FPA 224: New Dance Compostion

This library guide is intended to assist students in finding information sources for their FPA 324 assignment. If you do not find what you need, contact Sylvia Roberts, Liaison Librarian for Contemporary Arts, sroberts@sfu.ca or 778.782.3681.

See the library's Ask Us page for more information on live chat, email, telephone, or in-person reference services

CONTENTS

 

 

SOUND RECORDINGS 

Sound recordings, including music and sound effects, are available in the Media Resource Centre. The Media Centre is located in the Bennett Library, Room 3100.  The sound recordings collection includes CD, LP, and audiotape formats.  Equipment is available to listen to sound recordings in all of these formats.

The sound recording collection reflects the research and teaching interests of the faculty and students, supporting "A full range of acoustic and electroacoustic composition courses form the foundation of the program, augmented with courses in theory, history and criticism, world music, gamelan, performance, conducting as well as special topics courses in film music and laptop performance."

 

SEARCHING FOR SOUND RECORDINGS

You can search the SFU Library catalogue for sound recordings.  Use the drop-down menu, beside the search box, to limit your results to sound recordings. To search for sound recordings in the library catalogue, Limit your search by the Format: Music, sound recordings.

BY COMPOSER

You can find works by specific composers using the author search in the SFU Library catalogue

The work of contemporary composers offer interesting options for music. SFU's own current music faculty are a good place to start, for example:

  • Martin Gotfrit
  • Arne Eigenfeldt
  • David K. MacIntyre
  • Owen Underhill
  • Barry D Truax

Other composers and sound artists affiliated with SFU include  R. Murray Schafer, Anthony Gnazzo, Peter Huse, Bruce Davis, Don Druick, Phillip Werren, David Keane, Micheline Coulombe Saint-Marcoux, Martin Bartlett, Hildegard Westercamp, John Oswald and Jean Piché .

BY GENRE

If you're interested in a specific genre or type of music, search the Library catalogue by keyword (to find words anywhere in the record, in the title, description, etc.) or by subject.  A keyword search such as "soundscape" will find many sources related to the Soundscape project based at SFU and beyond.

Subject headings are specific terms established to describe the content of music recordings and other information sources.  For example, searching "Electronic music" by subject finds all the sound recordings of electronic music in the library collection.

Some subjects you could use in your search for sound recordings are:

  • Electronic music
  • Computer music
  • Ambient music
  • Remixes
  • Text-sound compositions
  • Soundscapes (Music)
  • Musique concrète

 Some subjects are subdivided by geography, e.g.  Electronic Music Great Britain, or by time period, e.g.  Jazz 2001 2010.

You can also search for the "instruments' used to play composition, for example, Sounds or Vocal music 

FOR SOUND EFFECTS

The Media Resource Centre has several Sound Ideas Sound Effects collections on CD. We have the following series: 1000, 2000, 4000, 6000, 6000 extensions I-IV, as well as International Sound Effects.

To find sound effects in these collections, use the catalogues on top of the CD cabinets or try the Sound Ideas Search Engine to identify which discs have the sounds you need. You can search the subject index for a specific sound to identify the CD and track number. You can also search by CD number, to see what sounds are on a particular disc.

To find more sound effects, use the Library Catalogue. We have some other ambient and nature sounds on CD, audiotape and LP recordings.
Suggested subject terms to find sound effects in the catalogue:

  • Sounds
    • Ocean sounds
    • City sounds
  • Environmental music
  • Text-sound compositions
  • Sound poetry

 

BROWSING FOR IDEAS

Musicworks is a magazine with CD, published three times a year:  'feature(s) composers of new music for concert presentation as well as those who work with recorded sound; we feature improvisers, instrument designers, and artists who work in radio, sound installation and sound sculpture."
These CDs can be found in both the Bennett Media Resource Centre and the Fraser Library at SFU Surrey, call number ML 1 L22,

Leonardo music journal CD serIes accompanies Leonardo music journal, "devoted to aesthetic and technical issues in contemporary music and the sonic arts. Each thematic issue features artists/writers from around the world, representing a wide range of stylistic viewpoints" These CDs can be found in both the Bennett Media Resource Centre and the Fraser Library at SFU Surrey, call number ML 1 L22.

Other choreographer's work

The Media Resource Centre also has a large collection of videos and DVDs, including performances by prominent choreographers.

