Economic Indicators

1.   Definitions and Background Information
2.   British Columbia
3.   Canada
4.   United States
5.   Asia
6.   Europe/Middle East/Africa
7.   International
8.   Journal articles
9.   Further Resources
 

NOTE: The many resources described below are just a small part of what is available.  Ask for help if you don't find what you need.

 

1. Definitions and Background Information

  • Oxford Reference Online
    Includes online full text to A Dictionary of Economics and the Handbook of International Financial Terms.
  • Guide to economic indicators
    Bennett Library: HC 103 F9 2006
    Provides useful information on over seventy economic indicators including those issued by government agencies as well as by private organizations.

2. British Columbia

  • British Columbia business indicators. 1990-
    Bennett Library Bound Journals (1990-1997).
    Available online via BC Stats Publications.
    Monthly issues cover general employment and financial indicators, and sectoral indicators for resources, agriculture, manufacturing, construction, transportation, tourism and trade.
     
  • British Columbia current economic indicators. 1986-
    Bennett Library Bound Journals and Current Journals + Belzberg Library (current five years only)
    Monthly tables for labour market, employment by industries, exports, population, prices and finance figures.
     
  • British Columbia. Ministry of Finance and Corporate Relations. Quarterly report on the economy, fiscal situation, and outlook.
    Bennett Library Current Journals (current year only). The current issue is freely available online from the British Columbia Ministry of Finance Reports and Publications. You can also access earlier reports online.
    Reviews the current economic situation and outlook, with transaction details of the Consolidated Revenue Fund, government and crown corporation debt and interim financial statements.
     
  • Economic analysis of British Columbia. 1989-
    Bennett Library Bound Journals and Current Journals + Belzberg Library (current two years only)
    Monthly overview from the Credit Union Central of British Columbia. Each issue covers various topics.
     
  • Quarterly regional statistics (Victoria, B.C.). 1994-
    Bennett Library Bound Journals (1994-1998).
    Available online via BC Stats Publications.
    Overview of regional economy, covering retail activity and sales, mines and manufacturing, building and tourism, incorporations and bankruptcies, and other demographic statistics.

3. Canada

  • Bank of Canada. Review. 1971-
    Bennett Library Bound Journals and Current Journals.
    Archived articles (everything beyond the current issue) are free online via the Bank of Canada site.
    Quarterly statistical tables covering major financial and economic indicators, the Bank of Canada, chartered banks and other financial institutions, financial aggregates and markets, the federal government, general economic statistics, foreign exchange and balance of payments. Also articles on topics of concern to the Bank, staff studies and press releases.
     
  • Bank of Canada. Weekly financial statistics. 1998-
    Tables covering Canadian banking assets, financial market statistics, exchange rates, consumer price index, etc.
    ** See Inside the Bank of Canada's Weekly financial statistics: a technical guide. 2nd ed. 1989 (Bennett Library: HG 2706 M37 1989) for "A column by column, page by page technical guide to the Bank of Canada statement."
     
  • Canadian economic observer. 1988-
    Bennett Statistics Canada collection and Belzberg Library (current year only) (Statscan No. 11-010) .
    Part 1 is a monthly explanation of current economic conditions and events, with feature articles on various topics. Part 2 is a Statistical summary of tables covering national accounts, labour markets, prices, international trade, manufacturing and services industries, financial markets, and provincial and international data.
     
  • Canadian economic observer. Historical statistical supplement. 1988-
    Belzberg Reference (HC 111 C1976) and Bennett Stats Canada (Statscan No. 11-210)
    Supplements the above title, with longer time series.
     
  • Canadian outlook, economic forecast. 1985-1997.
    Bennett Library Lam Collection.
    Quarterly report from The Conference Board of Canada, covering consumer expenditures, housing, government, investment, international trade, energy, employment, prices and financial markets, with tables on GDP, prices, consumer spending and interest rates.
     
  • Statistics Canada: Selected Economic Indicators
    Covers national accounts, prices, labour, and trade.
     
