Forensic Science Information Resources
If you need help, please contact Yolanda Koscielski, Liaison Librarian for Criminology, Engineering, and Computing Science at 778.782.3315 or ysk6@sfu.ca or Ask a librarian.
This guide lists selected print and electronic forensic information sources available to SFU faculty, students, and staff. It provides supplementary information to the main Criminology Research Guide.
Table of Contents
Background information
Encyclopedias are a great resource for gaining an overview of a topic before you delve into more in-depth research. They may also point you to key terminology, authors, and articles/books in your research area.
- Encyclopedia of DNA and the United States Criminal Justice System. Bennett Library RA 1057.55 P34 2004
- Encyclopedia of Forensic and Legal Medicine.
- Encyclopedia of Forensic Science. Bennett & Surrey Reference HV 8073 B425 2004
- Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences. Bennett & Surrey Reference HV 8073 E58 2000. 3 vols.
- Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences: A Compendium of Detective Facts and Fiction. Bennett Reference HV 8073 C595 2002
- Encyclopedia of Insects 2009. Bennett Library QL 462.3 E485 2003
- Forensic Science: An Illustrated Dictionary. Bennett Reference HV 8073 B677 2004
- Forensic Science Glossary. Bennett Reference HV 8073 B74 2000
- Forensic Science Handbook. 2nd ed. Bennett Reference HV 8073 F585 2002
- Handbook of Digital Forensics and Investigation.
- Handbook of Forensic Psychology 2nd ed. Bennett Library RA 1148 H36 2004
- World of Forensic Science
This above list of dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks is not comprehensive. You might also be interested in the forensic entries found in the general Criminology encylopedias and dictionaries listing.
Or, try keyword searches in the catalogue using terms such as encyclopedia forensic or forensic handbook to find the latest encyclopedias, handbooks, and books.
Books
New resources in Forensic Sciences
- All new books and other resources at the SFU Library are listed and updated weekly on the New Library Acquisitions page.
- Search in the catalogue or Fast Search to find books on your topic--both will provide you with the same print and e-book titles.
- Browse FORENSICnetBASE, a collection of ebooks on topics such as arson & fire investigation, computer crime investigation, forensic pathology, and more
Journal articles
Use these indexes to locate journal articles on your topic.
Top Resources
Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus unites Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the Anthropological Index Online from the Royal Anthropological Institute. The resource indexes material relating to anthropology and archaeology.
BIOSIS Citation Index
BIOSIS Citation Index is the world's most comprehensive reference database for life science research.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Index to all aspects of criminal justice, including psychological.
FORENSICnetBASE / LawENFORCEMENTnetBASE
E-books on forensic science from CRC Press.
Medline
MEDLINE® (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains approximately 13 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service
All aspects of law enforcement, crime prevention and security, criminal justice, and juvenile justice.
Primal Pictures Interactive Anatomy
The most complete, detailed and accurate 3D model of human anatomy.
PsycINFO
A comprehensive database used for research in the field of psychology. References books, articles, and other documents.
Web of Science
A combined search of all of the Web of Science Citation indexes.
Zoological Record plus Zoological Record Archive
All aspects of animal research.
Statistics
Search in the catalogue by these subject headings for books on statistical analysis for forensic scientists:
Sources for Crime and Justice Statistics
Featured Resource
Primal Pictures Interactive Anatomy
Primal Pictures is a detailed and accurate 3D model of human anatomy. The database contains rotatable 3D models of the human body and anatomical layers which may be stripped away. Also included are common pathologies.
Associations and organizations
Association and organization websites often provide conference proceedings, lists of essential readings on specific forensics topics, acitivities of the society and accreditation requirements, and other helpful information. Highlighted associations:
- American Academy of Forensic Sciences
- American Society of Crime Laboratory Directors
- American Board of Criminalistics
- American Society of Forensic Odontology
- Canadian Identification Society
- Canadian Society of Forensic Sciences
- Entomological Society of America
- Entomological Society of B.C.
- Entomological Society of Canada
- International Association of Identification
- The Society of Forensic Toxicologists
- US fish and Wildlife Service Forensics Lab
There are too many organizations to list here; please review the American Academy of Forensic Science's list of organizations for many more specific organizations, e.g., The Fingerprint Society.
Web Portals
- The Library of Congress's bibliography of forensic information sources. Essential readings, subject headings, associations, government documents, technical reports.
- Crime Scene Investigation. Web portal to many free online readings.
- Forensic Pathology Index. A series of images demonstrating gross and microscopic pathological findings.
- Zeno's Forensic Page. Web portal with 1000+ rated links.
Government Publications
With no comprehensive, centralized location that stores all government publications, searching for this information can be somewhat daunting. However, there are two key strategies for locating on-topic publications:
- Search a database that specifically indexes government documents
- Search specific government departmental websites for publications
Canada
Key databases for government-authored forensics information
- Canadian Public Policy Collection
- Canadian Research Index
- British Columbia Government Publications Index. Then, check our catalogue to see if SFU Library has the publication.
Select Departments
- Public Safety Canada
- Sample report from Public Safety Canada: 2007 - 2008 Second Evaluation of the National DNA Bank Program
- Correctional Service of Canada
- British Columbia Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General
United States
Select Departments
- National Institute of Justice
- Sample report from NIJ: Test Results for Mobile Device Acquisition Tool (January 2011)
- U.S. Department of Justice
- U.S. Department of Justice: Office of the Inspector General - Special Reports

