Law Reports Available at SFU Library

If you need help, please contact Yolanda Koscielski, Liaison Librarian for Criminology, Engineering, and Computing Science at 778.782.3315 or ysk6@sfu.ca or Ask a librarian.

 

 

About this guide: This guide provides a detailed listing of the Law Reports you have access to via SFU Library, in print and/or online. Most Canadian law reports can be found online now in free sources such as CanLii and court websites, or subscription sources such as LawSource.
 
If you are looking for information on finding specific legal cases by name or by topic, please refer to our Legal Research Guide.
 
Definition: Law reports are reports of a judge's decision in a legal case. They are often referred to as case law or judgments. Law reports written by official reporters contain a headnote which summarizes the report as well as some key terms at the top of the case which can help you quickly determine the report's content.
 
Cases may be reported or unreported. Cases are reported when they are deemed to be significant (aka leading cases). However, unreported cases are also available via sources such as LawSource, BestCase and LexisNexis. These unreported cases are unedited versions of judgments and may lack a headnote and contain incorrect citations or typos. As these cases have not been deemed legally significant enough to be officially reported, they are not treated with the same editorial scrutiny as reported cases. Before a law report is distributed via a law reporter or a database, it is referred to as a reason for decision.
 
Several reporters may be reporting on the same case. The main content should be identical, regardless of reporter.
 
Recency: Databases continually upgrade or drop content, so it's worth double-checking coverage scope on individual case law databases .

 

* Indicates LawSource coverage of non-Carswell reporters goes back to 1977 and tribunal decisions appearing in these reporters back to 1997.

Canadian law reports

A / B / C / D / E / F / G / H / I / J / K / L / M / N / O / P / Q / R / S / T / U / V / W / X / Y / Z

A
Administrative Law Reports
Abbreviation: Admin L.R.
Online: LawSource 1983-
Alberta Court of Appeal
Online: 2004 -

Alberta Labour Relations Board Reports *
Abbreviation: Alta. L.R.B.R
Online: LawSource

Alberta Law Reports *
Abbreviation: Alta. L.R.
Online: LawSource 1908-1933;1977-
Alberta Provincial Court
Online: 2004 -
B

British Columbia Court of Appeal
Online: January 1990-

British Columbia Decisions. Labour Arbitration
Abbreviation: B.C.D.L.A.
Bennett Library HD 5508 B7 B74 1982-2008
British Columbia Law Reports
Abbreviation: B.C.L.R.
Bennett Library KEB 104 B751 1977-2008
Online: LawSource 1977-
British Columbia Reports
Abbreviation: B.C.R.
Bennett Library KEB 104 B75 1867-1947
Online: 1867-1948
British Columbia Supreme Court
Online: January 1990-
British Columbia Tax Reporter
Abbreviation: B.C.T.R.
Bennett Reference HJ 3374 B8 C65 1971-2009
Business Law Reports
Abbreviation: B.L.R.
Bennett Library HF 1278 B8
Online: LawSource 1977-2008
C

Canada Federal Court Reports
Abbreviation: F.C.
Bennett Library KE 142 1971 C35 1971-2003
Online: 1997-2001 (selective, with a few pre-1997), 2001-

Canada G.S.T. Cases
Abbreviation: G.S.T.C.
Online: LawSource 1992-
Canada Industrial Relations Board *
Abbreviation: C.I.R.B.
Online: LawSource
Canada Law Reports (Ex. Ct.)
Abbreviation: Ex.C.R.
Lam Collection KE 142 1923 C35 1923-1970

Canada Law Reports, Supreme Court of Canada
Abbreviation: S.C.R.
Bennett Library KE 140 1878 C35 / KE 140 1923 C35 / KE 140 1970 C35 1878-

