Field Programs: Fine Arts
This web page is intended to introduce you to some resources which can be used for students in the Graduate Diploma in Fine Arts Education.
If you need help, please contact Holly Hendrigan, Liaison Librarian at 778.782.8023 or holly_hendrigan@sfu.ca or Ask a librarian.
Books
Use the Library Catalogue to search for books. Try the following keyword searches:
- art education
- teaching art
- children art
Look at the authorized or standard SUBJECT HEADINGS used in the records. Is there one that describes what you are looking for? If so, click on it to find other books on your topic.
Don't forget that most SFU Education researchers are eligible for our free Telebook service that delivers library books and other resources to you directly at home! Try our new live-action tutorial!
Articles
- ERIC. Education and education-related journals, research reports, and curriculum materials.
- CBCA Education. Index to Canadian education literature. Use whenever a Canadian focus is required.
- Art Full Text. Indexing and full text for journal articles on all aspects and periods of art.
- ARTstor. A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data.
- Art Bibliographies Modern. International index to journal articles and exhibition catalogues on art and artists, from the late 19th C. to the present day.
Background Information
- Encyclopedia of education. Comprehensive encyclopedia of education-related information. Also in print LB 15 E47 2003
- Oxford Art Online. Comprehensive reference source on all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present day. Includes links to art images from galleries and museums around the world.
Citing & Writing
For help formatting your research paper and bibliography, check out our academic citation style guides with selected examples for: APA | MLA | Chicago/Turabian
- Use RefWorks to track your references and format your bibliographies instantly with MS Word. Free for all current SFU students, faculty, and staff.
- Or try Zotero, a free extension for the Firefox web browser that helps you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.
Additional Resources
- Contemporary Arts Information Resources (SFU Research Guide)
- National Art Education Association. The leading professional organization for art educators in pre-kindergarten through grade 12.