  • Provincial outlook: economic forecast.1986-1997.
    Bennett Library Lam Collection.
    Quarterly report from The Conference Board of Canada, with economic forecasts for each province, including key economic indicators.
     
  • Market research handbook. 1969- 
    Bennett Stats Canada (Statscan No. 63-224), Bennett Reference (HF 5415.2 M37), and Belzberg Reference (current year only) (HF 5415.2 M37)
    Includes tables and charts on general economic indicators, socio-economic characteristics, personal income and expenditure, housing and household facilities, and merchandising and service industry data. 
     
  • Central 1 Credit Union - Economic Briefings
    Archived and current Weekly Economic Briefings providing a BC perspective and up-to-date information on interest rates, the national debt, employment trends, budget highlights, inflation, tax changes and other economic issues of the day. Also includes housing updates for the Lower Mainland & Vancouver Island, monthly interest rate forecasts, budget updates, and more.

4. United States

  • Business Statistics of the United States
    Current edition available in Bennett Library Reference and Belzberg Library Reference, with earlier editions (1995- ) available at Bennett Library, HC 101 A13121.
    The 2006 edition is available online.
     
  • U.S. Census Bureau: Economic Indicators.
    Quarterly updates on many indicators, such as home sales, housing starts, international trade, retail sales, household income and poverty. With graphs.
     
  • Economic indicators. 1963, 1966-
    Bennett Library Bound Journals and Current Journals.
    Also online for through the Government Printing Office.
    Presents basic statistical series on total output, income, and spending; employment and wages; production and business activity; prices, currency, credit and security markets; and federal finance. Updates The economic report of the President (Bennett Library and Bennett Library Lam Collection: HC 106.5 A272).
     
  • Economic Modeling ~ Business Cycle Statistics
    Data series provided by the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland: 1964:Q1 - 2005:Q4.
     
  • Federal reserve bulletin. 1960-
    Bennett Library Bound Journals. Bulletins from 1915-1959 available on microfilm at Bennett Library.
    Available online (1990 - present) for SFU researchers.
    Complete current statistics on US financial conditions and developments in other countries.
     
  • FRED® (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
    A database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series.You can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series. See also the new ALFRED® ArchivaL Federal Reserve Economic Data site which provides access to vintage versions of data that were available on specific dates in history. Provides access to over 19,000 series in 14 categories.
     
  • Guide to economic indicators. 4th ed. 2006.
    Bennett Library: HC 103 F9 2006
    Describes more than 50 indicators developed by the federal government, private sources and international organizations.
     
  • Handbook of key economic indicators. 1998.
    Bennett Library and Surrey Library Reference: HC 103 R64 1998
    Focuses on the non-financial economic indicators most closely followed by financial markets. Covers employment, personal income, retail sales, consumer and producer price indexes, industrial production, international trade, GDP, etc.
     
  • Handbook of United States economic and financial indicators . 2000.
    Bennett Library: HC 106.8 O47 2000
    Includes 248 indicators providing a description of each indicator, information on how these are calculated, how the indicator is used and a table of sources that give the values for each indicator.
     
  • Survey of current business. 1921-
    Bennett Library Current Journals, Bound Journals, and First Floor Closed Storage.
    Available online (1994- ) for SFU researchers. Covers basic income and trade developments in the US, including prices, foreign trade, commodities and industries. Updates Survey of current business: business statistics, biennial supplement (Bennett Library and Lam Collection: HC 101 A1312), and Statistical abstract of the United States (Most recent edition available at Bennett Library Reference Desk, Belzberg Library Reference, and Surrey Library Reference: HA 202 A2).
     
  • Statistical abstract of the United States 1878-1926, 1928-1933, 1936-1939, 1942, 1946-
    Most recent edition available at Bennett Library Reference Desk, Belzberg Library Reference, and Surrey Library Reference; other editions available at Bennett Library and Lam Collection; some editions available at Surrey Library: HA 202 A2.
    Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States as well as selected international data.This source also provides data from the Census Bureau, other US governmental agencies and some private organizations.
     
