Education: Background Information
Dictionaries & Glossaries
For background information on your research topic, try these key resources:
- A dictionary of education
- Also in print LB 15 D483 2008
- Edspeak: A glossary of education terms, phrases, buzzwords, and jargon
- Key concepts in cultural theory
- Also in print HM 101 K29 1999
Encyclopedias
- Gale Education encyclopedia e-book collection
- Encyclopedia of education
- Also in print LB 15 E47 2003
- Encyclopedia of language and education
- Also in print P 40.8 E59 2008
- Encyclopedia of bilingual education
- Encylopedia of educational leadership and administration
- Encyclopedia of educational technology
- Encyclopedia of school psychology
- Also in print LB 1027.55 E523 2005
- Encyclopedia of the social and cultural foundations of education
- Also in print LB 17 E53 2009
- Encyclopedia of multicultural education
- Encyclopedia of special education: a reference for the education of children, adolescents, and adults with disabilities and other exceptional individuals
- Also in print LC 4007 E539 2007
- Encyclopedia of distance learning
- Routledge encyclopedia of language teaching and learning
- Also in print P51 R66 2000
- International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (IESBS)
- Philosophy of education: an encyclopedia
- Also in print LB 17 P485 1996
- Philosophy of education: the key concepts
- Gender and education: an encyclopedia
- Also in print LC 213 G425 2007
- World education encyclopedia
- Also in print LB 15 W87 2002
We also have encyclopedias (both online and in print) on many other special topics in Education (e.g. childhood development, special education, gender, etc.) that can be found by keyword searching in the SFU Library catalogue or in the quick search box below:
Biographies
- Fifty major thinkers on education: From Confucious to Dewey
- Also in print LB 17 F56 2001
- Fifty modern thinkers on education: From Piaget to the present day
- The greatest educators ever
General Background Information Resources
To search through many encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference resources from all subject areas (including Education) all at once, try:
Or use our Online Reference Sources page to access standard dictionaries, biographies, atlases, etc.
