Education 448: Law in the Curriculum
If you need help, please contact Hope Power, Liaison Librarian for Education at 778.782.4359 or hpower@sfu.ca or Ask a librarian.
Table of Contents
| Definitions Finding Books Finding Articles IRPs for BC Curriculum Government Legal Information Web Sites about Teaching Legal Topics in Schools Web Sites of Legal Information |
Definitions
Duhaime's Law Dictionary
Law dictionary maintained by Victoria lawyer Lloyd Duhaime.
Finding Books
Find books about teaching legal concepts in secondary or elementary schools through subject searches in the SFU Library catalogue.
To do a successful subject search, use the formal subject headings, for example:
law study and teaching
or
social sciences study and teaching
To find other formal subject headings used in the SFU Library catalogue, examine the subject headings assigned to good books on your topic.
Then click on the most interesting subject headings assigned to that book to find others like it.
Or, find books on specific concepts related to law in the curriculum through keyword searches in the SFU Library catalogue.
Use any meaningful keywords related to the concept, for example:
bullying and school*
or
conflict resolution and classroom.
Examine the subject headings assigned to each book which you decide to use.
Then click on the most interesting subject headings to that book to find others like it.
If you are enrolled in this course through Distance Education, you can request that books be mailed to you by SFU Library Telebook staff. Click on the Request button at the top of the record for the book that you would like to receive, and then complete the online form. For more information, check out our quick, live-action tutorial on Using the Library's Telebook Service.
Finding Articles
You can find citations for articles about teaching legal concepts through the indexes listed below.
After you find a citation for an article you would like to read, click on the Where can I get this? link in each reference. The Where can I get this? link starts a search of many library catalogues, and produces a chart showing which libraries hold the journal which you can use:
- to see if the fulltext is linked to the citation with a GET button
- to see if SFU Library subscribes to the journal
- to request that SFU Library Telebook staff send you a copy of the article if you are enrolled in this course through Distance Education by clicking on the CHK (for Check) button, and then on the Request button in the SFU Catalogue record
- to request the article from another library if the SFU Library does not have it
- the largest education index
- use the online Thesaurus to find the best subject heading, e.g. law related education
- narrow the search results if the number of results are overwhelming, e.g. by age group
- most ERIC Documents (the ones with the ED number) are available in full text online
- the best Canadian education index
- look for key concept words as a subject search
- many articles are available in full text online, for example, from the journal Law Now
Index to Canadian Legal Literature (via LawSource)
- indexes Canadian legal periodicals
- look for key concept words as a subject search, e.g. law study and teaching and secondary
IRPs for BC Curriculum
Check out the Integrated Resource Packages (IRPs) prepared by the BC Ministry of Education for all Social Studies courses (including Law 12 & Social Justice 12)
Government Legal Information
Web Sites about Teaching Legal Topics in Schools
Justice Education Society
Directory entry for this non-profit society
Provides province-wide legal education to schools and community groups.
Programs focus on the operation of the BC court system and criminal and civil trial procedures.
No links from this site.
Law Room on SchoolNet
Joint project of the Access to Justice Network, the Human Rights Research and Education Centre, Industry Canada and the Department of Justice
Provides a site where students can learn about the law, talk to other students and to lawyers about the law.
Many related links.
Web Sites of Legal Information
Use the same judgement in evaluating information found on the web as you would use in evaluating printed information. Often it is helpful to know the background and goals of the site sponsors. This information is usually provided as a link from the home page.
- Sponsored by the American Bar Association
- Links to federal and state legislation, bills, cases
- Sponsored by University of Alberta, University of Montreal, Department of Justice Canada, and Web Networks
- Links to federal and provincial legislation, current bills, some Supreme Court cases
- Includes Youth Education for Citizenship project
Bora Laskin Law Library, University of Toronto
- Sponsored by the Bora Laskin Law Library at University of Toronto
- Brief explanations of Canadian law on many subjects with links to legislation in Canada and other countries
- Links also to non-governmental sites sponsored by organizations with an interest in specific legal topics
- Sponsored by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada
- Links to federal and provincial legislation, case law
- Sponsored by the Legal Services Society
- Links to legislation, court decisions, governments, and law for specific groups, e.g. Aboriginal Law, Young Offenders
- Non-profit Vancouver organization serving British Columbia
- Provides legal education, support and advice.
Style Guides
APA style is recommended by instructors in many Education courses. However, because Education is a field that crosses many disciplines, other citation styles may be preferred or required in specific circumstances. Writing and Style Guides provides information about citing and style guides, with links to examples using the most common styles: APA, Chicago, Harvard, and MLA. Assistance with APA style is available from several sources:
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c1994. Extensive information about APA style, the format recommended to Faculty of Education students for bibliographies and footnotes. BF 76.7 P83 1994 Bennett Reference, Bennett Reserves, Bennett Circulating, Belzberg Reserves, Belzberg Library
APA Style for Research Reports. A guide to APA style prepared by the SFU Psychology Department
Citation Guide:APA style prepared by SFU Library staff gives general information on writing citations in bibliographies and footnotes. SFU students and faculty can store citations in their personal RefWorks database for later use to produce lists of references formatted in APA or other styles.
Unsure about when it is necessary to acknowledge the work of other writers and creators? Test your knowledge with this online tutorial.
