources and Services
- Aboriginal Peoples - Guide to the Records of the Government of Canada -- Guides, research assistance, and finding aids for documents in the National Archives, including Record Group 10 (Indian Affairs documents), Metis scrip records, major provincial accessions, band and agency records, and selected federal government records. E.g.
- Overview of Aboriginal History
- Record Group (RG) 10 (Indian Affairs) Inventory
- Red and Black Series: Evolution of Department of Indian Affairs' Central Registry Record Keeping Systems: 1872-1984 by Sean Darcy - (Aboriginal Documentary Heritage)
- Treaties, Surrenders and Agreements by John Leslie
- Bands and Agencies
- Resources
- Aboriginal Soldiers and the First World War by James Dempsey
- Native Residential Schools in Canada: A Selective Bibliography
- Archives Canada
Archives Canada is an official archival portal maintained The Canadian Council of Archives (CCA) and is a joint initiative of CCA, the Provincial – Territorial Archival Networks, and Library and Archives Canada. Use the View option halfway down the main screen to look at digital collection images. - Library Archives Canada's Link to Archival Organizations
- Canadian Archival Resources on the Internet
- Provincial and Territorial Archives
- BC Archives - B.C. Archival sources (85)
- Association of Canadian Archivists, check out their Outreach documents to learn more about archives. E.g.
- How Archives Organize Their Holdings, How to Use an Archives
- Aboriginal Archives Guide
- Archivaria -- a very useful professional journal for their members.... do a search for your group, as well as more general searches such as "First Nations" (results linked).
- How Archives Organize Their Holdings, How to Use an Archives
Canadian Museum of Civilization
Canadian Museum of Civilization. They have reorganized their website.
- Search engine - Library Catalogue
- Check their Resources for Scholars, with its Bibiliographies, Essays, Monographs, and Resources
- Online Exhibits
- First Peoples of Canada - online exhibits.
- Index
- From the link, "Gateway to Aboriginal Heritage", look at the tab "objects", "photos & papers", "themes"
- Grand Hall
Office of the Auditor General (OAG)
For performance of federal departments of the Government of Canada, check out the reports of the Office of the Auditor General of Canada.
- Search by keywords in the search engine (e.g. first nations, aboriginal, indian, native)
- Examine their section on Reports & Publications (Audit reports, Reports to Parliament, Reports to Northern Legislative Assemblies)
- Reports to Parliament -- index to all topics
- Reports by federal institutions - Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (1981 -2009)
- Statements to House of Commons Committees - about Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development
- Statements to Senate Committees - Aboriginal Peoples
- Reports to Parliament -- index to all topics
