Internet and E-Commerce Information
-
1. Introduction- Internet access and usage statistics and e-commerce data and reports are outdated almost as fast as they are produced, so it is difficult to produce a guide that doesn't require daily updating. Instead, I've provided suggestions on how to search for books, articles, and Web sites on Internet use and e-commerce along with a few examples of sources. If this guide doesn't help you find what you need, please don't hesitate to ask for assistance at the Library's help desks.
2. Background Information:
- Internet and E-Commerce Statistics: What They Mean and Where to Find Them on the Web
We all know that statistics of any sort need to be handled with care. Numbers on the size of the Internet and the prospects for e-commerce are certainly no different. This U.S. Congressional Research Service Issue Brief is made available to the public by the National Council for Science and Environment (NCSE). It covers the many issues involved in gathering and reporting Internet statistics, and it offers many links to Internet/e-commerce data sources. The issues are still relevant, although many of the links are now outdated.

3. Internet Usage and Access
3a. Books:- Search the library catalogue using subject headings starting with Internet or World Wide Web. Depending on what you are looking for, you may get more specific results by adding a country or subtopic to the end of the subject; for example, Internet - Canada or Internet - Social aspects. Once you have a set of results, you can jump to the most recent items (more likely to have current data) by sorting the list by date: click on Limit This Search at the top of the screen and check the box beside Sort results by year. Note that books are unlikely to have data from the last few months, but they will have good background information and they may provide clues (association names, etc.) to where you can get more data.
3b. Articles:
- Articles in popular or academic magazines often contain complete reports or at least highlight statistics from research reports. The main databases to try include:
Business Source Complete and Academic Search Premier. Try searching for terms such as Internet users; Internet Industry; and Internet (Computer network). (In general, a search for Internet and Statistics - both in the subject field - should cover most of the relevant items.)
CBCA Complete
Try the subjects: Internet access or Internet users to start.
Passport GMID
Includes data from many countries (with forecasts) on topics such as the number of online households, the number of PC owners, and the number of ISDN subscribers.
Ipsos Canadian Inter@ctive Reid Report: 2009 and 2010
Has data on the demographics of Canadian internet users, and on their main sources of information. The same publisher is behind our main public opinion polling database: Ipsos News Centre.
** For other database suggestions and assistance, Ask Us!
3c. Web sites:
- There are many web sites that provide data on Internet usage by country, language, income, etc. In general, rather than spending time doing random searches, it's a good idea to start with known sites (such as those listed below) and check to see if they link to any similar sites. You could also try searching for sites that link to a known site: enter the known site's name as a phrase (within quotation marks) or its web address preceded by "link:" in a search engine such as Google. For example, a Google search for sites that mention "ClickZ" often produces useful results. Similarly, a Google search for sites that link to the address of the ITU's ICT Stats page [search for link:http://www.itu.int/ITU-D/ict/statistics/] can lead to other good sites.
Sample sites:
-
3d. Statistics Canada:
- From the advanced search page at the Statistics Canada site, try a search for phrases such as Internet use, Internet usage,or Internet access. Check your results for relevant tables and charts of statistics in The Daily and for Statistics Canada Catalogue or CANSIM publications as well. Keep in mind that we have most, but not all, Statistics Canada publications here at the library.
A few sample Statistics Canada results: -
- Internet Use in Canada (Links to various Statistics Canada publications on this topic.)
- Online activities of Canadian boomers and seniors
- Internet use by individuals, by level of Internet privacy concern and age (Summary tables. Note that the detailed CANSIM table referred to (358-0128) is available for free for SFU researchers via the SFU Library's subscription to CANSIM.)
3.e. Other
US Census Bureau: Data on Computer Use and Ownership - From the advanced search page at the Statistics Canada site, try a search for phrases such as Internet use, Internet usage,or Internet access. Check your results for relevant tables and charts of statistics in The Daily and for Statistics Canada Catalogue or CANSIM publications as well. Keep in mind that we have most, but not all, Statistics Canada publications here at the library.
-
- General introductory sites on e-commerce:
- The ABCs of E-Commerce (from CIO Magazine)
- Online Business 101 (an About.com page)
- E-Commerce Webopedia (terms, definitions, and acronyms in electronic commerce)
- General introductory sites on e-commerce:
- Start with the online encyclopedia: Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce (SFU researchers only). For more books, search the SFU Library catalogue using such subjects as Electronic commerce, Internet advertising, or Internet marketing. You may get more specific results if you add country names or subtopics to the ends of these subjects (e.g., Electronic commerce - Canada or Electronic commerce - Case studies). As mentioned above, it may be a good idea to limit your search and sort the results by year to get the most recent items at the top of the list.
