ENGL 832: Eighteenth-Century Media Cultures

This guide has been designed as a starting point for the research that you will need to to research for English 832. 

If you need help, please contact Rebecca Dowson, Liaison Librarian: English Literature and History at 778.782.4304 or rda26@sfu.ca or Ask a librarian.

18th Century Resources

The SFU Library has several databases that provide access, either in the form of an index or full text, to various 18th century resources. 

Index and Background Sources

Use these resources to search for primary resources published during the 18th century.  Once you have found some relevant titles, search the SFU Library catalogue or the digitized primary source databases to see if we have access to the title.  Remember, many sources are reprinted at later dates, so if the date in the catalogue doesn't match the original year of publication, it is likely a reprint.  You can also use our interlibrary loan service to order a copy of anything we do not own.

Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles  This first release of Orlando includes biographical and writing career entries on over a thousand writers, more than eight hundred and fifty of them British women. It also includes selected non-British or international women writers, and British and international men, whose writing was an important, sometimes a shaping, element in a particular writing climate. Orlando also includes more than thirty thousand dated items representing events and processes (in the accounts of these writers, but also in the areas of history, science, medicine, economics, the law, and other contexts).

Gale Literary and Critical Databases Combined Search is an excellent place to find background information about authors. 

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography  An illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000.  The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography does not include articles on people who are still alive. 

Digitized Sources

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
From the first book published in English through to the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas from 1700-1800.

18th and 19th Century Burney Collection Newspaper Digital Archive
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. Newly digitized, all Burney treasures are now fully text-searchable in Gale Digital Collection.

Eighteenth Century Journals I & II                                                                                                                                                                   
Rare printed journals, periodicals and newspapers published between 1693 and 1799 illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. They offer effective coverage of the important issues of the period, and are invaluable to the study of all aspects of the eighteenth century, including crime, sport, advertising, the theatre; fashion; politics, revolution; agriculture; social issues and society life. Alumni access is allowed.

British Periodicals                                                                                                                                                                                                 British Periodicals traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. On completion this unique digital archive will consist of more than 460 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising six million keyword-searchable pages and forming an unrivalled record of more than two centuries of British history and culture.  A wide array of different types of periodical are represented, from magisterial quarterlies and scholarly and professional organs through to coterie art periodicals, penny weeklies and illustrated family magazines.  SFU currently has access to British Periodicals Collection I. This collection consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes containing approximately 3.1 million pages. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.

British Literary Manuscripts: Part 1 c.1660 to 1900.   This extensive digital archive, comprising more than 400,000 manuscript pages, includes complete facsimile copies of poems, plays, essays, novels, diaries, journals, correspondence and other manuscripts from the Restoration through the Victorian era. The collection provides an intimate look into the lives and works of major literary figures and allows for unique insights into the history, culture and context surrounding more than two centuries of British literary achievement. 

John Johnson Collection: an Archive of Printed Ephemera  The John Johnson Collection is the product of a unique partnership between the Bodleian Library and ProQuest to conserve, catalogue and digitise more than 36,000 items drawn from the Bodleian's John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera. The collection will ultimately contain 65,000 items.  This collection offers unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include Nineteenth-Century Entertainment, the Booktrade, Popular Prints, Crimes, Murders and Executions, and Advertising.

InteLex Past Masters  - InteLex Past Masters is comprised of 117 full-text humanities databases that make available cohesive collections of editions, in both original language and in English translation, of seminal figures in the humanities and social sciences.

Image Databases

ARTstor - Currently contains over 700,000 images.  The Collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. The collection has been derived from several source collections that are the product of collaborations with libraries, museums, photographic archives, publishers, slide libraries, and individual scholars.

Art Images - SFU Library's Art Images is a growing collection of online images documenting a broad range of art in support of teaching, learning, and research at SFU. Currently the collection is composed of over 2000 images with an emphasis on the history of Western Art.

Oxford Art Online - The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Includes links to art images from galleries and museums around the world. Many images are held in private collections and are not readily available in public websites.