Criminology: Background Information
Bibliographies
Oxford Bibliographies Online lists key readings on a wide range of specific Criminology topics; this is an excellent way to become immersed in your topic.
Dictionaries
Reference
- DSM-IV-TR® Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Includes the current and archival versions.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias may be either print or online. Online encyclopedias may be searched individually, or, oftentimes, multiple titles can be searched simultaneously. It is often helpful to begin researching a topic by reading an encyclopedia entry before you delve into the very specific journal articles.
Criminology Encyclopedia Collections - Online:
- The Sage eReference collection includes a Criminology and Criminal Justice package with approximately. 11 titles. Select the Criminology and Criminal Justice link once you log in.
- The Gale Virtual Reference Library includes multiple Criminology reference sources, plus many encyclopedias on psychology, race, gender, and the social sciences--too many to list here. Search the Gale Criminology Subcollection to search across a number of Criminology encyclopedias at once.
- The Credo Reference package (a collection of 100+ online encyclopedias) also contains a number of Criminology encyclopedias, such as the Encyclopedia of Intelligence & Counterintelligence.
Criminology Encyclopedias - Print:
- Crime and the justice system in America: an encyclopedia. Bennett Reference HV 6789 C6884 1997
- Encyclopedia of criminology. Bennett & Surrey Reference. HV 6017 E5295 2005. 3 vols.
- Encyclopedia of forensic sciences. Bennett & Surrey Reference HV 8073 E58 2000. 3 vols.
- Encyclopedia of police science. Bennett & Surrey Reference HV 7901 E53 2007. 2 vols.
- Encyclopedia of prisons and correctional facilities. HV 9471 B675 2005. 2 vols.
- Encyclopedia of serial killers. Bennett Reference & Surrey Stacks HV 6245 N49 2006
- Encyclopedia of world crime: criminal justice, criminology, and law enforcement. Bennett Reference HV 6017 E54 1989. 6 vols.
There are encyclopedias published on almost every topic. Find encyclopedias in the catalogue by doing a keyword search for encyclopedia + your topic. For instance, a search for encyclopedia white collar yields these encyclopedias on white collar crime.
