Some of these sources indicate where material on ratios may be found; others give definitions of different ratios and a general discussion on their use; still others give actual ratios for individual companies or for particular industries or industry sectors.
Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios.
Bennett and Belzberg Reference (HF 5681 R25 T68)
Available in both print and CD-ROM versions. US data on industries only (not named companies).
Bloomberg Key Source
Available on one machine near the scanners and photocopiers on the main (3rd) floor of the Bennett Library. See the database description for help guides and for details on how to log into this database.
Bloomberg offers real-time and historical information on bonds, equities, commodities, currencies and funds in international markets. Bloomberg also provides company and executive profiles, analysts' forecasts, news on worldwide financial markets, and audio and video interviews and presentations by key players in business and finance.
Business Source Complete
Covers scholarly and trade journals in all areas of business. Mainly American, but good Canadian and international content. Full text articles are available online for thousands of business publications. Try searching for a combination of the name of an industry or company with Subjects such as Ratios or Ratio analysis or Investment analysis or Financial ratios or specific ratios such as Debt-to-equity ratio.
Compustat (North America & Global) Key Source
A database with financial data on thousands of publicly-traded companies from around the world. Compustat is not a simple database to use: expect to spend time practicing with it to get what you need.
- Compustat is available via WRDS. Undergraduate students should choose the "General access" option to use WRDS.
Note: A quick route to US-traded company ratios within the WRDS version is to choose Compustat on the left side of the screen in WRDS, then Tools (again, on the left side of the screen), then Data and Ratios (XLS), then enter the ticker symbols of your target companies. Also try the Complete Financial Statements (XLS) option in the same Tools area.
Dun & Bradstreet: Industry norms & key business ratios. (2001-2011 editions only)
Industry averages based on many private and public companies. The data in this source is classified by US Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes. You can browse within the database to find your industry, or consult the SIC code manual [Reference: HF 1041 U613 1987 or online at https://www.osha.gov/pls/imis/sicsearch.html].
Financial performance indicators for Canadian business.
- 2000 to most recent available year online via ABACUS.
- 2000-2009 editions on CD-ROM: Maps/Data/GIS (Bennett 7th floor - special loan only)
Older editions in print: Bennett StatsCanada (1996-1998) 61F00-58 (2nd floor)
Financial and taxation statistics for enterprises and Quarterly financial statistics for enterprises
Statistics Canada publications: Older issues of both titles are online for SFU students via the Index of Downloadable Statistics Canada Documents site. Also available in print in the 2nd floor (Bennett) Stats Canada collection at (61-219 & 61-008).
Current ratios (and other data) for Canadian companies. This site is just one example of the many on the web that offer company data. See Yahoo's Finance Research Center or Google Finance for similar sites dealing with US and non-North American companies.
Infomart.ca (Financial Post) Key Source
Current and historical financial and operating details on largest publicly-traded companies in Canada. Includes key descriptive and financial information, as well as added details such as analysts' recommendations and major operating ratios. The industry reports part of this database offers operating and financial ratios for more than 20 very broad Canadian industries based on a sample of companies in each industry.
MINT Global Key Source
A database that covers 60,000 publicly-traded companies from around the world + 8 million private companies. Includes detailed financials (with details on whether GAAP/IFRS, etc. were used). Also includes "peer group" analysis in which you can choose the factors that determine your peer group (national vs. global, number of companies, grouping by revenue/sales, etc.) and retrieve financial ratios for each peer. Note: For more advanced search and retrieval options with the same data, try ORBIS.
Contains the S&P Industry Surveys with strong US coverage (and some global coverage). Older editions of the Industry Surveys are on the 4th floor at Bennett. (HC 106.6 S74)
Quarterly financial report for manufacturing, mining and trade corporations. U.S. Department of Commerce. 1982-present
Bennett Bound Journals & Periodical Room - shelved by title.
Presents up-to-date aggregate statistics on the financial position of U.S. corporations. Based upon an extensive sample survey, the report presents estimated statements of income and retained earnings, balance sheets, and related financial and operating ratios for the domestic operations of all manufacturing corporations with assets over $250,000, and corporations in the mining and trade areas with assets over $50 million. (Industry-level data - no company-specific data.)
RMA annual statement studies. Robert Morris Associates.
Bennett Reference (HG 4050 R61). US data.
SME Benchmarking Tool
Industry Canada: Performance benchmarks for small and medium-sized Canadian enterprises. Industry-level financials only - no named companies. Based on Revenue Canada data.
ThomsonONE Investment Banking Key Source
Detailed profiles of 70,000 companies including full Worldscope standardized fundamentals (1600+ items) and Reuters "as-stated" fundamentals, as well as lists of "comparable companies" and their financial ratios. Note: Requires Internet Explorer browser for access.
Analyzing Your Financial Position
Part of the CCH Business Owner's Toolkit
Ratio Analysis: Introduction
Financial Ratio Analysis
Part of the Biz/Ed site (UK)
Try the following terms in the Subject section of the Library Computer Catalogue:
A few books to start you off:
Analyzing financial ratios / American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.
Bennett Library (HF 5681 R25 A49 2006)
Canadian managerial finance. 3rd ed. 1989.
Bennett Library (HG 4090 H34 1989)
See Ratio analysis, pp. 97-137.
Edgar online guide to decoding financial statements : tips, tools, and techniques for becoming a savvy investor
Bennett Reference (HF 5681 B2 T32 2004)
Encyclopedia of banking & finance. 10th ed. 1994.
Belzberg Reference (HG 151 M8 1994) and online for SFU researchers
Financial analysis and decision making : tools and techniques to solve financial problems and make effective business decisions. 2003
Bennett & Belzberg Libraries: HG 4026 V364 2003
Financial ratios : how to use financial ratios to maximise value and success for your business. 2008
Bennett, Belzberg & Fraser Libraries (HF 5681 R25 B85 2008)
Financial statement analysis : a practitioner's guide. 4th ed. 2011.
Online for SFU researchers
Financial statement analysis: theory, application, and interpretation. 6th ed. 1998.
Bennett Library (HF 5681 B2 B46 1998)
Financial statement analysis and security valuation. 2013.
Bennett Library (HF 5681 B2 p4134 2013)
International financial statement analysis. 2012.
Online for SFU researchers.
The meaning of company accounts. 7th ed. 2000.
Bennett Reference (HF 5681 B2 R37 2000)
Techniques of financial analysis. 11th ed. 2003.
Bennett Library (HG 4026 H44 2003)
Winning business : how to use financial analysis and benchmarks to outscore your competition. 1999.
Bennett Library (HF 5681 R25 G55 1999)