Theatre Information Resources: Background Information
Dictionaries and terminology
- Coming to terms with acting : an instructive glossary. PN 2061 M67 1993
- Concise Oxford companion to the theatre.
- Also in print PN 2035 C63 1992
- Dictionary of the performing arts. PN 1579 M66 1999
- Dictionary of the theatre : terms, concepts, and analysis.PN 2035 P313 1998
- The drama dictionary. PN 1625 H64 1988
- The Glossarist: Theatre glossaries and theatre dictionaries
- Glossary of Technical Theatre Terms. Over 1435 terms, from Theatrecrafts at the University of Exeter School of Performance Arts.
- The language of American popular entertainment: a glossary of argot, slang and terminology. PN 1579 W5
- The language of theatre. PN 2035 H297 1998
- The new Penguin dictionary of the theatre. PN 2035 N4 2001
- Theatre backstage from A to Z. 4th ed. PN 2091 M3 L68 1999
- Theatre lighting from A to Z. PN 2091 E4 B59 1992
- Theatre words. 3rd ed. PN 2035 T48 1980
Encyclopedias and theatre guides
- Acting: an international encyclopedia. PN 2035 O84 2001
- American plays and musicals on screen: 650 stage productions and their film and television adaptations. PS 338 M67 H57 2005
- Backstage handbook: an illustrated almanac of technical information. 2nd ed. PN 2091 S8 C32 1988
- Cambridge guide to American theatre. PN 2220 C35 1993
- The Cambridge companion to medieval English theatre. PN 2587 C36 1994
- The Cambridge guide to Asian theatre. Bennett Library PN 2860 C35 1993
- The Cambridge guide to theatre.
- Also in print PN 2035 C27 1995
- Cassell companion to theatre. Rev. ed. PN 2035 B74 1997
- A chronological outline of world theatre. PN 2101 M47 1992 A timeline from 3,000 BCE to 1970s.
- Companion to theatre in Australia. PN 3011 C66 1995
- The Continuum companion to twentieth century theatre. PN 2035 C65 2002
- Encyclopedia of Canadian Theatre. From Athabasca University, "The Encyclopedia collects and disseminates information on plays, playwrights and theatre practitioners."
- Entertainment awards : a music, cinema, theatre and broadcasting reference, 1928 through 1993. PN 2270 A93 F68 1996
- International dictionary of theatre. 3 vol. PN 2035 I47 1994
- Internet Broadway Database."IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today."
- Kabuki encyclopedia. PN 2924.5 K3 L44
- Masterplots II: drama series. 4 vol. PN 6112.5 M37 1990
- McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of world drama. 2nd ed. 5 vol. PN 1625 M3 1984
- The New York Public Library performing arts desk reference. PN 1584 N49 1994
- The Obies. Off-Broadway theater Awards.
- The Oxford companion to American theatre.
- Also in print PN 2220 B6 2004
- The Oxford companion to Canadian theatre. PN 2301 O93 1989
- The Oxford companion to the theatre. 2nd ed. PN 2035 H3 1983
- The Oxford encyclopedia of theatre and performance
- Also in print PN 2035 O94 2003
- Theatre world. v. 15- Bennett Library PN 2277 N5 A17 This annual describes productions in American theatres. Includes cast lists, awards, biographies and reviews.
- The Tony Award: a complete listing of winners and nominees of the American Theatre Wing's Tony Award. PN 2270 A93 T6 2001 (See also the web site Tony Awards: Nominees & Winners)
- The world encyclopedia of contemporary theatre. 6 vol. PN 2035 W67 1994 Geographic survey of theatre in Europe and the Americas since 1945.
Biographical dictionaries
- A to Z of American women in the performing arts. PN 2286.8 S66 2002
- A biographical dictionary of actors, actresses, musicians, dancers, managers & other stage personnel in London, 1660-1800. 2 vol.
- Canada's playwrights: a biographical guide. PR 8927 C35
- Contemporary dramatists. 4th ed. PR 106 V5 1988
- Fifty key theatre directors
- International dictionary of theatre. vol. 2-3 PN 2035 I47 1994
- Who's who in contemporary world theatre. PN 2035 W485 2000
Bibliographies and guides to music research
- American theatre : a chronicle of comedy and drama, 1869-1914. PN 2266 B67 v.1 1994
- American theatre : a chronicle of comedy and drama, 1914-1930. PN 2266 B67 v.2 1995
- American theatre : a chronicle of comedy and drama, 1930-1969. PN 2266 B67 v.3 1996
- American theatre : a chronicle of comedy and drama, 1969-2000.
- Also in print PN 2266 B67 v.4 2001
- Bibliography of theatre history in Canada: the beginnings through 1984. PN 2301 Z924 1993
- A bibliography of theatre technology: acoustics and sound, lighting, properties, and scenery. PN 2091 S8 Z942
- Critical survey of drama: English language series. 1985. 6 vol. PR 623 C75
- Critical survey of drama: foreign language series. 1986. 6 vol. PN 1625 C74 + suppl.
- Directory of Canadian theatre archives. PN 2301 Z95 1992
- Dramatic re-visions: an annotated bibliography of feminism and theatre, 1972-1988. PN 1590 W64 Z97 1991
- Modern drama scholarship and criticism, 1966-1980: an international bibliography. PN 1851 Z93
- Modern drama scholarship and criticism, 1981-1990: an international bibliography. PN 1851 Z932 1997
- North American Theatre Online. Detailed bibliographic information on more then 10,000 plays.
- The performing arts: a guide to the reference literature. PN 1584 Z97 1994
- Performing arts resources. 1974- PN 1582 U6 P47
- Recorded plays: indexes to dramatists, plays, and actors. PN 1701.5 H64
- Theatre History on the Web. Provides access to research sites throughout the world.
- Popular entertainment research: how to do it and how to use it. PN 1576 P78 1992 See Chapter 6: "Theater research."
- Theatrical design in the twentieth century : an index to photographic reproductions of scenic designs. PN 2091 S8 T47 1996
- Twentieth-century British and American theatre : a critical guide to archives. PN 2266 I55 1999
