Marketing Information Resources
This guide lists selected print and electronic information sources available to SFU faculty, students, and staff. Check the library catalogue to find additional materials at the SFU Library. If you do not find what you need, please contact the Business Librarian (Yolanda Koscielski: yolanda_koscielski@sfu.ca)
| How to find: | BUEC Buzz | |
Help with course assignments
Check the main Business Administration resource page for links to library research guides prepared for specific courses.
Journal articles
Periodical indexes contain listings of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. Indexes can be subject-specific for in-depth research or more general in nature. Business Source Complete is most likely to be the first index that you should try, but the other indexes on the following list may also be useful. Ask for assistance at the Help Desk in any of our branches if you can't find what you need in these indexes.
For working papers in marketing, see:
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN) - Marketing Research Network
-
- Kopolow Business Library - Olin School of Business: Links to Working Papers (Marketing)
-
- SFU Business: Marketing working papers

Company/industry information
Consult the following SFU Library guides for further resources:
- Annual Reports
- Company Information
- Industry Surveys
- Market Research
- International Market Research
- Internet and E-Commerce Information
- Associations

Definitions
Try some of the dictionaries listed below, or search for others by searching the Library catalogue for the SUBJECT: Marketing – Dictionaries or Business - Dictionaries.- Dictionary of marketing terms. Bennett and Belzberg Reference: HF 5415 D4874. Also online for SFU researchers.
- International dictionary of marketing. Bennett: HF 5412 Y34 2002. Also online for SFU researchers.
- Macmillan dictionary of marketing & advertising. Bennett and Belzberg Reference: HF 5412 B34 1998.
- MarketingTerms.com
- General business dictionaries:
-
- Dictionary of business. Bennett Reference: HF 1001 D53 2002. Also online for SFU researchers.
- Dictionary of American business. Bennett Reference: HF 1001 D54 2000
- Penguin Business Dictionary (online via SFU Library for SFU researchers)
- Taking care of business : the dictionary of contemporary business terms. Bennett : HF 1001 C33 1997.
- WashingtonPost.com Business Glossary

Background information
In general, good introductory/background guides to a topic will have the words "handbooks" or "encyclopedias" in the subject part of their catalogue records. Try keyword searches for combinations such as "marketing and encyclopedias" or "advertising and handbooks" or "marketing plan" to find such resources as the following:- The Advertising age encyclopedia of advertising. Bennett, Belzberg, and Surrey Reference: HF 5803 A38 2003.
- AMA marketing encyclopedia : issues and trends shaping the future. Belzberg Reference: HF 5415 A46 1995.
- Encyclopedia of major marketing campaigns. Vol. 1: Bennett Reference: HF 5837 E53 2000; Vol. 2: online for SFU researchers.
- Handbook of marketing and society. Bennett: HF 5414 B55 2001.
- The marketing plan : a handbook / Marian Burk Wood. Bennett Library: HF 5415.13 W66 2003
- Marketing your business : a guide to developing a strategic marketing plan / Ronald A. Nykiel. Bennett Library: HF 5415.135 N957 2003
- The marketing plan : a step-by-step guide / John Westwood. Bennett Library: HF 5415.13 W48 2002
- General business encyclopedias/handbooks:
-
- Concise international encyclopedia of business and management. Bennett and Belzberg Reference: HF 1001 C634 1997
- Encyclopedia of business. Belzberg Reference: HF 1001 E466 2000
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Behavioral Sciences. Bennett Reference: H 41 I58 2001 and Online.

Electronic journals and texts
A growing number of books and journals are available on the Internet. Search for the title of the electronic journal or book you want in the library catalogue. If SFU has access to a Web edition of the title, there will be a catalogue record with the words '[electronic resource]' at the end of the title. You can link from this record to the online version of the journal or book.
- If you would like to see only online journals, start with our Electronic Journals Database. Note that most of the electronic sources listed in our catalogue are restricted to SFU faculty and students. The Electronic Journals Database provides access to the fulltext of electronic journals available to SFU Library users on the Internet and through the databases we subscribe to (CBCA Fulltext Business, Business Source Complete, JSTOR, etc.). Use the search function of the ejournals database to look for any journal titles containing the general subject you are researching.
- To find eBooks, do an Advanced Keyword search in the SFU Library catalogue and limit your search to Books (in the "Books or Journals" area) and to the Format: Electronic Resource. Here are a few examples of the sorts of titles you will find:

Associations and organizations
The following is a short list of a few of the many associations and organizations associated with the study and practice of marketing. To search for other organizations, try the sources listed in the Associations topic guide.- Canadian Institute of Marketing
- Canadian Advertising Research Foundation
- Association of Internet Marketing & Sales
- American Marketing Association - BC Chapter - Toronto Chapter

Directories of Web sites
These sites have been chosen because they are comprehensive collections of information. There are, of course, many other general finance resources on the Internet. Try browsing/searching the back issues of BUEC BUZZ if these links don't have what you need. Still stuck? Ask for help at the Help Desk in any SFU Library branch or via email/chat/telephone through our Ask a Librarian services.
Guides to marketing research
Research guides and bibliographies list key sources and explain research methods in the field. The following guides will lead you to further information. To find further sources, try searching the catalogue by SUBJECT for , Marketing - Bibliography, Marketing - Research, Marketing - Research - Methodology, Social Sciences - Research - Methodology, or Social Sciences - Methodology.- The handbook of international market research techniques. Bennett: HF 5415.2 H28 2000.
- The market research toolbox : a concise guide for beginners. Bennett and Belzberg: HF 5415.2 M383 1996.
- Qualitative methods for marketplace research. Bennett: HF 5415.2 S29 2001.

Style guides
A style manual explains how to prepare term papers with a uniform format and acknowledge research sources with footnotes and a bibliography.- Check with your professor or TA for the style guide recommended for your course. Then check the SFU Library's list of Writing and Style guides for a relevant guide with sample citations. A couple non-SFU guides that you may also want to try are A Guide for Writing Research Papers based on Styles Recommended by The American Psychological Association and Citing Sources & Avoiding Plagiarism (Duke University Libraries).
- Note also that most of our article indexes (e.g., Business Source Complete and CBCA Business) have information within their Help pages on how to cite articles found in databases using common formats such as APA, MLA, and Chicago Style. In addition, many indexes now allow you to export your results in a specific citation style.
- For Graduate students, start with: Writing and Submitting your Thesis. If clarification of these regulations or guidelines is required, please contact the office of the Assistant for Theses in the Bennett Library. Telephone: 778.782.4747 * Fax: 778.782.3023 * E-mail: Penny Simpson (thesis_assistant@sfu.ca). The SFU Library also has a number of books on this topic: try the SUBJECT Dissertations, Academic -- Handbooks, manuals, etc. in a catalogue search to get titles such as Researching and writing dissertations in business and management (Bennett &Belzberg: HD 30.4 R474 2000); Doing your dissertation in business and management : the reality of researching and writing (LB 2369 B73 2006); and Guide to the successful thesis and dissertation : a handbook for students and faculty (Bennett: LB 2369 M377 2003 and online.
