African Diaspora Information Resources: Additional Resources
Contents
Associations & organizations
Directories of Websites
Government information (Canada, U.S., International)
Associations and organizations
- Black Historical & Cultural Society of British Columbia
- Organizing Black America : an encyclopedia of African American associations. 2001 E 185.5 O74 2001
- Ontario Black History Society
- Other general:
- Eldis Gateway to Development Information -full text documents, from over 4,500 different publishers. 30 subject-focused guides by topics including their "gender guide";
- Mediawatch MediaWatch is a national, not for profit feminist organization working to eliminate sexism in the media.
- National Action Committee on the Status of Women (NAC) - Canada
Directories of websites
- Africa Resource Knowledge Project - s an academic resource that offers journals and databases
- African Canadian Online - York University
- African American Studies Research Bibliography. Yale University Library
- Diversity Watch - Black. Ryerson University School of Journalism
- Hip-Hop Archives. W.E.B.DuBois Institute for Afro-American Research. Harvard University.
- National Library of Canada. Black Canadians. - an online guide maintained by NLC, below are links as of Dec 19/03.
-
- African Americans - Canadians (AfricanAmericans.com)
Africville - Expropriating Nova Scotia's Blacks (CBC Archives)
Black Canadian and Afro-American Web Sites (Dalhousie University Libraries) - Black Loyalists
Black Loyalists - Our History, Our People - CanadaNoir - the Most Comprehensive Source of Afro-Canadian Content on the Net
Canadian Black Heritage in the Third Millennium
OBHS Online - Ontario Black History Society Archives
Ontario Black Anti-Racist Research Institute
Ontario's Underground Railroad - Remembering Black Loyalists, Black Communities in Nova Scotia
Sense of Belonging - Somali Settlement Experiences in Canada - Underground Railroad - Niagara's Freedom Trail
Underground Railroad Years - Canada in an International Arena
Ward Chipman Slavery Brief 1800
- African Americans - Canadians (AfricanAmericans.com)
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. New York Public Library.
Government information
Canada
- Canadian Research Index - Includes federal, provincial and municipal government publications. Keep track of the Microlog Report number and find the report on fiche on 6th floor. Alternatively, search the department site, online.
- Library Archives Canada, Archives Search engine e.g. search for "nurses" for archives/fonds related to them
- Celebrating women's achievements, The Call to Duty - from the fonds of six Canadian nursing sisters.
- Library of Parliament - Parliamentary Information and Research Service Publications - Briefs on issues, Bills, etc. E.g.
United States
- GPO Access - A well-organized list of U.S. government sites by topic.
- US Census Bureau - Get current industrial and demographic reports, economic census data, foreign trade analysis, and much more. Statistical Abstracts of the United States
- US Department of Labor — Bureau of Labor Statistics
Government - International
- Asian Development Bank -
- United Nations
- Search: U.N. Economic and Social Development Website -
- International Instruments and Treaty Bodies - legal instruments, conventions and other relevant international standards of particular importance to women's human rights and gender equality
- United Nations Entities Specializing in Gender Issues:
-
- UNIFEM - United Nations Development Fund for Women
- Women Watch (U.N. Inter-Agency Network on Women and Gender Equality (IANWGE) -
- United Nations - World Health Organization, Country Profiles