Online: 1876-1945 (selective); 1946-

Canada Tax Cases
Abbreviation: C.T.C.
Bennett Library: HJ 3370.5 C4 and HJ 3370.5 C42
Online: LawSource 1917-
Canadian Bankruptcy Reports
Abbreviation: C.B.R.
Online: LawSource 1920-
Canadian Cases on Employment Law
Abbreviation: C.C.E.L.
Bennett Library HD 7837 C58
Online: LawSource 1983-
Canadian Cases on Pensions and Benefits
Abbreviation: C.C.P.B.
Online: LawSource 1994-
Canadian Cases on the Law of Insurance
Abbreviation: C.C.L.I.
Online: LawSource 1983-
Canadian Cases on the Law of Securities (discontinued)
Abbreviation: C.C.L.S.
Online: LawSource 1994-1998
Canadian Cases on the Law of Torts
Abbreviation: C.C.L.T.
Online: LawSource 1976-
Canadian Criminal Cases
Abbreviation: C.C.C.
Bennett Library KE 8805.8 C35
Online: Lexis-Nexis Full-text decisions from 1987; headnotes only from 1971
Online: LawSource 1970-
Canadian Environmental Law Reports
Abbreviation: C.E.L.R.
Online: LawSource 1987-
Canadian Human Rights Reporter *
Abbreviation: C.H.R.R.
Bennett Library JC 599 C2 C32
Online: LawSource
Canadian Intellectual Property Reports (discontinued)
Abbreviation: C.I.P.R.
Online: LawSource 1984-1990
Canadian Labour Arbitration Summaries
Abbreviation: C.L.A.S.
Bennett Library HD 5508 A3 C3
Canadian Labour Law Cases *
Abbreviation: C.L.L.C.
Bennett Library HD 7837 C6 1944-1996
Online: LawSource
Canadian Labour Law Reporter
Abbreviation: C.L.L.R.
Bennett Library HD 7837 C7
Canadian Labour Relations Boards Reports *
Abbreviation: C.L.R.B.R.
Bennett Library HD 5507 C35
Online: LawSource
Canadian Law Times
Abbreviation: C.L.T.
Bennett Library Microform Periodicals1881-1922
Canadian Native Law Bulletin
Abbreviation: C.N.L.R.
Bennett Library E 92 C36
Canadian Native Law Cases
Abbreviation: C.N.L.R.
Bennett Library E 92 S63
Online: Canadian Native Law Cases1763-1978
Canadian Native Law Reporter *
Abbreviation: C.N.L.R.
Bennett Library E 92 C361
Online: LawSource
Canadian Patent Reporter *
Abbreviation: C.P.R.
Online: LawSource
Canadian Reports, Appeal Cases
Abbreviation: C.R.A.C.
Online: LawSource 1871-1878; 1912-1913
Canadian Rights Reporter *
Abbreviation: C.R.R.
Online: LawSource
Canadian Sales Tax Reporter
Abbreviation: Can.S.T.R.
Bennett Library HJ 5715 C2 C6
Abbreviation: Can.S.L.R.
Canadian Securities Law Reporter
Bennett Reference HG 5154 C65
Canadian Transport Cases
Abbreviation: C.T.C.
Lam Collection HE 215 A15 C25
Carswell's Practice Cases
Abbreviation: C.P.C.
Online: LawSource 1976-
Construction Law Reports
Abbreviation: C.L.R.
Online: LawSource 1983-
Court Martial Appeal Reports
Abbreviation: C.M.A.R.
Lam Collection UB 855 C2 A2
Coutlee's Canada Supreme Court Cases
Abbreviation: Cout. S.C.
Online: LawSource 1875-1906
Criminal Reports
Abbreviation: C.R.
Bennett Library KE 8805.8 C75
Online: LawSource 1946-
D
Dominion Law Reports *
Abbreviation: D.L.R.
Bennett Library KE 132 D65
Online: Lexis Nexis Full-text decisions from 1987; headnotes only from 1955.
Dominion Report Service
Abbreviation: D.R.S.
Bennett Library KE 132.2 D65
Dominion Tax Cases *
Abbreviation: D.T.C.
Bennett Library HJ 13 A4
Online: LawSource
E
Eastern Law Reporter
Abbreviation: E.L.R.
Online: LawSource 1906-1914
Estates and Trusts Reports
Abbreviation: E.T.R.
Online: LawSource 1977-
F
Federal Trial Reports *
Abbreviation: F.T.R.
Online: LawSource

