Economics Information Resources: Additional Resources
- Associations and organizations
- Government information
- Directories of websites
- Special Topics
The following is a short list of a few of the many associations and organizations associated with the study of economics. To search for other organizations, try the sources listed at Trade Associations.
- Canadian Economics Association
- American Economic Association
- Canadian Association for Business Economics
- Canadian Foundation for Economic Education
- Hillwatch.com: Canadian and International Think Tanks Tanks and Public Policy Information
- Canadian Social Research Organizations
- Canadian Health Economics Research Association
- Western Economic Association International
Governments at all levels can be great sources of useful data and analysis. There are many government publications in the SFU Library. Try searching for them by AUTHOR with either the jurisdiction followed by the name of the ministry or department (for example, British Columbia Ministry of Small Business, Tourism and Culture) or the name of the department by itself (for example, Statistics Canada). Also, don't forget that many government publications are in the microforms part of the library's 6th floor and can be found using the Canadian Research Index.
British Columbia Government
- Links to the ministries and their publications and more. You might want to start with the Ministry of Finance.
Canadian Information By Subject
- "Canadian Information By Subject is an information service developed by the National Library of Canada to provide links to information about Canada from Internet resources around the world. The subject arrangement is in the form of a "Subject Tree", based on the structure of the Dewey Decimal Classification system. This service is updated regularly and is constantly developing and expanding. Be sure to check back often to see the latest additions." The sites listed aren't annotated, but they are very well organised, current, and Canadian.
- Information about Departmental services and publications, as well as links to other governmental and commercial sites.
Strategis: Industry Canada Online
- Excellent site with links to information about companies, markets, licensable technologies, and much more.
Treasury Board Secretariat
- Documents, including federal government estimates, reports, and policies.
US Census Bureau
- Get current industrial and demographic reports, economic census data, foreign trade analysis, and much more.
US Department of Commerce
- A good starting place for information about US government business policies and programs as well as links to related agencies.
US Bureau of Economic Analysis
- A good starting place for information about US economic accounts. Contains current and historical data often in downloadable formats
US Department of Labor — Bureau of Labor Statistics
- If you're looking for inflation, consumer spending or employment related information, try here first. BLS also contains useful information on import/export price indexes.
- A detailed list of government sites around the world can be found at Governments on the WWW
- Asian Development Bank
- International Labour Organization
- International Monetary Fund
- Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations
- United Nations
- United Nations Economic and Social Council
- United Nations Economic and Social Development
- World Bank
World Trade Organization
These sites have been chosen because they are comprehensive collections of information. There are, of course, many other general economics resources on the Web. Try the back issues of BUEC BUZZ if these links don't have what you need. Still stuck? Ask for help at the Reference Desk or via email/chat/telephone through our Ask Us services.
Research Resources for the Social Sciences
- Several of the link categories are likely to be useful for Business and Economics people: Data Archives, Economics, Demography, and Reference Materials to name a few.
Resources for Economists on the Internet
- A World Wide Web Virtual Library: Economics site.
International Economics Network
- A directory of Internet resources for international economics, development, finance, and more. Developed and maintained by Jamus Jerome Lim, a doctoral student at UC Santa Cruz.
WebEc: World Wide Web Resources in Economics
- International in scope, this site is categorized by topic and is searchable. It has a linked list of print and online economics journals, links to online directories of economists, and an international event list. A World Wide Web Virtual Library: Economics site.
International in scope, this free online service provides a variety of Web resources for education and research, evaluated and selected by a network of subject specialists. This site is searchable by keyword or you may browse by subject. Of particular interest is the subsection, Economics.
- International in scope, this free online service provides a variety of Web resources for education and research, evaluated and selected by a network of subject specialists. This site is searchable by keyword or you may browse by subject. Of particular interest is the subsection, Economics.
BUEC BUZZ: Information Resources for Business and Economics
The BUEC BUZZ highlights resources (Internet, electronic, or print) of interest to students and faculty in business and economics. For more information on the BUEC BUZZ, check out our information page. Or—go directly to the BUEC BUZZ 'blog where you can read the latest posts and subscribe to our feed via your favourite Blog reader/RSS aggregator.
Demography & Population Studies
A World Wide Web Virtual Library site which keeps track of leading information facilities of value and/or significance to researchers in the field of demography.
- A World Wide Web Virtual Library site which keeps track of leading information facilities of value and/or significance to researchers in the field of demography.
- Detailed link site from the Econometrics Journal.
Econometric Resources on the Internet
- Provides links to data files, econometric software, and other useful resources.
Handbook of Econometrics
Available online and in print (Bennett Library HB 139 H36). Volume One covers mathematical and statistical methods in econometrics, econometric models, and estimation and computation. Volume Two includes sections on testing, time series topics, and special topics in econometrics. Special topics continue in Volume Three, along with a discussion of selected applications and uses of econometrics. Finally, the fourth volume covers econometric theory and theory and methods of dependent processors.
