ENGL 492 Topics in World Literature in English: Women Writers from Africa
This guide lists selected print and electronic information sources useful for this class. Please consult the Women's Studies Research Guide for more resources. If you don't find what you need, please contact Moninder Bubber, Liaison Librarian, 778-782-4264 / bubber@sfu.ca.
Professor: Alessandra Capperdoni
Semester: September - December 2008
Course Outline: English 492 - Topics in World Literature in English: Women Writers from Africa
Services
Contents
How to find:
- Writing and Style Guides (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.)
- Background Information (Encyclopedias)
- Africana : the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience. 2005. 5 vols. Bennett Reference DT 14 A37435 2005
- The Cambridge history of African and Caribbean literature. 2004. 2vols.
- Encyclopedia of African history. Volume 1, A-G [electronic resource] 2005.
- Encyclopedia of African literature. 2003.
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa. 2nd ed. 2004. 4 vols. (online version is part of the Gale Virtual Library. TIP: check the box on left side "search within this publication")
- Encyclopedia of post-colonial literatures in English. 1994. 2 vols. Bennett Reference and Stacks PR 8899 A52 E53 1994.
- Encyclopedia of postcolonial studies. 2001 Bennett Reference PN 849 U43 E53 2001
- Gale Virtual Reference Library . It includes many of their encyclopedias, including:
- International Dictionary of Film and Filmmakers; Encyclopedia of Modern Asia ; Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa ;
- Greenwood encyclopedia of women's issues worldwide. 6 vols. Bennett Reference HQ 1115 G74 2003
- Historical dictionary of women in Sub-Saharan Africa. Bennett Reference HQ 1787 S44 2005
- Post-colonial studies: the essential glossary. 2003. Bennett Stacks JV 22 T45 2003
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Check out these articles on "african feminism" and "african feminist agenda"
- CHIOMA STEADY, FILOMINA (2005). African feminism. In E. Craig (Ed.), Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. London: Routledge.(sections 1 and 2)
- Check out these articles on "african feminism" and "african feminist agenda"
- Third world women's literatures : a dictionary and guide to materials in English. 1995.
- Biographical
- Books
- Journal articles (databases)
- Selected Journals
- Government information
- Statistics
- Selected Websites
- RefWorks - software to create your own database. Manage your citations. Create bibliographies. Write-N-Cite your papers in APA, MLA etc.
Books
- Strategy
- Writing/works by particular authors -- do an author search in the Library Catalogue (last name first, then first name)
- Gordimer, Nadine
- Vera, Yvonne.
- etc.
- Works/criticism about particular authors -- do a keyword search in the Library Catalogue(first name followed by last).
- Fatima Mernissi
- Ama Ata Aidoo
- etc.
- Works/criticism about particular authors -- do a subject search in the Library Catalogue (first name followed by last).
- you could try keyword search to start looking for information on a topic:
- africa and women and (novel* or fiction or stor* or litera*)
- africa and women and (memoir* or biograph* or autobiograph*)
- africa and women and writing
- africa and women and cultur*
- africa and women and (film or cinema* or motion picture or movie*)
- postcolonial* and africa* and femini*
- postcolonial* and literature* and women
- postcolonial* and femini* and theory
- africa and ( women or gender or female* or femini*)
- africa and women and (issue* or debate* or argument* or discuss*)
- aids and africa and (women or gender or female or femini*)
- women and migrat* and africa
- women and educ* and africa
- women and sexuality and africa
- veil* and (africa or middle east*)
- etc.
- From your list of titles that appear, check their subject headings.
- Try "subject" searches. Some typical subject headings that may be helpful for this class include:
- Subject headings related to cultural production
- Africa - Women And Literature
- African Fiction (English) - Women Authors
- African Literature (English) - Women Authors
- African Literature (English) - Women Authors - History and Criticism
- Feminism And Literature - Africa
- Feminism and Literature - Africa - History - 20th Century
- Postcolonialism
- Postcolonialism - Africa
- Postcolonialism in Literature
- Women And Literature - Africa
- Women And Literature - Africa - History - 20th Century
- Women Authors - African (English) - History And Criticism
- Women, Black, in Literature
- Topical subject headings of interest
- Try "women" and name of country or region. E.g.
- Subject headings related to cultural production
- More examples of subject heading terms under Terminology
Journal articles
Most likely there will be plenty of material in the databases below. However if you don't find enough, then you may try the more complete lists in the English guide and the Women's Studies guide.
- MLA International Bibliography
- A core database for research on literary and cultural studies topics. MLA International indexes journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers and conference proceedings. Provides some full-text. As with the library catalogue, remember to use the Author search (from the pull-down menu) for works by an author, and Keyword or Subject searching for works about an author.
- Black Short Fiction
- Contains an estimated 8,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. The materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors. Approximately 30 percent of the collection is fugitive or ephemeral, or has never been published before.
- Contemporary Authors
- Useful for overviews and brief biographies of authors but also for the reference lists at the end of the articles.
- Contemporary Literary Criticism - Select
- Use keyword searching or search by author of interest. In addition, like Contemporary Authors, this database is useful for the reference lists at the end of the biographical overviews, which include hyperlinked scholarly articles.
