Film Information Resources: Background Information
Dictionaries, handbooks and terminology
- The complete film dictionary. 2nd ed. PN 1993.45 K66 1997
- Cinema studies : the key concepts. 3d ed.
- Also in print PN 1993.45 H36 2006
- Critical dictionary of film and television theory.
- Also in print PN 1993.45 C75 2001
- The film studies dictionary. PN 1993.45 B49 2001
- Filmmaker's dictionary. 2nd ed. PN 1993.45 S56 2000
- A Glossary of Film Terms written and designed for the web by Joel Schlemowitz, The New School, N.Y.
- Show it in Public: everything you need to know to show a film in public. PN 1993.4 P43 2005. The companion guide to: showamovie.ca
Encyclopedias and film guides
- Canadian film encyclopedia. Covers some of Canada’s foremost historical and modern films and filmmakers.
- A century of Canadian cinema : Gerald Pratley's feature film guide, 1900 to the present. PN 1993.5 C3 P687 2003
- Encyclopedia of early cinema.
- Also in print PN 1993.45 E53 2005
- Encyclopedia of the documentary film. PN 1995.9 D6 E53 2006 v.1-3
- The film encyclopedia: the most comprehensive encyclopedia of world cinema in a single volume. 5th ed. PN 1993.45 K34 2005
- Guide to the cinema(s) of Canada.
- Also in print PN 1993.5 C2 G86 2001
- Halliwell's : the movies that matter. PN 1993.45 H26921
- The international dictionary of films and filmmakers. 4th ed. 4 vols.
- Also in print PN 1997.8 I58 2001
- International film guide. PN 1993.3 I54411
- Motion picture guide annual. PN 1995 N3461
- Oxford history of world cinema
- Also in print PN 1993.5 A1 O96 1996
- Schirmer encyclopedia of film. 4 vols.
- Also in print PN 1993.45 G65 2007
- Screen world: a film annual. PN 1993.3 S33
- Take One's essential guide to Canadian film. PN 1993.5 C2 T29 2001
Biographical dictionaries
- Cinema : a critical dictionary : the major film-makers. 2 vol. PN 1993.45 C5
- Contemporary North American film directors: a Wallflower critical guide. PN 1998.2 W35 2000
- Le Dictionnaire du cinéma québécois. 3rd ed. PN 1993.45 D42 1999
- The encyclopedia of filmmakers. 2 vol. PN 1998.2 T53 2002
- The Hollywood.com guide to film directors: baseline Hollywood film director directory. PN 1998.2 H647 2004
- The new biographical dictionary of film. PN 1998.2 T49 2004
- Reel women : pioneers of the cinema, 1896 to the present. PN 1998.2 A24 1991
- St. James film directors encyclopedia. PN 1998.2 S68 1998
- The St. James women filmmakers encyclopedia: women on the other side of the camera. PN 1998.2 S683 1999
- Who was who on screen. 3rd ed. PN 1998 A2 T73 1983
- Who's who in Canadian film and television. PN 1998 A2 W48.
- Women film directors: an international bio-critical dictionary. PN 1998.2 F67 1995
- Women filmmakers & their films. PN 1998.2 W66 1998
- Women in film : an international guide. PN 1995.9 W6 W658 1990
Bibliographies and guides to film research
Try the SUBJECT Motion pictures -- Catalogs in the Library Catalogue to find other filmographies in the SFU Library collection.
- British Film Institute National Library Catalogue "...one of the world's largest collection of books on cinema and television."
- Camera west : British Columbia on film, 1941-1965, including new information on films produced before 1941. PN 1993.5 C3 D83
- Canada and Canadians in feature films: a filmography, 1928-1990. PN 1998 E37 1996
- Canada on film and video. PN 1995.9 C2 Z93 1989
- Canadian feature film index, 1913-1985. 1987. PN 1998 T87
- Canadian feature films : 1913-1969. 3 vol. PN 1998 M67
- Canadian film and video: a bibliography and guide to the literature. 2 vol. PN 1993.5 C2 L47 1997
- Directors and their films : a comprehensive reference, 1895-1990. PN 1998 B85 1993
- Feature films, 1940-1949: a United States filmography. PN 1993.5 U6 F456 1994
- Feature films, 1950-1959 : a United States filmography. PN 1993.5 U6 F457 1999
- Feature films, 1960-1969 : a filmography of English-language and major foreign-language United States releases. PN 1993.5 U6 L355 2001
- Film and television: a guide to the reference literature. PN 1994 E47 2006
- The film researcher's handbook : a guide to sources in North America, South America, Asia, Australasia and Africa.
- Also in print PN 1994 F438 1996
- Index to critical film reviews in British and American film periodicals, together with: Index to critical reviews of books about film [1930-72].
- 3 vol. PN 1993.46 B68
- The International film index, 1895-1990. 2 vol. PN 1998 I68 1991
- Motion picture guide, 1927-1983. 12 vol. PN 1995 N346
- Motion picture production in British Columbia, 1898-1940 : a brief historical background and catalogue. PN 1993.5 C3 B76
- National Film Board of Canada. Catalogue.
- Also in print PN 1995.9 D6 C34
- The NFB film guide : the productions of the National Film Board of Canada from 1939 to 1989. 2 vol. PN 1998 N325 1991
- Silent films, 1877-1996 : a critical guide to 646 movies. PN 1995.75 K57 1999
