Visual Arts Information Resources: Books & Articles
Starting your research
For general guidance or tips on doing your assignment(s), start your research here.
Library catalogue
Books, journals, DVDs and other media located in the SFU Library can be found using the library catalogue.
If you're new to using the library catalogue, visit our SFU Library Catalogue Search Guide.
For details about finding media such as DVDs, sound recordings, and images, consult the Media page of this guide.
Lists of new Contemporary Arts resources added to the SFU Library are updated on a monthly basis. You can also browse through lists of all resources added to the library within the last week or the last month.
Fine Arts Files
Exhibition notices, pamphlets and some clippings on art galleries and individual contemporary artists are located in the Fine Arts Files at the east end of the Fifth Floor, near the N classification for books. Consult the index at the beginning of the files to see which artists are included. You may borrow Fine Arts Files materials on special loan from the Bennett Library Reference Desk.
Journals and magazines
The print indexes and online databases will help you locate journal and magazine articles, and reviews of exhibitions or performances.
Print Indexes
- Art Index. 1929-1996. N 1 A76. Available online from 1984- (Art Full Text).
- Bibliography of the history of art. 1991-1999. Bennett Reference Index N 7510 B5. For earlier years, see RILA, international repertory of the literature of art., 1978-1989. N 7510 B4. Both are available online.
Databases
Key databases for Visual Arts articles and reviews:
- Art Full Text [formerly known as Art Index]: Indexing and full text for journal articles on all aspects and periods of art.
- Art Bibliographies Modern: International index to journal articles and exhibition catalogues on art and artists, from the late 19th C. to the present day.
- Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI): Index to literature on design and craft.
- Oxford Art Online: Comprehensive reference source on all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present day. Includes links to art images from galleries and museums around the world.
- Index to Art in Canada to 1930 Created by the National Gallery of Canada and Library & Archives Canada, this index includes works of art listed in Canadian exhibition, auction and collection catalogues, from 1823 (the date of the earliest catalogue so far identified) up to and including 1930.
For a full list of databases relevant to your research, see the Visual Arts databases list.
Electronic journals
Search the electronic journals database to find online editions of Visual Arts journals available through the SFU Library. Search by title keyword or subject, or browse the selected list of e-journals relating to Art .
