Canadian Business Directories


1. LexisNexis

  • Contains a large number of directories from around the world, often with valuable added details such as the approximate sales revenue and number of employees at each company.
  • For the broadest (international) search, click on Companies (left column) then on Company Profiles.  Your search will then be done through the All Companies source covering a wide range of directories.
  • To search for only Canadian companies, consider one of the following sources within LexisNexis:
  • LexisNexis is not a simple database to use.  There is some help available within the database, but please do not hesitate to ask for help at the AskUs/Reference Desks in any SFU Library branch.

2.  If you are looking for lists of companies nationally or in particular provinces/cities, one of the many general "Yellow Page" style directories on the web may work for you.  Try such sites as:

3.  There are other Canadian business directory sites on the Internet that offer more details than the average "Yellow Page" site, although they may not be as comprehensive.  The following is just a sample list.  Ask a librarian for help finding other sites if necessary.

  • Canadian Company Capabilities  Over 60,000 Canadian companies with information on export capabilities and experience. This is a voluntary directory: therefore you shouldn't count on it being anywhere near comprehensive.
  • Canadian Trade Index  Over 30,000 Canadian companies with contact information, product/brand names, export regions, and more.  Also in print at Bennett Reference and Belzberg Reference: HD 9734 C2 C3,
  • Frasers Canadian Trade Directory  More than 40,000 suppliers of industrial products and services - note that the print version of this directory [Bennett Reference: HD 9734 C2 F7] contains more details such as number of employees, year established, complete product line description, etc.
  • BC Manufacturers' Directory This is a voluntary directory; you shouldn't count on it being anywhere near comprehensive.
  • Canadian Importers Database Canadian importers by location, product, or country of origin. Uses Canada Customs and Revenue Agency data.

4.  There are many business directories available at the library.  In general, they will have the word "directories" in their subject headings, so you should be able to search for them  using a Word search in which you combine the industry with the word "directories."  A few examples include:

  • New Media Directory
  • BC Science Clusters Directory
  • Canadian Biotechnology Directory [HD 9999 B443 C35]. Latest edition is in Bennett Reference.
  • Directory of Canadian Manufacturers [HD 9734 C22 D5] Latest edition is in Bennett Reference; older edition is in Belzberg Reference.
  • Contact : the Essential Canadian Music Business Directory. [Bennett Reference - ML 21 C3 C66 10th 1999] Note that this item is an example of how to find directories by subject: it has subjects of "Music - Canada - directories," and "Music trade - Canada - directories" -- both of the standard form [industry - geographic area - directories].

5.  If you are looking for the top companies in a field or geographical area of Canada, you should try some of the lists available at the Price's List of Lists.  You might also try the Business in Vancouver Book of Lists if you are focusing on top companies in the Greater Vancouver Area [Bennett AskUs Desk + Belzberg Refererence + Surrey Reference: HF 5073 V3 B8].

6.  Public libraries are great sources for business directories of all sorts. Consider checking with your local branch to see if they can help you.  See VPL's lists of online directories.

7.  Other starting points for this type of research include these SFU Library guides:

Finally, please come to the Ask Us Help Desk (Bennett Library) or the Reference Desks at our Surrey and Belzberg branches if you are having trouble.  We can often suggest other resources or approaches once we know more about what you need.