Case Studies
NOTES:
1. The term "case studies" can be ambiguous: it can mean specific examples from real companies or fictitious stories written to help students learn a topic. The resources below provide a mix of both types of case studies - be sure that the studies you find are the type you need!
2. This guide has some resources that will be of more use to students (especially the tips on finding case studies in the SFU Library catalogue and in Business Source Complete) and other resources that instructors will find useful (especially the links to case clearinghouses and the sample cases). If you don't find what you need here, don't hesitate to ask for help.
Finding Cases
- Books:
- Try searching the SFU Library catalogue by Keyword and include the phrase case stud* (truncated with an asterisk to cover both plural and singular) as part of your search. Check out these sample searches: case stud* and organizational behavior // case stud* and information technology // case stud* and brand name products.
- Also try an Advanced Keyword search in which you look for case studies in the Subject field, combined with your specific need (entrepreneurship? strategy?) as a Keyword. Add case* in the Title field as well to increase your chance of getting books that contain large numbers of cases. Click here for a link to a search for books that have cases in the title and case studies in the subject.
- Try searching the SFU Library catalogue by Keyword and include the phrase case stud* (truncated with an asterisk to cover both plural and singular) as part of your search. Check out these sample searches: case stud* and organizational behavior // case stud* and information technology // case stud* and brand name products.
- Theses: Also in the SFU Library catalogue, try searching for theses and graudating projects by SFU Business students. Such publications often involve specific case studies. Do a Keyword search again, but this time combine the word theses (plural) with your topic. See these sample searches for example theses and electronic commerce // theses and dettwiler. Also try Digital Dissertations for theses completed elsewhere. See our guide to Finding University Theses and Projects from Simon Fraser and Other Universities for more suggestions.
- Articles:
- In Business Source Complete enter your search terms, then either check off the Document Type Case study or include the Subject Case studies as part of your search.
- CBCA Fulltext Business offers similar ways of finding case studies: either choose the Document Type (click on More Search Options) Case study or include the Subject Case studies as part of your search.
- See the Sample Cases area below for some specific journals focusing on business cases.
- In Business Source Complete enter your search terms, then either check off the Document Type Case study or include the Subject Case studies as part of your search.
- Websites: There are several publishers and clearinghouses of cases on the web. Many will allow qualified faculty members to view cases for examination purposes (after registering). Note, however, that you usually need to pay for the cases if you are not a faculty member, or if you are a faculty member and you want to use cases in your class.
- European Case Clearing House "[T]he largest single source . . . of management case studies in the world. We hold and distribute all cases produced by the world's best-known managment teaching establishments, as well as case studies in many languages produced by individual authors from almost every corner of the globe." Search for a case, then click on the link for an "inspection copy" (if available) and follow the links to register as a faculty member.
- CaseNet: "Cases for Business Education" - a partnership between South-Western College Publishing (they publish many of your textbooks) and a few universities and colleges. Registration as qualified faculty members is required (again) to view the cases.
- Harvard Business School: Thousands of PDF format full-text cases, articles, and teaching notes are ready to download for examination purposes. NOTE: Requires registration (restricted to qualified faculty only) to view cases. If you aren't a faculty member, or if you want to use copies of specific cases in a class, you can purchase the PDF or paper version of the case at this site as well. Also see below for a discussion on how to find some HBS cases in the Harvard Business Review.
- CasePlace.org: A searchable database of business case studies and supplemental materials. The cases described tend to focus on social and environmental issues in business. You can search for relevant cases by discipline or topic, then use the supplied contact information for the author/publisher to request the cases. Note that many of the cases they list are from the Harvard Business School and the European Case Clearing House (mentioned above).
- Richard Ivey School of Business - Cases: "With nearly 2000 cases in our active collection, the Richard Ivey School of Business is the second largest producer of cases in the world."
- Note that we have several books in the Ivey Casebook Series.
Sample Cases
- British Columbia Innovation Council (BCIC ) case studies: A rare focus on BC companies!
- Cases online via the Harvard Business Review: Try searching for Harvard Business Review in the Publication Name field, then checking off the box for case studies on the search screen. Add in other terms to focus your search. Click here for a link to a broad search for case studies in the HBR.
- Journal of Information Technology Teaching Cases
"[P]rovides suitable, contemporary case materials for teaching topics in the organisation and management of information systems and on the social consequences of information technology" Note that this is a new spin-off journal from the Journal of Information Technology which used to publish such cases.
- International Academy for Case Studies
- Allied Academies International Conference: Proceedings of the International Academy for Case Studies (IACS)
- Journal of the International Academy for Case Studies: Presents classroom teaching cases, with instructor's notes, on any subject which might be taught in a Business School.
- Business Case Journal: From the Society for Case Research
- Business Ethics Case Studies: A few cases from Business Ethics Canada - St. Mary's University
- Journal of Case Research in Business & Economics
- European Case Clearinghouse offers a selection of free cases, as well as links to other free sources
- Datamonitor case studies via Business Source Complete. Also see our Datamonitor 360 database for a larger collection of their cases.
- Business Gateway: Case studies on starting and running a small business.
- The Times 100: Free business case studies on real life companies.
- Acadia Institute of Case Studies: (Acadia University) Most studies are focused on small business and entrepreneurship and include teaching notes. Some of them even include short videos (Quicktime). Permission is granted for educational use.
- Virtual Economy Case Studies & Business Case Studies & Mind Your Business: All from BizEd in the UK..
- Company-specific case studies (intended as examples of how customers have used or could use their products): IBM, Intel, and LANSA.
Developing and Analysing Cases
- Application of a Case Study Methodology by Winston Tellis: (The Qualitative Report, Volume 3, Number 3, September, 1997) This academic article covers all of the social science methodology behind designing, conducting, and analysing a case study. It also features a detailed bibiliography. Winston Tellis, Ph.D. is Director of Undergraduate Programs in Fairfield University's School of Business and formerly he was Director of Technical Services also in the School of Business at Fairfield.
- Basics of Developing Case Studies: Part of the Free Management Library, this site has some basic information on how to develop a case study, as well as links to some sample cases.
- A Guide to Case Analysis: Focus is on how to analyse company cases when learning strategic management techniques.
- Case Studies: Covers both analysing and writing a case study from the perspective of a business student.
- How to Analyse a Case Study: Step-by-step guide in point form.
- Try the European Case Clearing House's guidance on Case Method: Introduction & Resources
- Also try the subject heading "Case method" in the SFU Library catalogue for books on using the case method in your classes. A few sample case method books available in the SFU Library:
- Encyclopedia of case study research (H 62 E582 2010)
- The art and craft of case writing (2nd edition, 2006; Also in print: LB 1029 C37 N38 2006)
- Case study research : design and methods (4th edition, 2009; avaiable in print: H 62 Y56 2009).
- Case study research : principles and practices (Also in print: H 62 G47 2007)
-
Case writing for executive education : a survival guide (New! HF 1106 B35 2011)
- In Business Source Complete, try a keyword search for case method. Click here for a link to this search.
- You might also want to try checking an index of education articles such as ERIC: start with the subject heading (or Descriptor) Case Method (Teaching Technique). Click here for a link to this search. Alternatively, try our Education Research Complete database using Case method as your subject search term. Again, click here for a link to this search.
