First Nations Terminology
If you need help, please contact Moninder Bubber, Liaison Librarian at 778.782.4264 or bubber@sfu.ca or Ask a librarian.
Contents
Terminology for First Nations
Terminology by Department of Indian and Northern Affairs
-- from their document: Words First: An Evolving Terminology Relating to Aboriginal Peoples in Canada
Identifying Names of Groups
Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue
-- Aboriginal Australians and Aboriginal Tasmanians
-- Headings for Indian Tribes Recognized by the U.S. Government
Residential Schools
Terminology for First Nations
-
Terminology to consider for finding material for First Nations people for either "keyword" or "subject" searching. Remember to use the "truncation" symbol, the "asterisk" (*), to find various endings of a particular word:
- first nations or aborig* or indian* or metis or native* or indigen* or inuit* or innu or tribe* or tribal or indian band*
- To limit it to "canada", add the geographic terms: canad* or bc or british columb*, etc.
Identifying Names of Groups
- Dictionary of the Chinook jargon as spoken on Puget Sound and the Northwest [microform] : with original Indian names for prominent places and localities with their meanings, historical sketch, etc. / CIHM no. 14807
- A guide to the Indian tribes of the Pacific Northwest. / E 78 N77 R79
- Tribal names of the Americas : spelling variants and alternative forms, cross-reference. / E 54.5 C55 2009
- Terms for names of nations or groups. Be sure to try alternative spellings of names:
-
Search the Aboriginal Canada Portal site for names of Aboriginal Communities by province.
- B.C Communities
- Alberta Communities, etc.
-
- Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC)
- Natural Resources Canada -- Native Names for Native Places
- List of "Native Tribes" from Canadian Encyclopedia, e.g.
- Use the terms from their "material culture" (terms from Canadian Encylcopedia).
Subject headings in the Library Catalogue.
Remember to limit your results by doing a sort by " newest first ".
- Canada Royal Commission On Aboriginal Peoples
- Indian Art -- Canada
- Indian Children -- Canada
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- 36 Related Subjects (this has names of peoples), e.g.
- -- See Also the narrower term Bella Coola Indians
- -- See Also the narrower term Gitksan Indians
- -- See Also the narrower term Niska Indians , etc.
- -- See Also the narrower term Bella Coola Indians
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- Antiquities
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- Biography
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- Claims
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- Claims Research
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- Economic Conditions
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- Education
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- Folklore
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- Government Relations
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- History
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- Land Tenure
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- Languages
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- Missions
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- Residential Schools
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- Social Conditions
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- Social Life And Customs
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- Treaties
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- Vancouver Island
- Indians Of North America -- Canada --4 Related Subjects
- Indians Of North America -- Canada
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Antiquities
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Bibliography
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Biography
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Claims
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Economic Conditions
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Economic Conditions -- Statistics
- Indians Of North America -- Education -- Canada
- Indians Of North America -- Education -- Canada -- History
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Ethnic Identity
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- First Contact With Europeans
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Government Relations -- 2 Related Subjects
- -- See Also the narrower term Indians, Treatment of Canada
- -- See Also the narrower term Québec (Province) History Native Crisis, 1990
- -- See Also the narrower term Indians, Treatment of Canada
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Government Relations
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- History
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Intellectual Life
- Indians of North America -- Canada -- Interviews.
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Languages
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Literary Collections
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Material Culture
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Missions
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Politics And Government (covers self government etc.)
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Public Opinion
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Quotations
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Residential Schools
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Residential Schools -- Bibliography (e-book)
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Residential Schools -- Biography
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Social Conditions
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Social Life And Customs
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Statistics
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Treaties
- Indians Of North America -- Colonization -- British Columbia
- Indians Of North America -- Colonization -- Canada
- Indians Treatment Of -- British Columbia
- Indians Treatment Of -- Canada
- Indians Treatment Of -- Canada -- History
- Indigenous Children -- Abuse Of -- Canada
- Indigenous Children Care -- Canada
- Indigenous Children -- Education -- Canada
- Indigenous peoples -- Canada -- Government relations
- Indigenous Peoples -- Canada -- History
- Indigenous Peoples -- Cultural Assimilation -- Canada -- History
- Indigenous Peoples -- Civil Rights -- Canada
- Indigenous Peoples -- Material Culture -- Canada
- Indigenous Peoples -- Medical Care -- Canada
- Indigenous women -- Canada
- Indian Women -- Canada -- Social Conditions
- Indian Women -- Crimes Against -- Canada
- Inuit -- Canada -- Government Relations
- Métis -- Canada -- History
- Native Peoples -- Canada
- Native Peoples -- Canada -- Government Relations
- Native Peoples -- Legal Status Laws Etc -- Canada
- Native Peoples -- Northwest Territories -- Government Relations
- Restorative Justice -- Canada
- Traditional Ecological Knowledge -- Canada
- Traditional Medicine -- Canada
- etc
- Other subject headings to be aware of in the Library Catalogue:
- Name of a specific group of people
- Carrier Indians -- See Also the narrower term Wet'suwet'en Indians
- Carrier Indians -- British Columbia
- Carrier Indians -- Social Life And Customs
- Coast Salish Indians -- 17 Related Subjects
- Coast Salish Indians
- Coast Salish Indians -- British Columbia -- Claims
- Stalo Indians -- See Also the narrower term Chilliwack Indians
- Stalo Indians
- Haida Indians
- Nootka Indians -- British Columbia -- Vancouver Island
- Nootka Indians -- History
- Nootka Language
- Carrier Indians -- See Also the narrower term Wet'suwet'en Indians
- Name of a specific group of people
Residential Schools
- Boarding schools -- British Columbia.
- First Nations Residential Schools
- Indians Of North America -- British Columbia -- Residential Schools
- Indians of North America -- Canada -- Residential schools
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Residential Schools
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Residential Schools -- Bibliography (e-book)
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Residential Schools -- Bibliography
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Residential Schools -- Biography
- Indians Of North America -- Canada -- Residential Schools -- History
- Indigenous Peoples -- Canada -- Residential Schools
- Metis -- Residential Schools
- Metis -- Residential Schools Bibliography
- Off Reservation Boarding Schools -- Canada
- Off Reservation Boarding Schools -- History
- Off Reservation Boarding Schools -- Canada -- Maps
