Theatre Information Resources: Books & Articles
Starting your research
For general guidance or tips on doing your assignment(s), start your research here.
Library catalogue
Books, journals, DVDs and other media located in the SFU Library can be found using the library catalogue.
If you're new to using the library catalogue, visit our SFU Library Catalogue Search Guide.
For details about finding media such as DVDs, sound recordings, and images, consult the Media page of this guide.
Lists of new Contemporary Arts resources added to the SFU Library are updated on a monthly basis. You can also browse through lists of all resources added to the library within the last week or the last month.
Journals and magazines
The online databases will help you locate journal and magazine articles, full text of plays, and reviews of performances.
Databases
Key databases for Theatre articles and reviews:
- International Index to the Performing Arts: Multidisciplinary index to journals for the Performing Arts (drama, theater, dance, film, television).
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index: Covers basic periodicals on all social sciences and humanities topics.
- MLA International Bibliography: Bibliographic index to journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects covered include language, literature, linguistics, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, printing and publishing.
- North American Theatre Online: Comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of Canadian and American Theatre. Includes records to thousands of plays, people, theatres, productions, and companies, with access to some full text plays.
- Twentieth Century North American Drama: Contains over 1000 plays, together with detailed information on theaters, production companies, and more. Also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
For a full list of databases relevant to your research, see the Theatre databases list.
Electronic journals
Search the electronic journals database to find online editions of theatre journals available through the SFU Library. Search by title keyword or subject, or browse the selected list of e-journals relating to Theatre.
