Theatre Information Resources: Additional Resources
Associations and organizations
- Alliance for Arts and Culture: Monitors public policy in B.C. and represents the interests of artists across the disciplines. Offers a range of services that allow artists to publicize their event and access professional development opportunities.
- American Society for Theatre Research
- Association for Canadian Theatre Research
- Canadian Actors' Equity Association.
- Conference of Drama Schools
- International Federation for Theatre Research
- British Columbia Arts Council: Provides support "for the arts and cultural community to achieve its creative, social and economic potential."
- The Canada Council for the Arts: Awards grants and provides support to the performing arts. Includes a performing arts directory, with current information on presenters, festivals, contacts.
- Canadian Heritage: Performing Arts: Government-wide programs, services and funding for the Performing Arts field.
- Guide to Canadian arts grants. NX 705.5 C2 G75: Guide to government and private sources of financial assistance.
- Directory of the arts. NX 120 C2 W5 Directory of the Arts in Canada.
- The actor's handbook. 3rd ed. PN 2065 A29 1998 Annotated listing of British schools, theatres, festivals and organizations.
- The arts resource book. NX 705.5 C22 B753 1991
- The Directors directory. PN 2308.5 C34 1999 Catalogue of equity directors & choreographers from across Canada.
- Directory of doctoral programs in theatre studies, performance studies, and dance. PN 2078 U6 D57 1999
- Facilities directory. 4 vol PN 1589 C2 F3 1988 Lists performing facilities throughout Canada.
- Money for performing artists. PN 2293 E35 M66 1992
- Now what?: the guide to post-secondary theatre training in Canada. PN 2078 C3 N68 2000
- Peterson's graduate & professional programs series. L 901 A561 2009 Book 2 Section 23: Music, dance and drama.
- Theatre directory. PN 2289 T54 2007/2008 A guide to over 400 not-for-profit professional theatres and arts organizations across the U.S.
- The theatre listing. PN 2304 T44 A directory of professional theatre in Canada.
- Vancouver arts directory. NX 120 V3 C5
- American Theater Web Includes a directory of American theatres and current productions.
- A Brief Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance Studies by Ken McCoy,
Communication Studies and Theatre Arts, Stetson University, DeLand, Florida.
- The Costume Site
- Resources of Scholarly Societies - Drama
- SIBMAS: International Directory of Performing Arts Collections and Institutions: "Lists over 7000 international institutions with material relating to the performing arts."
- Theatre Canada Directory of theatres and companies across Canada.
- Theatre History Sites on the WWW
- Theatre sources dot com: a complete guide to online theatre and dance resources. Bennett Reference PN 2052 C38 2001
- Theatrecrafts.com From the University of Exeter School of Performance Arts: "The aim of theatrecrafts.com is to eventually be the best resource for practical information and advice about technical theatre techniques for theatre folk at any level."
- UK Drama Schools
- WWW Virtual Library: Theatre and Drama
- CBC Archives Over 5,000 radio and TV clips, updated weekly.
- Performing Arts Encyclopedia: Explore the Library of Congress's collections of films, scores, sheet music, and audio recordings.
- Asian American Drama. Over 250 plays documenting the Asian American experience as dramatized in works by writers from the 18th century to the present. Includes biographies, a performance database, production details, and associated visual resources, including photos, playbills, and manuscript images.
- The best American short plays. PN 6120 A4 B441 1990-
- The best plays of… PN 6112 B4512 1992-
- Black Drama. Over 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 150 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African Diaspora countries, almost a quarter of which are previously unpublished.
- CBCA Fulltext Reference Search the Subject Plays to find playscripts published in magazines.
- Canadian periodical index. FC 1 C3584 1920-. Search by the subject Dramas to find playscripts published in magazines.
- Drury's guide to best plays. PN 6111 Z93 1987
- The English Server Drama Collection. "This site contains a collection of original plays and screenplays, criticism and links to other sites concerned with theatre. It publishes both classic and contemporary works."
- North American Women's Drama. 1,500 plays by women from the United States and Canada written from colonial times to the present.
- Ottemiller's index to plays in collections. PN 6111 Z96 1988
- Twentieth Century North American Drama. Contains 834 plays by 124 playwrights, together with detailed, information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
- The ultimate scene and monologue sourcebook : an actor's guide to over 1,000 monologues and scenes from more than 300 contemporary plays. PN 2080 H66 2007