Economics Information Resources: Facts & Data
The following is a list of optional subject headings. You may use any or all of these or include subject specific resources relevant to your guide. This page will have its own table of contents: Handbooks Statistics Data Tables Manuals Atlases/Maps Images Taxonomies Etc.
- RFE: Sponsored by the American Economic Association, this guide provides access to everything from data to dictionaries to Economics forums to employment advice and conference listings
The Library has many statistical yearbooks for countries, regions, and international organizations. Search the catalogue using the keywords "statistical (yearbook or abstract)" and the country, region, or organization name, e.g., "statistical (yearbook or abstract) Latin America."
- For more information on Canadian Statistics, see the Library guides, Statistics - BC and Statistics - Canada.
- For tips and sources concerning economic indicators, try the Library guide: Economic Indicators.
- For tips and sources concerning company financial ratios, try the Library guide: Ratio Analysis.
- If you don't see what you need here, check out the Resource Data Library or ask.
Here are a few general sources:
- The place to start for current BC socio-economic statistics, including quick facts and historical tables. Note that SFU researchers have access to several key BC Stats publications online.
British Columbia Economic Accounts
- A statistical picture of the BC economy on a national accounts basis.
- Time series of Canadian data on national accounts, financial institutions, corporate finance, government, population, labour, prices, construction, investment, trade, travel, and industry.
- Provides current and historical Canadian socio-economic statistics as well as descriptions of Statscan's products and services. Always check the SFU Library catalogue to see if we own the material that you find cited at the Statistics Canada site.
- More than 70 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public. The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site to provide easy access to the full range of statistics and information produced by these agencies for public use. Most require use of Adobe Acrobat Reader.
US Bureau of the Census
- Locate detailed US socio-economic statistics based on the US Census and other surveys.
Statistical Abstract of the United States:
- Also available in print at the SFU Library [HA 202 A2 or HA 202 A21], this is a recommended source. The Statistical Abstract compiles statistics drawn from the US Census, Current Population Surveys and other sources both governmental and private. The Statistical Abstract provides detailed source notes so you can locate the original source from which the tables are composed. While largely federal in nature, there are many relevant state-level tables.
- Note! Since tables within one edition do not necessarily correspond to tables containing the same information in another edition, have a look at their concordance (2006 - 2009).
Historical Statistics of the United States:
- Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. This fully searchable database will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
General and World-wide
Data on the Net
- UC San Diego’s collection of 800+ Internet sites of numeric Social Science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more.
- Europa World
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR): a central repository and dissemination service for machine-readable social science data. The Archive receives, processes, and distributes data on social phenomena occurring in over 130 countries
- International historical statistics : Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000. Bennett Reference HA 4675 M552 2003
- International historical statistics : Europe, 1750-2000. Bennett Reference HA 1107 M5 2003
International historical statistics : the Americas, 1750-2000. Bennett Reference HA 175 M55 2003
- Provides information about each country in the world in a standardized format. Brief statistical information.
Index to international statistics : IIS. 1983- Bennett Reference Indexes HA 155 I58
- Guide to the statistical publications of international intergovernmental organizations.
Research Data Library
- SFU Library's collection of machine-readable files, including the new BC Research Libraries' Abacus database, Cansim, Citibase, IMF statistics, social science data files from many national and international sources, and data from individual researchers and private organizations. Check the Research Data Library Catalogue for a list of data files.
- To access OECD statistics, click on the Statistics tab and browse the contents available on the left side of the screen for available databases.
Statistical abstract of the world. Belzberg Reference and Bennett Library, HA 155 S7 1997
- Covers economic, political and social indicators.
Statistics sources. Most recent copy available at Bennett Reference Desk, older copies in LAM HA 36 Z97
- Comprehensive guide to statistics from around the world.
undata - United Nations Statistical Common Database
- undata provides selected series from 30 specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas.
World Development Indicators
- Updated annually, the World Development Indicators Online (WDI) provides access to over 600 development indicators including economic, social, environmental, business, and technology for more than 208 countries.