Reference Sources for Business Research
| 1. General business dictionaries, encyclopedias, and biographical sources | |
|
2. Specialised reference sources |
|
General Business
Definitions
A dictionary of business and management. An Oxford University Press reference book.
- Also in print: HF 1001 D53 2002
A dictionary of economics (Oxford University Press).
The ultimate business dictionary
- Also in print: HF 1001 U48 2003
WashingtonPost.com business glossary 1,250 business terms.
Encyclopedias
Business and industry. HF 1001 B796 2004. A ten-volume encyclopedia set on the 4th floor of Bennett Library.
The Capstone encyclopaedia of business : the most up-to-date and accessible guide to business ever! HF 1001 C37 2003
International encyclopedia of business and management. HF 1001 I53 2002
Encyclopedia of business. HF 1001 E466 2000
Encyclopedia of business and finance. Written for the non-specialist.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Behavioral Sciences. In-depth and reliable encyclopedic entries on many topics in the social sciences.
- Also in print: H 41 I58 2001
Biographies
Accounting
Dictionaries and terminology
A dictionary of accounting (A & C Black)
- Also in print: HF 5621 C652 2007
A dictionary of accounting (Oxford Reference)
Accounting terminology guide (Web site of New York State Society of CPAs )
Auditor's dictionary: terms, concepts, processes, and regulations (Wiley)
- Also in print: HF 5667 O6728 2004
Accounting Acronyms and Abbreviations (Website of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants)
Encyclopedias
Biographies
Handbooks
- Accountants' handbook, vol. 1: Financial accounting and general topics. Designed as a single reference source that provides answers to all reasonable questions on accounting and financial reporting.
- Also in print: HF5353 E9 2004
- CICA handbook via the CICA Standards & Guidance Collection
- Encyclopedia of Corporate Governance
Entrepreneurship
Dictionaries and terminology
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of emerging industries
- Also in print: HD 2324 E528 2007
- Encyclopedia of small business
- Encyclopedia of New Venture Management. HD 62.5 E534 2012
Handbooks
- Business plans handbooks. 20 vols.
- Handbook of qualitative research methods in entrepreneurship. HB 615 H2659 2007
- Starting a business. Government of Canada web guide for entrepreneurs.
- Starting a small business guide - 2010. Guide created by British Columbia's Ministry of Small Business, Technology and Economic Development.
- The ultimate small business guide: A resource for startups and growing businesses
Finance
Dictionaries and terminology
A dictionary of finance and banking (Oxford University Press)
- Also in print: HG 151 D52 2008
Money101 - Glossary (CNN Money)
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of business and finance. Written for the non-specialist.
Handbooks
- The handbook of fixed income securities, 7th ed.
- Also in print: HG 4651 H265 2005
- The handbook of mortgage-backed securities
- The portable MBA in finance and accounting HG 4026 P665 2002
Human Resources / Management & Organization Studies
Dictionaries and terminology
A dictionary of human resource management.
- Also in print HF 5549 A23 D53 2001
Dictionary of human resources and personnel management. HF 5549 A23 I92 2003
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of human resources information systems: challenges in e-HRM. 2 vols. HF 5549.5 D37 E53 2009
Encyclopedia of leadership. 4 vols.
- Also in print HD 57.7 E53 2004
Handbooks
- The encyclopedia of leadership: a practical guide to popular leadership theories and techniques.
- Also in print HD 57.7 H525 2001
- The Oxford Handbook of Business Reference. HF 5387 O95 2010
International Business
The dictionary of international business terms
- Also in print. HD 62.4 S524 1998
Dictionary of international trade: handbook of the global trade community.
- International encyclopedia of business and management. HF 1001 I53 2002
Exporter's Encyclopedia, 2009: HF 3011 E9 Fast facts on the details of doing business in every country, from bills of lading requirements to transportation infrastructure.
Global road warrior: 175-country resource for the international business travel, business communications, business culture, 4th ed. G 156.5 B86 G56 2007
A guide to the countries of the world: Providing a brief overview of every country in the world, this guide covers social, economic, religious and political issues. It also features maps and vital statistics such as population figures, GNP, and life expectancy. By Oxford University Press.
World Encyclopedia A classic, broad encyclopedia of all things by Oxford University Press.
Marquis Who's Who Biographies Entries list career and personal data for each biography, including birth date and place, names of parents and family members, education, writings and creative works, civic activities, awards, political affiliation, religion, and addresses.
Handbooks
- Blackwell handbook of global management: a guide to managing complexity. HD 62.4 B583 2004 An anthology of articles on managing others in an international context.
- Dun & Bradstreet's guide to doing business around the world. HF 1416 M78 2001
Management Information Systems (MIS)
Dictionaries and terminology
Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of management information systems.
A dictionary of computing. 6th ed. Revised in 2008. Over 65,000 entries.
Dictionary of e-business (second edition): a definitive guide to technology and business terms.
- Also in print HF 5548.32 B67 2003
Dictionary of information science and technology. 2 vols. T 58.5 D499 2007
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of e-commerce, e-government, and mobile commerce.
Encyclopedia of human resources information systems: challennges in e-HRM.
Encyclopedia of portal technologies and applications.
- Also in print, 2 vols. ZA 4201 E53 2007
Handbooks
- Handbook of information technology in organizations and electronic markets. HD 30.2 H3642 2007
- Encyclopedia of communities of practice in information and knowledge management.
Marketing
Dictionaries and terminology
The advanced dictionary of marketing: putting theory to use.
- Also in print HF 5412 D33 2008
Dictionary of marketing. HF 5412 I92 2003
Dictionary of marketing terms. 3rd ed.
The international dictionary of marketing: over 2,000 professional terms & techniques.
- Also in print HF 5412 Y34 2002.
Encyclopedias
The advertising age encyclopedia of advertising. HF 5803 A38 2003.
Encyclopedia of major marketing campaigns. (Vol. 2)
- Also in print (Vol. 1) HF 5837 E53 2000
Handbooks
- Handbook of marketing and society. HF 5414 B55 2001
- The marketing plan: a handbook. HF 5415.13 W66 2003
- The marketing plan: a step-by-step guide. HF 5415.13 W48 2002
- Marketer's toolkit: the 10 strategies you need to succeed.
- Marketing your business: a guide to developing a strategic marketing plan. HF 5415.135 N957 2003
Technology & Operations Management
Dictionaries and terminology
Encyclopedias
Handbooks
- Applied Management Science: Making Good Decisions: Online course by Hossein Arsham of the University of Baltimore. Provides decision-making equations and models.
- Operations research calculations handbook.
- Also in print T 57.6 D46 2010 and T 57.6 B57 2001
- Handbook of metaheuristics.
- Also in print T 57 H34 2003
