Indian Diaspora Information Resources: Facts & Data

Contents

Maps
Statistics

Maps

  • The Bombay almanack [electronic resource], and register, for the year of Lord 1798.
  • The East-India gazetteer [electronic resource] : containing particular descriptions of the empires, kingdoms, principalities ... of Hindostan, and the adjacent countries, India beyond the Ganges, and the Eastern Archipelgo, together with sketches of the manners, customs, institutions, agriculture ... of their various inhabitants / by Walter Hamilton. 2d ed, 2 vols, 1828.
  • A gazetteer of the countries adjacent to India on the north-west [electronic resource] : including Sinde, Afghanistan, Beloochistan, the Punjab and the neighbouring states : compiled by the authority of the hon. court of directors of the East-India Company and chiefly from documents in their possession / by Edward Thornton.
  • A gazetteer of the territories under the government of the East-India Company, and of the native states on the continent of India / compiled by the authority of the Hon. Court of Directors, and chiefly from documents in their possession, by Edward Thornton. Bennett Library DS 405 T5 1858
  • The imperial gazetteer of India [electronic resource]. 26 vols, University of Chicago, [1908-1931] (free web)
  • Punjab district gazetteers. 12 vols. Bennett Library DS 485 P16 A43 1970

Back to Table of Contents


Statistics

Canada
United States
International
General Worldwide

See also the Library's Guides to: Statistics Sources, Statistics - BC and Statistics Canada, Economic Indicators

The Library has many statistical yearbooks for countries, regions, and international organizations. Search the catalogue using the keywords "statistical (yearbook or abstract)" and the country, region, or organization name, e.g., "statistical (yearbook or abstract) Latin America."

Canada

Back to Table of Contents


United States

  • Fedstats - over 70 agencies in the United States Federal Government.
  • US Bureau of the Census. -detailed US socio-economic statistics based on the US Census and other surveys.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States: HA 202 A2 ( recommended). Updated annually, provides detailed source notes so you can locate the original source from which the tables are composed. Largely federal, also many relevant state-level tables. Note! Tables within one edition do not necessarily correspond to tables containing the same information in another edition. Table numbering varies from edition to edition.
  •  
  • Historical Statistics of the United States: fully searchable database. Can graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets.

Back to Table of Contents


International

Back to Table of Contents


General and World-wide

  • Demography & Population Studies - A World Wide Web Virtual Library site, this provides links to demographic information facilities and resources world-wide.
  • Europa World
  • International historical statistics : Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000. Bennett Reference HA 4675 M552 2003
  • International historical statistics : Europe, 1750-2000. Bennett Reference HA 1107 M5 2003
  • International historical statistics : the Americas, 1750-2000. Bennett Reference HA 175 M55 2003
  • Provides information about each country in the world in a standardized format. Brief statistical information.
  • Index to international statistics : IIS. 1983-  Bennett Reference Indexes HA 155 I58
  • Research Data Library - SFU Library's collection of machine-readable files, including Cansim, Citibase, IMF statistics, social science data files from many national and international sources, and data from individual researchers and private organizations. Check the Research Data Library Catalogue for a list of data files.
  • SourceOECD - Click the Statistics tab, browse contents on the left side of the screen for available databases.
  • Statistical abstract of the world. Belzberg Reference and Bennett Library, HA 155 S7 1997
  • Statistical Resources on the Web - (Univ Michigan Library), this site links to statistical resources on a wide variety of topics from all around the world.