FPA 111: Issues in the Fine and Performing Arts

This guide is intended to assist you with research for your FPA 111 final research paper.
If you do not find the information that you need to write your paper, please Ask a Librarian for assistance or contact Sylvia Roberts, Liaison Librarian for Contemporary Arts (contact details in the box on the right).
- Background information
- Books
- Journal articles
- Online media (images, videos, music)
- Writing & Style Guides
BACKGROUND INFORMATION
These selected sources provide definitions and information about artists, artistic theories and movements. There are many more background sources, both print & electronic, so, if you don't find what you need, Ask a Librarian.
- Grove Art Online
- A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
- Artspeak: a guide to contemporary ideas, movements, and buzzwords, 1945 to the present N 6490 A87 1997
- Artspoke: a guide to modern ideas, movements, and buzzwords, 1848-1944 N 6447 A85 1993
- Artwords: a glossary of contemporary art theory N 71 P32 1997
- Contemporary Artists. N 6490 C6567 2002
- Photospeak: a guide to the ideas, movements, and techniques of photography TR 15 M63 1998
- The Oxford companion to the photograph
- Styles, Schools and Movements: an encyclopaedic guide to modern art N 6490 D425 2010
- The Oxford encyclopedia of theatre and performance
- The Cambridge Guide to Theatre
- The Continuum companion to twentieth century theatre PN 2035 C65 2002
- Dictionary of the theatre : terms, concepts, and analysis
- World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre in print PN 2035 W67 1994
- Dictionary of the Performing Arts PN 1579 M66 1999
- International Encyclopedia of Dance in print GV 1585 I586 1998
- The Oxford dictionary of dance in print GV 1585 C78 2010
- The Routledge companion to film history PN 1994 R5735 2011
- Cinema Studies: the key concepts in print PN 1993.45 H36 2000
- Schirmer encyclopedia of film
- International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers in print PN 1997.8 I58 2000
- The film encyclopedia PN 1993.45 K34 2001
- Grove Music Online
The Cambridge history of twentieth-century music
- Music in the early twentieth century
- Music in the late twentieth century
- The Oxford companion to music in print ML 100 O94 2002
- The complete companion to 20th century music ML 100 L46 2000
- Oxford Reference Online. More than 100 reference books on all topics
BOOKS
To find print or e-books on your topic, search by Author, Subject or Keyword in the SFU Library catalogue
***IMPORTANT NOTE***
The Belzberg Library at SFU Vancouver has a small print collection of books and current journals. The largest SFU Library collection of print materials about contemporary art and artists will be found at the Bennett Library on the Burnaby campus, with additional materials in the Fraser Library at SFU Surrey.
It takes about 2 working days, there's no cost to you and you'll get an email notice when they're ready to be picked up.You will need to use your library card to request and to borrow these materials.
Books are assigned classification codes (also known as call numbers) that provide an exact "address" on the shelf for each print book.
Call numbers also serve to group books by topic. If you find a book on your topic, browsing the books shelved nearby might lead you to other useful works.
Broadly, call numbers for contemporary arts books are broadly:
- DANCE GV 1580-1799.4
- MUSIC (Literature about Music) ML
- VISUAL ARTS N - NX
- FILM PN 1993-1999
- THEATRE PN 2000-3307
- PHOTOGRAPHY TR
Because books can only be shelved in one place, you may need to browse a few different areas of the library to find all the books on your topics. For example, books on video art are shelved in both the film and the visual arts call number areas.
If you're not sure how to find books that relate to your research interests, Ask a Librarian.
SEARCH TIPS
Start with a keyword search to locate books with your search terms anywhere in the descriptive catalogue record
You can connect search terms using Boolean search operators, such as OR or AND.
OR searches for either word (larger results). ANY of the search words must be in the resulting records
AND searches for all the words (fewer results). ALL search words must be in the resulting records
Combine search terms representing the artistic movement and the arts practice to find books that discuss both. Usually the records will show your search terms highlighted, whether they appear in the title, the subject heading, contents notes, authors' names, etc.