-
-
Try the subjects Electronic commerce, Internet, Web sites, or World Wide Web (possibly combined with the subject Marketing). You might find it useful to narrow your search using additional subjects such as Consumer behavior, Statistics, Public opinion poll, Marketing strategy, Research, or Trends.
-
Check the box next to "Scholarly journals" to focus your search on more academic articles.
-
Try the subjects Electronic commerce, Online sales, Business to business commerce, Online advertising, Web sites, and World Wide Web.
-
Includes data from many countries (with forecasts) on topics such as the number of online shoppers, the expenditure per online shopper, and the total amount of online spending. Start by doing a Text Search (top, lefthand corner of the database) for Internet Retailing in the report title to get many country reports.
Global Entertainment and Media Outlook
-
The SFU Library has online copies of the last several editions of this annual Pricewaterhouse Coopers report, complete with forecasts and economic analyses of topics such as Internet advertising and Internet usage.
For e-commerce articles from more popular (less academic) magazines, try any of the following:
-
- Fast Company | CIO | RedHerring | ZDNet News (click on 'News' in the top bar) | The Industry Standard | eWeek
-
** For other database suggestions and assistance, ask at the Help Desk in any SFU Library branch..
-
-
As discussed above, there are many sites with information about e-commerce. Use the sites below as starting points in your research and either link from them to other sites, or search for sites that link to them. Also note that many of the sites listed in the Internet Access section above may have some e-commerce information.
- Branham300 Online "annual ranking of the top 300 Canadian Information Technology (IT) companies, including the 100 Top Software Companies, the 100 Top IT Professional Services, the 25 Top IT Multinationals in Canada, the 25 Up and Coming Technology Firms, the 20 Top Wireless Technology Companies, the 10 Top Internet Service Providers, the 10 Top Application Service Providers, and the 10 Top Telecom Wireless Service Providers.
- Librarians' Index to the Internet: Electronic Commerce.
- E-Stats: Measuring the Electronic Economy (US Census Bureau)
- eLab Research (Vanderbilt University) - fulltext research papers on ecommerce (April 08: nothing new since 2006 though)
- internet.com's Electronic Commerce Guide.
- E-Business (CIO Magazine)
- Web Marketing and E-Commerce (Wilson Internet)
- Exploring the Digital Nation (US Dept of Commerce)
- Ebusinessforum.Com: With current global news, links to research, best practice cases, and analysis of the e-commerce environment in dozens of countries, Ebusinessforum.com should be one of your current awareness sites if you are following the development of the new economy. Created by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU), this site is directed at senior executives.
- UNCTAD Electronic Commerce Branch
Reports and statistics on ecommerce and ICT around the world, with a focus on developing countries. - Business to Business (B2B) E-Commerce Reports:
- Line56.com - The Business of e-Business : Daily e-business news, company profiles, and b2b research reports (many free).
- Morgan Stanley's Technology Research : features many other reports on e-commerce, including ones that focus on B2Bs..
- B2B Magazine : includes lists of the besxt B2B web sites and other B2B resources.
- There is a listing of vertical Internet marketplaces by industry mentioned along with brief descriptions at Business.com.
- Industry Canada's Strategis site has a wealth of information about the e-commerce environment in Canada:
-
The Digital Economy in Canada
See especially the section on Statistics on the Digital Economy. -
Canadian Code of Practice for Consumer Protection in Electronic Commerce
-
ebiz.enable: ebiz.enable is designed to help you understand the opportunities that exist on-line for your business and determine where you should start to develop an effective Internet operation. It offers many case studies, articles, statistics, and industry profiles - all from a Canadian perspective.
Statistics Canada also measures this area: for example...
- How does firm size affect the perceived benefits of Internet business?
- Internet shopping in Canada: An examination of data, trends and patterns
- Also see the publications, analytical studies, and statistics that have come out of the regular Statistics Canada study: "Survey of Electronic Commerce and Technology." (The statistics are available in their most detailed form in CANSIM. See this Statistics Canada page for a list of relevant tables, then go to the SFU version of CANSIM to access the data.)