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics
    "The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. The BLS is an independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor. The BLS also serves as a statistical resource to the Department of Labor. BLS data must satisfy a number of criteria, including relevance to current social and economic issues, timeliness in reflecting today’s rapidly changing economic conditions, accuracy and consistently high statistical quality, and impartiality in both subject matter and presentation."

5. Asia

  • Economic statistics monthly. Bank of Japan. 1972-1999.
    Bennett Library Bound Journals and Lam Collection.
    Key statistics covering currency supply, interest rates and stock prices, GDP, industrial production, consumer spending, prices, commodities, wages, foreign trade, etc.
     
  • Japanese economic indicators quarterly. 1987-1993.
    Bennett Library Lam Collection.
    Charts and tables for statistics as above.
     
  • Key indicators / Asian Development Bank
    Bennett Library: HC 411 A75411 (2003- ), HC 411 A7541 (1990-2002), and HC 411 A754 (1985-1989).
    Tables of comparative socioeconomic data among developing member countries of the Asian Development Bank, along with detailed data for each country.
     
  • Quarterly national economic trends, Taiwan area / The Republic of China. 1979-2006.
    Bennett Library Bound Journals.
    Summary analysis tables for economic growth and national income, prices, gross agricultural, industrial and services products, consumption, foreign trade, government revenue, etc. Main statistical series for GNP and GDP, and comparison data with other major countries.
     
  • Statistical indicators for Asia and the Pacific. 1986- .
    Bennett Library Bound Journals.
    Monthly publication from the United Nations with tables for 27 countries from Iran to various Pacific islands. Covers population, industry, transport, trade, prices and finance, with quarterly special regional tables.

6. Europe/Middle East

  • Economic trends. Great Britain. 1966-
    Bennett Library Bound Journals and Lam Collection.
    Monthly survey with topical articles; time series and graphs for five years cover economic accounts, prices, labour market, output and demand indicators, and selected financial statistics.
     
  • Economic trends. Annual supplement. 1975-1977, 1979-
    Bennett Library: HC 251 E23 (latest edition in Reference)
    Supplements the above title, with long runs of data.
     
  • European economy. 1978-
    Bennett Library Bound Journals.
    Semi-annual publication reporting on recent developments in the European Commission, with lengthy statistical annex detailing population and labour market, output, national final uses, prices, wage costs, foreign trade and current balance, saving, money, interest and exchange rates, general government figures, and main economic indicators.
     
  • Middle East review. 1981-1998
    Bennett Library: HC 410.7 A1 M5171
    General reviews of trade, industry, services and finances, along with detailed country surveys. Includes North Africa, Somalia and the Sudan.
     
  • National Statistics - Economy (UK).
    United Kingdom key economic statistics for production, retail and producer prices, gross domestic product, national accounts, etc.

     
  • SourceOECD
    Online statistical databases including National Accounts Database; periodicals such as the OECD Economic Surveys, Quarterly Labor Force Statistics, Quarterly National Accounts, Main Economic Indicators, Monthly Statistics of International Trade; electronic books and much more.
     
  • UNECE Statistical Database
    A statistical database maintained by the Statistical Division of the UNECE Secretariat. Organised by subject or policy areas, multi-dimensional tables present data by country, by various socio-economic classifications related to the context, and by time period. Users may be particularly interested in the statistics on CIS and central and eastern European countries, which are difficult to find elsewhere in a single integrated database.

7. International

  • UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics database
    A comprehensive collection of statistical data relevant to the analysis of international trade, investment and development, for individual countries and for economic and trade groupings.
     
  • Indicators of industrial activity.1979-2000
    Bennett Library Bound Journals and Lam Collection.
    Quarterly publication from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), covering quantitative and qualitative indicators for mining and manufacturing.
     
  • International economic indicators: a sourcebook. 1985.
    Bennett Library: HC 59 M62
    Detailed information on leading, coincident and lagging indicators. Countries include Canada, United Kingdom, France, Italy, and the USA.
     
