Canadian Case Law
If you need help, please contact Yolanda Koscielski, Liaison Librarian for Criminology, Engineering, and Computing Science at 778.782.3315 or ysk6@sfu.ca or Ask a librarian.
1. Case citations
2. Current case law
3. Cases judicially considered
4. Statutes judicially considered
5. Rules judicially considered
6. Words and phrases
7. Quantums
The following list, compiled by the British Columbia Court House Library Society, has been edited to include only those publications available in Simon Fraser University Library.
Generally, the Canadian encyclopedic digest, with its clear subject arrangement and methods of updating, is a first class research tool. Similarly, Dominion report service is an excellent source for cases before 1990. Most law reports have cumulated indexes with many of the same features as the Abridgment: tables of cases, digests of cases, cases considered, statutes considered, rules considered, words and phrases considered.
The arrangement of the list that follows corresponds to the components of the Abridgment, Canadian current law and Canadian citations.
1. Case citations
| Canadian abridgment, third edition.. Consolidated table of cases. 1990- |
LawSource |
| Dominion report service: consolidated finding lists : case table, statute citator and topical index. 1968-1990. Provides easy access to case citations found in the digest listed below for 1968-1990. |
Bennett Library KE 132.2 D6532 |
| Dominion report service: digests of reported Canadian court decisions. 1962-1990. | Bennett Library KE 132.2 D65 |
Case citations : Law reports
Check the "table of cases" in index volumes to various subject and regional law reports, for example:
British Columbia law reports (B.C.L.R.) : KEB 104 B751
Canadian criminal cases (C.C.C.) : KE 8805.8 C35
Criminal reports (C.R.) : KE 8805.8 C75
Reports of family law (R.F.L.) : HQ 559 R47
Western weekly reports (W.W.R.) : KE 156.2 W4
Online access to these and other law reports is available through LawSource
Case Citations : Loose-leaf services
Consult the "table of cases" in various loose-leaf services, for example:
| The Canadian Charter of Rights, annotated. 1982- | Bennett Reference JC 599 C2 C363 |
2. Current case law
| Dominion report service: digests of reported Canadian court decisions. 1962-1990. Digests Canadian cases from 1968-1990. |
Bennett Library KE 132.2 D65 |
| Canadian encyclopedic digest, Western. 3d ed. Organized by subject titles dealing with specific areas of law. Presents statements of law in the form of paragraphs substantiated by a footnoted reference to case law or legislation. |
LawSource |
| Weekly criminal bulletin. 1976- This is a weekly service of case summaries. Each annual volume contains a list of cases and a subject index. The weekly summaries have a list of cases and the summaries are arranged by subject. |
Bennett Reference Index KE 8802 W44 |
Current case law : Canada. Supreme Court
| Reports of the Supreme Court of Canada. | KE 140 1878 C3 v. 1-64, 1878-1923 |
| Canada Law Reports. Canada. Supreme Court. | KE 140 1923 C35, 1923-1969 |
| Canada. Supreme Court. Reports. | KE 140 1970 C35, 1970- |
All of these law reports are extensively indexed by Supreme Court of Canada reports services, 2d ed. (Bennett Reference KE 140.3 S85). Access to the three series of Supreme Court of Canada reports is either by subject or by case name.
An online source of Supreme Court of Canada judgements from 1985 is available at the Université de Montréal (http://scc.lexum.org/en/).
Recently released Supreme Court of Canada Cases are available in LawSource
Current case law : Law reports
Consult the digests of cases in current volumes and paper parts of various subject and regional law reports, as listed above.
Current case law : Loose-leaf services
Consult the loose-leaf services for a particular subject area, for example:
| Canadian family law guide. 1978- | Bennett Reference HQ 560 C346 |
See also Canadian family law guide for an electronic version of this resource, available through the Lexis Nexis Database
3. Cases judicially considered
A brief note about the workings of the "annotations" section of the indexes of the various law reports:
The purpose of the annotations is twofold: first, to indicate the disposition of all appeals, including applications for leave to appeal, from any decision published in preceding volumes of law reports; and, secondly, to show all the occasions on which any case published in the law reports has been judicially considered in any subsequently reported case in any jurisdiction in Canada, and the nature of that consideration, i.e., followed or not followed, approved or disapproved, applied or distinguished, etc.