- Film Literature Index (FLI)
- Contains citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. For later years consult the Film and Television Literature Index.
- Project MUSE
- TIP: From Project Muse's Advanced Keyword search page, check the "Include JSTOR back issues" (left column), to search the JSTOR simultaneously.
- A searchable, online, full-text collection of over 110 humanities and social science journals. Subjects include: literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies. Date coverage begins varies from title to title, but generally starts with mid-1990's.
- JSTOR
- TIP: From Project Muse's Advanced Keyword search page, check the "Include JSTOR back issues" (left column), to search the JSTOR simultaneously.
- A searchable, online, full-text archival collection of core scholarly journals mainly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Note that JSTOR does not provide access to the most current issues of journals. In most cases 2-5 full years plus the current calendar year are excluded.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index
- A broad database covering Humanties and Social Sciences. Subjects include Folklore, Performing Arts, Art, Literature, Film, and many others.
- Women's Studies International
- Start with "keyword" and move to "subject" or "descriptor" word searching. Also note the yellow bar on left hand side, which narrows your search even further by subjects
- try keyword similar to the ones used to search for books in Library Catalogue. E.g.
- femini* and africa
- represent* and africa and women
- etc.
- Some Descriptor/Subject headings:
- DE "African feminism"
- DE "African women"
- DE "Ethiopian women"
- DE "Protocol on the rights of women in africa [2003]"
- etc.
- Start with "keyword" and move to "subject" or "descriptor" word searching. Also note the yellow bar on left hand side, which narrows your search even further by subjects
- Women's Human Rights Resources Database WHRR
- No print equivalent - 1995 to present - WHRR contains annotated references to books, articles, documents and links websites related to international women's rights law or the domestic application of international women's rights law. Full-text documents are provided where available. You may find fulltext of many of the legal journals by checking the Library Catalogue by "journal title".
- Global Health
- Lexis Nexis (full text) - Especially good for access to women's "human rights" and "legal" types of journals.
Selected Journals
- Research in African Literatures (indexed in MLA database)
- Jenda : a journal of culture and African women studies (indexed in Women's Studies International)
- In the Women's Studies International database, you can search within this journal by entering "Jenda" in the "keyword" box and then choosing "SO Publication Name" in the pull down menu.
- Journal of African Cultural Studies (indexed in MLA database)
- Journal of Postcolonial Writing Bennett Bound Journals (indexed in MLA database)
- Journal of Commonwealth and Postcolonial Studies Bennett Bound Journals (indexed in MLA database)
- Gender and Development (indexed in Women's Studies International database)
- Al-Raida (indexed in Women's Studies International database, full-text in Contemporary Women's Issues database)
Government information
- Women Watch (U.N. Inter-Agency on Network on Women and Gender Equality (IANWGE) - Statistics and Indicators.
- Directory of U.N. Resources on Gender and Women's Issues, - provides access to publications of their different agencies.
- Unifem
- U.N. Economic and Social Development Website - can be searched.
- Country Profiles ( World Health Organization, U.N.)
- Country Reports (CEDAW - Convention for Elimination
Statistics
International
- UNdata - United Nations Statistical Common Database -- compilation of United Nations and agency statistics, covering economic, social, financial and development topics. The series can be accessed alphabetically, by sources or by topics. Among the main data sources are the Statistics Division's own databases in merchandise trade, national accounts, demography and population, energy, status of women and industrial commodities production; and statistics from the Population Division, the UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs' Project Link, FAO, ILO, IMF, ITU, OECD, UNESCO, WHO, WIPO, World Bank and World Tourism Organization, among others. Get time series, html, excel, etc.format.
- Metadata - Country profile - alphabetical list by country
- Data Extraction and query - Basic view - select countries to compare -- "legally induced abortions" by country
- Select "country/area profile" -- (e.g. Aghanistan)
- Select a "profile" - e.g. "social indicators"
- Select "series" -- here is where you select "abortion", "aids orphans", "births", "condom use", "marriage by age of bride", "women unemployment rate", etc.
- Select year ranges
Websites
- AfricaBib - a database of bibliographical material on Africa. Some articles are available fulltext online.
- Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources (Karen Fung)
- Association of African Women Scholars
- Bibliography of Feminist and Womanist Criticism of African Literature (Sharon Verba)
- Center for the Study And Research of African Women in Cinema
- Eldis Gateway to Development Information-"..collection of editorially selected and abstracted full-text, online documents ... from more than 4,500 different publishers.
- Eldis Development Information Gateway: Regional and Country Profiles
- Select a country name from the "country profile" pulldown menu, then use the links in left hand column to find reports on Issues such as "gender", HIV/Aids, Children & Young people --
- Gender - enter "african women" in the search engine to find reports such as:
- Forum for African Women Educationalists (FAWE) - It serves as the lead agency for the Association for the Development of Education in Africa (ADEA) Working Group on Female Participation (WGFP).
- Eldis Development Information Gateway: Regional and Country Profiles
- Internet Africa History Sourcebook
- Official Government Web Pages by Country
- Voice of the Shuttle—Other Literatures in English: Africa