  • International financial statistics.1965-
    Bennett Library Current Journals and Bound Journals. Publications from 1948-1964 available on microfilm at Bennett Library.
    Also online for SFU Researchers through the International Monetary Fund.
    Topical tables on interest and exchange rates, balance of payments, world trade, money and banking, and commodity prices, with detailed country tables. Updates International financial statistics yearbook (Bennett Library: HG 3881 I63, 1980- , with the latest edition in Reference and the 1979 edition in the Lam Collection).
     
  • Monthly bulletin of statistics. United Nations. Statistical Office. 1965-79, 1981-
    Bennett Library Current Journals, Bound Journals, and First Floor Closed Storage.
    Available online (1998- ) for SFU researchers
    Covers finance, trade and many other social statistics. Updates Statistical yearbook (Latest editions in Belzberg Reference and Bennett Reference; earlier editions (1948- ) in Bennett Library and Lam Collection, HA 12.5 U63).
     
  • Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Main economic indicators. 1965-
    Bennett Library Current Journals, Bound Journals, and Lam Collection.
    Also online for SFU researchers through SourceOECD
    Monthly tables for indicators by subject and country.
     
  • Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Main economic indicators. Historical statistics.1955-
    Bennett Library: HC 10 O682.
    Also online for SFU researchers through SourceOECD
    Supplements the above title, with revised and longer series runs of data.
     
  • Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. OECD economic outlook. 1967-
    Bennett Library Current Journals, Bound Journals, and Lam Collection.
    Also online for SFU researchers through SourceOECD
    Monthly overview of projections for output, employment, prices and current balances for two years, with analysis of government policies. Compares developments in selected non-member countries.
     
  • World development report.1978-
    Bennett Library: HC 59.7 W659
    Each issue deals with a specific topic; statistical appendix.
     
  • World development indicators
    Bennett Library: HC 59 W64 (latest edition in Bennett Reference)
    World development indicators (WDI) is the World Bank's annual compilation of data about development; provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2001.
     
  • World economic outlook. International Monetary Fund. 1980-
    Bennett Library: HC 59 W65
    Also freely available online from the IMF site along with the World Economic databases.
    Reviews world economic conditions with short- and medium-term projections in expository chapters, with statistical appendix of over 40 tables showing output, inflation, financial policies and accounts, and foreign trade.
     
  • World economic and social survey.1994-
    Bennett Library: HC 54 W671 (latest edition in Reference).
    Comprehensive review of world economic conditions and trends, with financial data appendix.
     
  • World tables. 1976-1995
    NOTE: replaced by World Development Indicators after 1995 (see above).
    Bennett Library: HC 59 W67
    Economic statistics for developing countries and industrialized economies that are World Bank members.

To find other books, search the Library Catalogue for the SUBJECT "Economic indicators." For more information on searching the Library catalogue, see the SFU Library Catalogue Search Guide.  Ask for help if you don't find what you need.

8. Journal articles

The following databases contain both article citations and full text articles. Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk if you can't find what you need in these databases.
 

  • ECONLIT. 1969-
    Contains citations, with abstracts, to articles from more than 400 economics journals on topics ranging from accounting to regional economics.
     
  • Academic Search Premier. 1984-
    Contains indexes and abstracts for articles from more than 8,000 journals and provides full text for more than 4,500 journals. Covers a broad range of disciplines, including political science, public administration, language and literature, communications, business administration, biological and medical sciences, computer sciences, education and history.
     
  • Passport (formerly known as Global Market Information Database)
    Euromonitor’s Passport provides data and reports on consumers, markets, companies, and economies in over 350 markets and 207 countries.
     
  • CBCA Complete. 1982-
    CBCA is the major index for Canadian newspapers, popular and business magazines, and scholarly journals. It also includes full text versions of many articles.
     
  • PAIS International. 1972-
    Contains citations, with brief abstracts, to literature on business and the social sciences with emphasis on contemporary social, economic, and political issues and the making and evaluating of public policy.

9. Further resources