First Nations Research - Education
For assistance, please contact Moninder Bubber or the librarians at Ask a Librarian. Resources in the SFU Library | Journal articles | Electronic journals and texts | Associations and organizations | Government Information | Directories of web sites |
Resources in the SFU Library
Keyword searches are often the best way to find materials related to First Nations or aboriginal people. Use as many synonyms or related terms as possible, e.g.aboriginal, native*, First Nations, Indian* and specific group names, e.g. Coast Salish, Namgis. A keyword search for Sto:lo will not work very well because of the colon, so put it into quotation marks to instruct the computer system to ignore the colon, or search under the other spelling: Stalo.
Use these subject headings to locate additional materials in the SFU Library Catalogue:
- Indian children -- Education
- Indian youth -- Education
- Indigenous children -- Education
- Indigenous peoples -- Education
- Indians of North America -- Canada -- Residential schools
- Indians of North America -- Education
- Indians of North America -- Education (Higher)
- Indians of North America -- Education (Higher) -- Government policy -- Canada
- Indians of North America -- Study and teaching
- Inuit -- Education
- Native peoples -- Canada -- Residential schools
- Off-reservation boarding schools
These subject headings can be further broken down geographically, e.g. "Indians of North America -- Education -- British Columbia"
Journal articles
Use these indexes to locate journal articles on your topic.
- CBCA Fulltext Education especially for Canadian material
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) especially for US material
Electronic journals and texts
Associations and organizations
Government Information Specific to Education
- Aboriginal Education web page from the BC Ministry of Education
- First Nations 12 IRP linked from the BC Ministry of Education
- Shared Learnings: Integrating BC Aboriginal Content K-10 E 96.65 B7 S53 1998
Directories of web sites
- BC Ministry of Education - Aboriginal Education
Policies, documents, and contact information. Includes Integrated Resource Package for First Nations 12, as well as guides for support workers and counsellors. - Aboriginal Peoples - Library Archives Canada
- Canada's Digital Collections - Subject Index - First Peoples
Some of collections include:
- Children's and Young Adult Books with Contemporary Native American Indian Themes
Annotated list of picture books, short stories, novels, and biographies for youth by or about First Nations people, put together by author Cynthia Leitich Smith. Entries include publication information, the nation of the writer or illustrator, a brief plot summary, and commentary on theme and characterization. A similar list of Children's Books with Historical Native Themes is also available. American focus.
- The Circle Game: Shadows and Substance in the Indian Residential School Experience in Canada
The circle game : shadows and substance in the Indian residential school experience in Canada / Roland Chrisjohn, and Sherri Young ; with contributions by Michael Maraun. Revised edition. Penticton, B.C. : Theytus Books, 2006. (Bennett E 96.5 C57 2006)
Table of Contents of a report to the Royal Commission on Aboriginal peoples, submitted in 1994. Addresses history, impacts, education, and ongoing issues connected with residential schools in Canada. Includes recommendations and conclusions.
Comments by Roland Chrisjohn on a website regarding the report - scroll to the middle of the page..under "Genocide and residential schools - accountability" [MB]
- First Nations and Métis Education (BC Teachers' Federation)
Outlines policies, initiatives, and funding resources for First Nations education. Links to professional development tools and teaching resources such as lesson plans, program suggestions, and online resources.
- First Nations Education Links (Xwi7xwa Library, UBC)
Links to curriculum resources, government reports, organizations and associations, policy documents, and First Nations courses and programs internationally and in Canada. Also includes links addressing children's literature with First Nations themes and characters, as well as residential schools.
- First Peoples on SchoolNet (Industry Canada)
Part of a Canadian government initiative to connect schools to the Internet, and a resource for educators. Provides links to First Nations-oriented curriculum and educational resources, First Nations schools and programs, and sites for First Nations youth, as well as relevant legal, health, and government information. - Kid Stop (Indian and Northern Affairs)
- Teachers' Section Includes classroom activities from age 7 to 14, e.g.
- Learning Circle: Classroom Activities on First Nations in Canada, Ages 12-14 (78 pages)
- Native Residential Schools in Canada: A Selective Bibliography
This bibliography accompanies the exhibition Where are the Children? Healing the Legacy of the Residential Schools produced by the National Archives of Canada, the Aboriginal Healing Foundation and the Aboriginal Healing Charitable Association in collaboration with the National Library of Canada, numerous church and other archives presented at the National Archives of Canada in Ottawa from June 18, 2002 to February 3, 2003. The type of materials listed in this bibliography include books, scholarly articles, school histories, personal accounts, theses, videos, and Internet resources.
- A Select Bibliography of Children's Books by and about Aboriginal Peoples for Ages 4-14
Put together by Karen Russell-Letourneau at INAC, this bibliography is divided into four main components: fiction, myths and legends for older children, non-fiction, and picture books. Each entry includes a color image of the book's cover, basic bibliographic information (author, illustrator, title, publication information), and a recommended age level. Additional resources include language material and a bibliography of works organized by nation.