- Available online and in print (Bennett Library HB 139 H36). Volume One covers mathematical and statistical methods in econometrics, econometric models, and estimation and computation. Volume Two includes sections on testing, time series topics, and special topics in econometrics. Special topics continue in Volume Three, along with a discussion of selected applications and uses of econometrics. Finally, the fourth volume covers econometric theory and theory and methods of dependent processors.
Economic History Services
- Besides various files of data, list archives, syllabi, etc., this site features home pages for organizations in the field. They also operate an electronic abstracting service, Abstracts in Economic History, which is a searchable though, as yet, very limited free online index.
The History of Economic Thought
- A project of the Economics Department of the New School University, the History of Economic Thought features essays and surveys on various theories and schools of thought in economics, as well as Web links to other economic history sites and very brief bios (essentially short lists of publications) of many economists.
History of Economics: General Resources
- Links to resources on specific individuals, specific themes, archival resources, publications and other infomation from the EH.Net History of Economics site (provides online access to resources for teaching, scholarship and research in the history of economics and the history of economic thought).
McMaster University Archive for the History of Economic Thought
The History of Thought Archive represents an attempt to gather all material for the study of the history of economics at one site. This includes both primary texts, studies of those texts and of their authors.
- The History of Thought Archive represents an attempt to gather all material for the study of the history of economics at one site. This includes both primary texts, studies of those texts and of their authors.
Economic and Game Theory
- Created by UCLA Economics professor, David Levine, this site contains many useful resources for game theory, including a collection of working papers and bibliographies.
Vanderbilt professor Mike Shor has created a site rich in resource material for both educators and students of game theory and its applications to economics, business, political science, computer science, and other disciplines. Included are lecture notes, references to books and links to tests and quizzes.
- Vanderbilt professor Mike Shor has created a site rich in resource material for both educators and students of game theory and its applications to economics, business, political science, computer science, and other disciplines. Included are lecture notes, references to books and links to tests and quizzes.
See the related guides:
Foreign Affairs and International Trade
- A collection of information from Canaada's Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade including trade agreements, information for exporters and links to other resources.
International Development Research Centre (IDRC)
- A public corporation created by the Canadian government to help communities in the developing world find solutions to social, economic, and environmental problems through research. This site has research reports and links to internet resources on development.
International Institute for Management Development
- An independent not-for-profit foundation located in Lausanne, Switzerland whose research aims to help executives and companies to find new and innovative ways to sustain global competitiveness. Site contains information on current research, publications, and the online version of the World Competitiveness Yearbook.
SFU Library Guide: International Marketing Research
- A large collection of links and search tips. Although it is aimed at marketing students, many of the links cover international economic indicators and trade information.
WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
- Links to information on area studies, countries, development, international economics, international trade, journals and newspapers and more.
The Labour Economics Gateway (LEG)
- A project of a PhD student in Economics at the Centre for Population, Poverty, and Public Policy Studies in Luxembourg, the Labour Economics Gateway has links to Statistics & Datasets, Research Centres, Documents & Journals, and Labour Economists home pages. It also has a discussion forum and a list of conference calls.
- Offered by the International Labor Organization, LABORSTA allows you to view and extract data such as yearly data which go towards publishing the ILO Yearbook of Labour Statistics, economically active population estimates and active employment by sex.
- Access statistical databases, including employment figures, through the Statistics tab at the top of the page and browse for data using the menu on the left side of the screen.
UNIDO: Industrial Statistics Database
- Available only within the library through public computers, this database provides access to industrial statistics at the 3-digit level of Revision 2 of the International Standard Industrial classification of All Economic Activities (ISIC).
Environmental Information Sites
- Links to a wide variety of information useful for Environmental Economics.
EnviroLink:The Online Environmental Community
- One of the world's largest environmental clearing houses, EnviroLink includes provides links to thousands of environmental resources including government agencies, organizations and publications.
International Institute for Sustainable Development
- Established in 1990 with continuing financial support from Environment Canada, CIDA and the Province of Manitoba. The site contains policy analysis, research reports, information for businesses, and measurement indicators for sustainable development.
- Resource and Environmental Management Information Resources
- SFU Library guide to REM resources.
Statistical Resources on the Web: Environment
- Links to environmental statistics from around the world compiled by the University of Michigan document centre.
- Sustainable Development
WWW Virtual Library site from the Center for Economic and Social Studies on the Environment, Universite Libre de Bruxelles. A comprehensive list of internet sites dealing with sustainable development, including organisations, projects and activities, electronic journals, libraries, references and documents, databases, directories or metadatabases.