Fox Patent Cases
Abbreviation: Fox Pat.C
Online: LawSource 1940-1971

I
Immigration Appeal Cases
Abbreviation: I.A.C.
Lam Collection JV 7242 C35
Immigration Law Reporter
Abbreviation: Imm.L.R.
Online: LawSource 1987-
Insurance Law Reporter *
Abbreviation: I.L.R.
Online: LawSource
L
Labour Arbitration Cases *
Abbreviation: L.A.C.
Bennett Library HD 5508 A3 L23 [1948 -]
Online: LawSource
Land Compensation Reports *
Abbreviation: L.C.R.
Bennett Library and Lam Collection HD 1158 C3 L35
Online: LawSource
M
Manitoba Reports *
Abbreviation: Man.R
Online: LawSource
Maritime Provinces Reports
Abbreviation: M.P.R.
Online: LawSource 1929-1968
Motor Vehicle Reports
Abbreviation: M.V.R.
Online: LawSource 1977-
Municipal and Planning Law Reports
Abbreviation: M.P.L.R.
Online: LawSource 1976-
N
National Reporter *
Abbreviation: N.R
Online: LawSource
New Brunswick Reports *
Abbreviation: N.B.R.
Online: LawSource 1867-1929
Newfoundland and Prince Edward Island Reports *
Abbreviation: P.E.I.R.
Online: LawSource
Northwest Territories Reports
Abbreviation: N.W.T.R.
Online: LawSource 1983-1998
Nova Scotia Reports
Abbreviation: N.S.R.
Online: LawSource 1886-1929
O
Ontario Appeal Cases *
Abbreviation: O.A.C.
Online: LawSource
Ontario Court of Appeal
Online: January 1998-
Ontario Labour Relations Board Reports *
Abbreviation: O.L.R.B.Rep.
Online: LawSource
Ontario Municipal Board Reports *
Abbreviation: O.M.B.R.
Online: LawSource
Ontario Practice Reports
Abbreviation: P.R.
Online: LawSource 1896-1904
Ontario Reports
Abbreviation: O.R.
Bennett Library KEO 117.4 O57
Online: LawSource 1935-
Ontario Weekly Reporter
Abbreviation: O.W.R.
Online: LawSource 1902-1916
P
Pension Review Board Reports
Abbreviation: P.R.B.R.
Lam Collection UB 375 C2 C26
Personal Property Security Act Cases
Abbreviation: P.P.S.A.C.
Online: LawSource 1977-
Public Service Staff Relations Board Decisions
Abbreviation: P.S.S.R.B.
Bennett Library HD 5507 P82
Online: PSLRB-Decisions by Year
R
Real Property Reports
Abbreviation: R.P.R.
Online: LawSource 1977-
Reports of Family Law
Abbreviation: R.F.L.
Bennett Library HQ 559 R47
Online: LawSource 1971-
Reports of Family Law, Reprint Series
Abbreviation: R.F.L.Rep.
Bennett Library: HQ 559 R465
Online: LawSource 1824-1970
S
Saskatchewan Law Reports
Abbreviation: Sask.L.R.
Online: LawSource 1916-1931
Saskatchewan Reports *
Abbreviation: Sask.R.
Online: LawSource

Supreme Court of Canada

Online: LawSource 1875-

T
Tariff Board Reports
Abbreviation: T.B.R.
Lam Collection HF 1761 C25

Tax Appeal Board Cases
Abbreviation: Tax A.B.C.
Lam Collection HJ 13 A38
Online: LawSource 1949-1971

W
Weekly Criminal Bulletin
Abbreviation: W.C.B.
Bennett Reference Index KE 8802 W44
Western Labour Arbitration Cases
Abbreviation: W.L.A.C
Bennett Library HD 5508 B7 W48
Western Law Reporter
Abbreviation: W.L.R.
Online: LawSource 1905-1916
Western Weekly Reports
Abbreviation: W.W.R.
Bennett Library KE 156.2 W4
Online: LawSource 1911-
Workplace Safety & Insurance Appeals Tribunal Reporter *
Abbreviation: W.S.I.A.T.R.
Online: LawSource
Y
Yukon Reports *
Abbreviation: Y.R.
Online: LawSource
 
