First Nations Research - Business and Economic Development
For assistance, please contact Moninder Bubber or the librarians at Ask a Librarian.
Resources in the SFU Library | Journal articles | Directories of web sites |
Resources in the SFU Library
Use these subject headings below to locate additional materials in the SFU Library Catalogue. They can be further broken down geographically, e.g "Indian business enterprises -- Canada" or "Indians of North America -- British Columbia -- Economic Conditions"
- Indian business enterprises
- Indians of North America -- Economic conditions
- Indians of North America -- Finance
- Indians of North America -- Commerce
Journal articles
Use these indexes to locate journal articles on your topic.Try keywords
(aborig* or indian* or first nations or native people* or native american*)
AND
(business* or commerce or finance* or company or companies)
AND
canad*
Directories of web sites
- Aboriginal Business Canada (Industry Canada)
Industry Canada's program to promote Aboriginal business in Canada. Outlines program criteria, priorities, services, products, and business support.
- Aboriginal Business Directory
Provides extensive resources, including an aboriginal business directory, links to professional and industry associatons, sector analyses, and the Aboriginal Communities Site Map (detailed profiles for First Nations communities across Canada).
- Aboriginal Resource Guide
A database containing information and programs related to training, business plan development, sources of funds, business environment, and more. Users can create customized profiles. Canadian.
- BC Hydro's Aboriginal Business Directory (currently under revision)
Lists aboriginal businesses located throughout B.C. in all sectors. Searchable by product/service, category, and region.
- Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business
A "national non-profit organization that promotes the full participation of Aboriginal communities in the Canadian economy." A resource for networking, benchmarking, and scholarships for aboriginal youth.
- CESO Aboriginal Services - Volunteer Advisers to Aboriginal People
Offers "the expertise and skills of volunteer 'native and non native elders' to First Nations, Inuit and Métis businesses and communities across the country."
- First Nation Information Project -- Native Businesses
Links to native business home pages, by province or territory. Includes a directory of Aboriginal capital corporations.
- Turtle Island Native Network Business Links
Quick links to current news and information, and to key economic development resources, plus an extensive list of links to excellent business support resources, organizations and agencies, directories, and funding resources.