- Mary Wigman
- A companion to modernist literature and culture
- Viva la dance the beginnings of ciné-dance
- The makers of modern dance in Germany : Rudolph Laban, Mary Wigman, Kurt Jooss
- International futurism in arts and literature
- New York modern : the arts and the city
- Topical and dance songs from the Swahili-speaking people of Tanzania
To see the context for your search terms, click on the title. Usually these are highlighted so you can find them easily.
Use the truncation symbol (*) to search for plural forms or variations of the root word
Clicking on any of these subject headings will find ALL the books with a major focus on that topic.
You can do a keyword search that combines subject headings with other keywords, such as the artist's name or practice.
To find books or media by or about a person, use the format: Last name, First name.
Where there are a lot of books published on a particular subject, subheadings will help you find more specific approaches to the topic, such as "criticism and interpretation", "history", "themes motives", "influence".
If you do not find books that focus specifically on your topic, look for books that cover a broader topic, such as the type of practice during a specific time period or affiliated with a particular movement.
Scholarly books that cover a broader topic will usually have table of contents and/or back of the book index that will let you find the pages that relate to your move specific topic.
Scholarly sources usually list a bibliography of other works that may relate to your topic. Check the SFU library catalogue to see whether we have a book or article of interest.
JOURNAL ARTICLES
Use the following recommended indexes or databases to find information on your topic in scholarly or critical studies journals. Many of these databases include the full text of journal articles or provide a link to the article online.
Click on the link to "Where can I get this?" to see if the article is available in electronic and / or print format at SFU Library
Discipline specific indexes
- Art Full Text [Art Index]
Scholarly and research journals on all aspects and periods of art & related topics
Access to other Art Index files, providing retrospective coverage from 1929 to current, in combination with Art Full Text
-
Art Bibliographies Modern
Index to journal articles, art exhibition catalogues and books on modern and contemporary art. Covers artists and movements beginning with the late 19th century, up to the present day.
-
International Index to the Performing Arts
Multidisciplinary index to scholarly and popular journal literature on the performing arts -- dance, film, drama, theater, and related subjects.
-
Dance Collection Catalog (NYPL)
Works about dance in all formats. Includes references to journal articles.
- Film & Television Literature Index
Index to articles & reviews on film & television. Some full text articles.|
- Film Literature Index
Index to journal articles and reviews on film and television
- MLA International Bibliography
Index to scholarly articles and books on literature, film and theatre
Multidisciplinary indexes
-
Humanities & Social Sciences Index
Index to scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Good coverage of the performing arts (music, film, theatre, dance) and related topics.
-
JSTOR
Archival collection of core scholarly arts, humanities and social sciences journals. - Project MUSE Search
Full-text collection of scholarly humanities and social science journals. Subjects covered include the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, gender studies and related topics
ONLINE MEDIA
If you're looking for examples of work that relate to your topic, you can use the the SFU library catalogue to search for DVDs, CDs and slides held in the collection. We also have several collections of streaming media that you can access from anywhere.
IMAGES
You must cite your sources according to either Chicago or MLA style. The SFU Library has brief guides to both citation styles, providing an overview and examples of how to do this:
- Chicago/Turabian (16th ed.)
- MLA (7th ed.) | MLA (animated tutorial)
- A short guide to writing about art N 7476 B37 2008
If you are citing images of artworks in your paper, you may want to consult the following guide:
- Citing Images - From SFU Library's Guide to Finding and Using Online Images
If you're new to writing university papers, you may want to consult the Library tutorial on Plagiarism: What is plagiarism and how you can avoid it.
The Student Learning Commons provides writing consultations. There are SLC peers at all campuses, by appointment.
| Attachment | Size |
|---|---|
| fpa11_essaytopics_fall2011_lauramarks.doc | 26.5 KB |
