First Nations Research - Anthropology, Art and Culture
For assistance, please contact Moninder Bubber or the librarians at Ask a Librarian.
Resources in the SFU Library | Background information | Journal articles | Directories of web sites |
Resources in the SFU Library
Use these subject headings below to locate additional materials in the SFU Library Catalogue. They can be further broken down geographically, e.g "Indian art -- Canada" or "Indians of North America -- British Columbia -- Antiquities", or by tribe, e.g. "Haida artists"
- Excavations (Archaeology)
- Indian art
- Indian artists
- Indian masks
- Indian mythology
- Indian mythology -- British Columbia
- Indian mythology -- Northwest, Pacific
- Indians of North America -- Antiquities
- Indians of North America -- History
- Indians of North America -- Pictorial works
- Indians of North America -- Religion
- Indians of North America -- Rites and ceremonies
- Indians of North America -- Social life and customs
- Indians in art
Journal articles
Use these indexes to locate journal articles on your topic.
- Anthropology Plus ( online version of Anthropological Index)
- Art Full Text [formerly known as Art Index] - All aspects and periods of art.
- Ethnographic Bibliography of North America E 77 Z9551 1990
- Human Relations Area Files (Archaeology)
- Human Relations Area Files (Ethnoraphy)
- Native Canadian anthropology and history : a selected bibliography . Also in print E 78 C2 Z953 1994
Background information
For a more complete list of encyclopedias, see the First Nations main research guide, click "Background information".
- Archaeology of Prehistoric Native America : An Encyclopedia (Bennett Reference E 77.9 A72 1998)
- The Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art : Worldview, Symbolism, and Culture in Africa, Oceania, and North America (Bennett Reference E 98 A7 W49 2000)
- Encyclopedia Mythica -- click on to the "Native American Mythology" link
- Encyclopedia of Native American Religions : An Introduction (Bennett Reference E 98 R3 H73 2000)
- Encyclopedia Smithsonian - section on Native American Art
Directories of web sites
- Aboriginal Issues in Archaeology Bibliography (Dr. David Pokotylo, UBC) - List of books and articles concerned with First Nations and archaeological practice.
- Arts Links (Xwi7xwa Library, UBC) - Particularly useful for annotated links to Northwest Coast art and artists on the Web, and a collection of links to teacher resources.
- First Nations Art: An Introduction to Contemporary Native Artists in Canada - Biographical information on over one hundred Canadian artists, with descriptions of past exhibitions, links to digital images, and excellent bibliographies.
- National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation (Canada) - Includes National Aboriginal Achievement Awards, as well as scholarship information.
- Repatriation Links (Xwi7xwa Library, UBC) - Annotated links to government agencies and non-governmental organizations in BC, Canada, and the United States, as well as to museums and bibliographies concerned with repatriation of cultural items.
- WWW Virtual Library -- American Indians -- Index of Native American Resources on the Internet - Comprehensive list of links to sites dealing with culture, history, indigenous knowledge, and archaeology (by region), plus extensive art coverage.