* Indicates LawSource coverage of reporters back to 1977 and tribunal decisions appearing in these reporters back to 1997.
Back to top

 

UK/English law reports

All-England Law Reports.
Abbreviation: A.E.R. / All E.R. / All E.R. Rep.
Bennett Library and Lam Collection KD 288 A64 A38
Criminal Appeal Reports. 1908-
Abbreviation: Cr. App. R.
Bennett Library and Lam Collection KD 7865 A2 C7
English Reports.
Abbreviation: E.R.
Bennett Library Microforms Classified KD 02 2
Law Reports. Admiralty and Ecclesiastical Cases. [1865-1875]
Abbreviation: L.R. A. and E.
Lam Collection KD 279.2 A25
Law Reports. Appeal Cases. House of Lords.
Abbreviation: A.C. / L.R. App. Cas. / L.R.A.C.
Bennett Library and Lam Collection KD 275.4 L36
Law Reports. Chancery Appeal Division. 1865-
Abbreviation: L.R.Ch.App. / L.R.Ch.D / L.R.Ch.
Lam Collection KD 276 A25
Law Reports. Chancery Division.
Abbreviation: L.R.Ch.App. / L.R.Ch.D / L.R.Ch.
Bennett Library and Lam Collection KD 276.3 A25
Law Reports. Commmon Pleas / Division. 1865-1880.
Abbreviation: L.R.C.P. / L.R.C.P.D.
Lam Collection KD 277.3 A25 and KD 277.4 A25
Law Reports. Crown Cases Reserved. 1865-1875.
Abbreviation: L.R.C.C.R.
Lam Collection KD 8256 A25
Law Reports. English and Irish Appeals. [1866-1875].
Abbreviation: L.R.H.L.
Lam Collection KD 275 L36
Law Reports. Equity Cases. [1866-1875]..
Abbreviation: L.R.Eq.
Lam Collection KD 276.2 A25
Law Reports. Exchequer Division.
Abbreviation: L.R.Eq. / L.R.Ex.D.
Lam Collection KD 277.6 A25
Law Reports. Family Division.
Abbreviation: L.R.Fam.
Bennett Library and Lam Collection KD 279.4 L36
Law Reports. Privy Council Appeals. [1865-1875].
Abbreviation: L.R.P.C.
Lam Collection KD 275.3 L36
Law Reports. Probate and Divorce. .
Abbreviation: L.R.P and D.
Lam Collection KD 279 A25
Law Reports. Probate, Divorce and Admiralty Division.
Abbreviation: L.R.P.D. / L.R.P.
Lam Collection KD 279.3 A25
Law Reports. King's / Queen's Bench.
Abbreviation: L.R.Q.B / L.R.Q.B.D. / L.R.K.B
Bennett Library and Lam Collection KD 277 A25 and KD 277.7 A25
Law Reports. Scotch and Divorce Appeals. [1866-1875].
Abbreviation: L.R.Sc. and Div.
Lam Collection KD 275.2 L36
Revised Reports. 1785-1866.
Abbreviation: R.R.
Lam Collection KD 270 R45

Weekly Law Reports. 1977-
Abbreviation: W.L.R.
Bennett Library and Lam Collection KD 282 W44

Back to top

United States and other international law reports

Common Market Law Reports.
Abbreviation: C.M.L.R.
Bennett Library and Lam Collection KXF 20 E802 C65
Common Market Law Reports. Anti-Trust Supplement Reports.
Abbreviation: C.M.L.R.
Bennett Library and Lam Collection KXF 20 E802 C66 / KXF 20 E802 C661
[U.S.] Federal Communication Commission Reports.
Abbreviation: F.C.C.
Microforms Classified HE 044 114
U.S. Supreme Court. United States Reports. 1923-1982.
Abbreviation: U.S.
Microforms Classified KF 02 1 (1923-1951) / KF 044 1 (1950-1976) / Lam Collection KF 101.1 U5 (1950, 1977-1982)
Online: Findlaw: U.S. Supreme Court Opinions

For other international and American state and federal law reports and court decisions, use the database Online: Lexis-Nexis.

 

 Back to top