The format of the annotations has been designed on the assumption that the user knows the correct citation by volume and page number. On this assumption, no case names appear in the annotations section of the index. Instead, the cases are presented simply by reference to the volume and page number on which each one starts, chronologically through the law report series. The reader should to turn to the appropriate volume heading and the particular page number in that volume on which the case starts and will find there all the annotations to the case under consideration. For convenience, information concerning appeals is, in each case, given first even though the appeal(s) may have been reported after some, or even all, of the judicial considerations of the case.
| Dominion law reports: digests of reported Canadian decisions. 1968- Check the "annotations" section of the index. |
Bennett Library KE 132 D65 |
| Canadian criminal cases. 1971- Check the "annotations" section of the index. |
Bennett Library KE 8805.8 C35 |
Cases Judicially Considered : Law reports
Check the "cases considered" section of the indexes to the various subject and regional law reports, as listed above.
| The All-England law reports: Canadian supplement. 1977- Lists English cases considered in Canadian law reports since 1977 (the cases considered may be earlier). |
Lam Collection KD 288 A64 A38 |
| Canadian abridgment, second edition. Canadian case citations. 1867- Formerly titles Cases judicially considered. |
Bennett Reference Index KE 173 C3587 |
|
Updated Canadian abridgment, third edition available from |
LawSource |
4. Statutes judicially considered
| The British Columbia statute citator. 1979- Deals with the Revised Statutes of British Columbia, 1979. |
Bennett Reference KEB 60 B75 1979 |
| Statutes of British Columbia judicially considered. 1960-1978; 1980- | Bennett Reference KEB 58 A331 |
| The Canada statute citator. R.S.C. 1970 edition . | Bennett Library KE 106 C35 |
| The Canada statute citator. R.S.C. 1985 edition. Includes all federal public acts except the Criminal Code and the Income Tax Act. |
Bennett Reference KE 106 C35 1985 |
| Canadian statute citations. Covers federal, provincial and territorial legislation. Formerly titled Statutes judicially considered. |
Bennett Reference KE 173 C3586 |
| Crankshaw's Criminal Code of Canada, R.S.C. 1985. | Bennett Reference KE 8804.526 C73 1993 |
| Dominion report service: digests of reported Canadian court cases. 1962-1990. Includes a citator for the Criminal Code and the Bankruptcy Act. |
Bennett Reference Index KE 132.2 D65 |
| Martin's annual Criminal Code. 1955- The latest edition is in Bennett Reserves. SFU Library does not have a complete collection of Martin's Criminal Codes. |
Bennett Library KE 8804.523 A18 M35 |
Statutes judicially considered : Law reports
Consult the "statutes considered" section of the indexes of various subject and regional law reports, as listed above.
Statutes judicially considered : Loose-leaf services
Consult specialized loose-leaf services such as the following:
| Canadian divorce law and practice. 2d ed. 1986-1989. | Bennett Library HQ 838 A5 1986 |
| Young Offenders service. 1984- | Bennett Library HV 9096 C2 Y68 |
| The Canadian Charter of Rights, annotated. 1982- | Bennett Reference JC 599 C2 C363 |
5. Rules judicially considered
| The conduct of civil litigation in B.C. 1978- | Bennett Library KEB 547.5 F73 |
Check the "rules considered" section of the indexes to various subject and regional law reports, as listed on page 1.
6. Words and phrases
| The dictionary of canadian law. | Bennett & Surrey Reference KE 183 D852 2004 |
| Canadian law dictionary. 1980. | Bennett Reference KE 183 C37 |
| The encyclopedia of words and phrases, legal maxims. 5th ed., 1986- | Bennett Reference KE 183 E53 2005 |
Consult the "words and phrases considered" section of the indexes to various subject and regional law reports, as listed above.
7. Quantums
Quantums specify the amount of compensation given to a party, or in the case of criminal law, the sentence imposed. This latin word literally translates to of what size or amount.
Quantums: Personal injury
|
Quantum of Damages in Personal Injury Law Cases - Topical |
Access via QuickLaw. Enter the word quantum in the Find a Source search box that shows up on the default search screen when you log in to QuickLaw. |
Quantums: Personal injury and death
| Goldsmith's damages for personal injury and death in Canada . 1976-1989. Contains the same information as the "Quantum Personal Injury and Death" section of Canadian current law but is about three issues behind Canadian current law. |
Bennett Library Bennett Reference |
Quantums: Sentencing
| Canadian sentencing digest. 1980- Contains the same information as the "Quantum - Sentencing" section of Canadian current law but is about three issues behind Canadian current law . |
Bennett Reference KE 9355 A54 N33 |
