First Nations Research Resources: Background Information
Contents
Dictionaries and terminology
-- First Nations Terminology guide
Encyclopedias
Biographical information
Chronologies
Guides to First Nations Research
Dictionaries and terminology
- See First Nations Terminology guide
- Dictionary of Indian tongues containing most of the words and terms used in the Tshimpsean, Hydah, & Chinook, with their meaning or equivalent in the English language CIHM no. 14366
- First Nations and Métis Relations Glossary (Government of Saskatchewan)
- Glossary of Treaty-Related Terms E 78 B9 G56 1997
- Historical dictionary of early North America E 35 W475 2005
- Naskapi Lexicon (Naskapi Development Corporation, Québec)
Maliseet-Passamaquoddy Dictionary (University of New Brunswick) - Terminology by Indian and Northern Affairs (e.g. Band, Bill C-31, Indian Status, Metis, etc.)
Encyclopedias
- British Museum Encyclopedia of Native North America E 76.2 G74 1999
- Canadian Encyclopedia - See: Feature Articles: First Nations, Material Culture, Native Peoples - General, Native Tribes
See "Native People" in the subject index. Also "Native Tribes" for names of tribes Examples of articles: Native People, Land Claims, Native Women's Issues ; Names of groups - Continuum encyclopedia of native art E 98 A7 W49 2000
- Encyclopedia of British Columbia FC 3804 E52 2000 - under "subjects", articles such as: "First Nations of BC", "Art, Northwest Coast Aboriginal"; check"index" for articles, "aboriginal demography", "aboriginal rights", "First Nations Languages", or names of individual groups, e.g. Bella Coola First Nation, Haida, etc.
- Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples
- Encyclopedia Mythica - section on Native American Mythology
- Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics: Hispanic Americans and Native Americans (vol. 2)
- Encyclopedia of Native American healing E 98 M4 L96 1996
- Encyclopedia of Native American Legal Tradition - KF 8204 E53 1998
- Encyclopedia of Native Music : more than a century of recordings from wax cylinder to the Internet ML 156.4 I5 W75 2005
- Encyclopedia of Native American religions : an introduction. E 98 R3 H73 2000
- Encyclopedia of Native American shamanism : sacred ceremonies of North America E 98 M4 L98 1998
- Encyclopedia of North American Indians - select this title from the tab, "find a book" E 76.2 E53 1996
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures - Vol. 1- North America GN 307 E53 1991
- Encyclopedia Smithsonian - section on Native American History and Culture
- Encyclopedia of American Indian contributions to the world : 15,000 years of inventions and innovations E 54.5 K46 2002
- Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes E 77 G15 1998
- A guide to the Indian tribes of the Pacific Northwest E 78 N77 R79 1992
- Handbook of North American Indians, 17 volume set E 76.2 H36 1978
- Macmillan encyclopedia of Native American tribes, 2nd ed. E 76.2 J63 1999
- Native American literatures : an encyclopedia of works, characters, authors, and themes PS 153 I52 W47 1999
- Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian, 10th ed. E 76.2 R4 2003
- Other general:
- Credo Reference - Over 100 searchable and browsable reference books
- Gale Virtual Reference Library -- connect, then select "Social Sciences." TIP: Either search all encyclopedias as part of this database, or to search a particular title, check the box on left side "search within this publication".
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences: IESBS / H 41 I58 2001
- Oxford Reference Online - 100 general reference works plus material in language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, business, and professional areas.
- Sage eReference - over 40 encyclopedias -- List of encyclopedias.
Biographical
- A to Z of Native American women. E 98 W8 S65 1998
- American National Biography - Select "American Indian Heritage" in search box and pressing
- Biographical Dictionary of American Indian History to 1900 E 89 W35 2001
- Encyclopedia of Native American Biography E 89 J69 1997
- Native American Women : A Biographical Dictionary 2nd. ed. E 98 W8 B38 2001
- North American Indian Biographical Database - from 17th century to present day, with nearly 500 nations represented. Includes biographies of significant leaders, depictions of historically important events...
- Other general:
- Dictionary of Canadian Biography - Canadians who were deceased up to, and including, the year 1930.
- Gale's Literary Index. -Use library catalogue for title of Reference book in which the author is listed.
- Oxford Art Online / Grove Music Online -
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography - British, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000.
Chronologies
- First Nations Historic Timeline - BCTF
- A History of the Northwest Coast - Bruch Hallman
- Historic timeline of North West Territories - from Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre
- Union of BC Indian Chiefs (UBCIC) - Historical Timelines from 1700s to Present
Guides to First Nations research
- Getting Started in Oral Traditions Research - Put together by the Elisa Hart at the Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre (NWT). A step-by-step process for carrying out ethical research in oral traditions.
- Native Canadian anthropology and history a selected bibliography E 78 C2 Z953 1994
- Researching Your Aboriginal Ancestry at Library and Archives Canada - genealogical
- Sharing the Knowledge : A First Nations Resource Guide E 78 C2 Z946 1992
An annotated guide and bibliography focussed on current and historical social and justice issues facing First Nations peoples. Strong focus on British Columbia and Canada. - Stolen Lands Broken Promises: Researching the Indian Land Question in B.C (2nd edition, 2005)
Bennett Library and Bennett Reference E 78 B9 U552 2005
- A guide and bibliography focused on land claims in British Columbia, produced by the Union of BC Indian Chiefs. Includes a timeline, glossary, and index. - ther Libary Guides for First Nations' Research
- iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal (Univ of Saskatchewan Library Guide)
- Xwi7xwa Library (UBC Library) Subject Guide - Web resources by topic, A-Z
