Music Information Resources: Books & Articles
Starting your research
For general guidance or tips on doing your assignment(s), start your research here.
Library catalogue
Books, journals, DVDs and other media located in the SFU Library can be found using the library catalogue.
If you're new to using the library catalogue, visit our SFU Library Catalogue Search Guide.
To find music scores in the catalogue, limit your search by choosing Format: MUSIC SCORE in the advanced keyword search page of the catalogue.
For details about finding media such as DVDs, sound recordings, and images, consult the Media page of this guide.
Lists of new Contemporary Arts resources added to the SFU Library are updated on a monthly basis. You can also browse through lists of all resources added to the library within the last week or the last month.
Journals and magazines
The print indexes and online databases will help you locate journal and magazine articles, and reviews of recordings or performances.
Print Indexes
- RILM: abstracts of music literature. 1967-1999. ML 1 I83
Databases
Key databases for Music articles and reviews are listed below. For a full list of databases relevant to your research, see the Music databases list.
- Oxford Music Online. Includes access to Grove Music Online; Oxford dictionary of music and Oxford companion to music
- Grove Music Online Comprehensive scholarly resource on all aspects of music.
- Includes New Grove dictionary of music and musicians; New Grove dictionary of opera and New Grove dictionary of jazz
- Music Index: Index to reviews and journal articles on all aspects of music.
- Canadian Music Periodical Index: Index to articles on all aspects of musical activity in Canada.
- International Index to the Performing Arts: Multidisciplinary index to journals for the Performing Arts (drama, theater, dance, film, television).
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index: Covers basic periodicals on all social sciences and humanities topics
Electronic journals
Search the electronic journals database to find online editions of music journals available through the SFU Library. Search by title keyword or subject, or browse the selected list of e-journals relating to Music.