To find these in the Library catalogue, search for  subject headings such as "Choreography" or "Modern dance" and limit your search results to "Movies (DVDs, videos, etc.)

Return to contents

 

ONLINE MUSIC

Classical Music Library
A comprehensive database of tens of thousands of recordings licenced for educational use. Includes music from medieval to contemporary and the avant-garde. Users may save recordings to playlist folders.

Smithsonian Global Sound
Includes recordings from the Folkways Recordings label and other labels. Genres include jazz, folk and world music. Users may save recordings to playlist folders. Search under the category Genre - Spoken Word and Sounds to find a variety of sound effects online.

Classical Music Library and Smithsonian Global Sound allow you to use a direct-to-track "static URL" to link directly to a specific recording. If you are connecting from off campus, you must first route your request through the library's site.  To route through the SFU Library proxy server, prepend the following to the static URL: http://proxy.lib.sfu.ca/login?url=

For example, try clicking on this link or paste this URL into your browser if you are on campus:
http://internal.sfu2.classical.com/permalink/recording/3221303121/
Album: City Edge: The Coves of Manhattan Island
Genre : Spoken Word and Sounds > Sounds
Country : United States

If you are off campus, or have trouble connecting to the specific recording, try the following link:
http://proxy.lib.sfu.ca/login?url=http://internal.sfu2.classical.com/permalink/recording/3221303121/

FindSounds.com
A free site where you can search the Web for sound effects and musical instrument samples. Listen to the samples on this site. You can download or email a link to the sounds.

To hear the sound of a humpback whale, try pasting this URL into your browser: http://web.nps.navy.mil/~fargues/research/humpback.au (from http://FindSounds.com)

Return to contents

 

COPYING MUSIC AND COPYRIGHT

A sound recording, according to the Canadian Copyright Act, includes "a recording fixed in any material form, consisting of sounds, whether or not of a performance of a work, but excluding any soundtrack of a cinematographic work where it accompanies the cinematographic work."

Sound recordings may have multiple copyright protections:

  • Protection of the recording itself (CD, audiocassette) (held by producer of recording)
  • Protection of the performance (held by performers on the recording)
  • Protection of the music/lyrics (held by composers of music/lyrics)

PLAYING A SOUND RECORDING IN CLASS

Section 29.5 of the Canadian Copyright Act allows the playing of a sound recording on the premises of the educational institution "for educational or training purposes and not for profit, before an audience consisting primarily of students of the educational institution."

However, the playing of sound recordings are subject to all of the following conditions:

  • Must take place on the premises of an educational institution
  • Must be for educational or training purposes
  • Must not be for profit
  • Must take place before an audience consisting primarily of students of the educational institution, instructors acting under its authority, or any person who is directly responsible for setting curriculum
  • Must not involve a "motive of gain"
COPYING A SOUND RECORDING THAT INCLUDES A MUSIC WORK

Copying a sound recording that includes a musical work for individual personal use onto a "blank audio recording medium" as defined by the Copyright Act is permitted. You cannot copy a sound recording for someone else or for any other purpose including selling/renting out, distributing, communicating to others, or performing the recording in public.

The Copyright Act has established a system of levy fees on blank media for providing royalty payments to composers, performers and sound recording producers. (s.8). In Canada, the Canadian Private Copyright Collective is responsible for collecting and distributing private copying royalties.

WHAT ARE AUDIO RECORDING MEDIA

Under the Copyright Act, an "audio recording medium" means a recording medium, regardless of its material form, onto which a sound recording may be reproduced and that is of a kind ordinarily used by individual consumers for that purpose. This is a broad definition and the media that qualify will change over time, subject to market realities and technological change.

COPYING MUSIC LEGALLY

"Private Copying" allows Canadians to make copies of pre-recorded material for personal use, either from music recordings they've purchased or music recordings they've borrowed from a friend. But there are still rules that must be followed to make this copying legal, as specified in section 80 of the Copyright Act :

  • A Canadian must perform his or her own copying. You can't ask a friend to do it. It's your "Private Copy".
  • You can't give, trade, rent or sell the resulting copy. So basically your copy must remain in your possession.
  • You can't broadcast or play the copy in public or allow anyone to do so. This means your copy can't be aired on radio, even on the net and that its public performance is limited to private gatherings, not including any paid event or large gatherings.

 

Return to contents