Biotechnology Industry Resources
This guide lists selected print and online information sources available to SFU researchers. If you do not find what you need, contact Mark Bodnar, mbodnar@sfu.ca (This is the best way to reach me), the Liaison Librarian for Business.
|
|
The biotechnology field is full of new terms and concepts that you really have to understand to properly study the industry. The first three sections of this guide (overview, definitions, and current awareness) contain resources to help you get past the language and to provide the most current view of the industry.
1. Overviews
- Biotech Facts & Figures: BIOTECanada (See the sub-section on Bio-economy for a high-level view)
- Guide to Biotechnology: Biotechnology Industry Association
- Why Biotech?: Council for Biotechnology Information
- Business of Biotechnology: from About.com - an industry snapshot
- Deloitte, Touche, Tomatsu: Life Sciences (search their site for more reports and articles - you may have to register (free) to view some documents)
- Ernst & Young: Beyond Borders: Global Biotechnology Report 2011. Scan the Life Sciences part of the E&Y site for more reports.
- Industry Handbook: Biotechnology: from Investopedia.com
- Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys: newest edition in Bennett Reference [HC 106.6 S74] - includes a regularly-updated, 30+ page survey of the biotechnology industry.
- WetFeet.com - Pharmaceuticals & Biotech
- More? - Check out the governments & associations sections below as well as the Industry Surveys guide.
2. Definitions
- BIO's Glossaries: Glossary of Biotechnology Regulation and Compliance Terminology & Glossary of Agricultural Biotechnology Terms
- Also try searching our catalogue using the subject Biotechnology - Dictionaries.
- General business dictionaries: See the Dictionaries section of the SFU Library's guide to Business Writing for many online and print business dictionaries.
3. Current awareness (news sources)
News sources that you can easily check frequently to keep on top of this rapidly changing field:
- Advice for Investors: press releases from Canadian biotechnology/pharmaceuticals companies
- BioWorld Online, The Daily Biotechnology Newspaper
- Canada NewsWire: press releases on Canadian biotech companies
- Datamonitor360: includes recent industry news at a company level (e.g., M&A activity) and a product level (new product pipeline info)
- MarketWire: recent news on many industries, including biotech
- Yahoo: Biotechnology Industry News
- Note that many of the relevant journals and magazines available online for SFU researchers have "alert" features that allow you to get emails when new issues are published or your chosen topics are reported on. In addition, a growing number of e-journal publishers are making it possible to set up your own RSS feeds of their journal/magazine tables of contents. See section 4.4 (Electronic Journals) of this guide for tips on finding relevant e-journals.
4. Articles
Business Source Complete is most likely to be the first database that you should try, but the other resources on the following lists may also be useful. Ask for assistance if you can't find what you need in these data.
4.1. Business/management perspective
- Business Source Complete - uses SUBJECTS such as Biotechnology industries, Genetic engineering industry, and Pharmaceutical biotechnology industry.
- BSC includes the fulltext of such journals/magazines as Biotech Business, Biotech Financial Reports, Biotech Week, Worldwide Biotech, Journal of Commercial Biotechnology, and Asia-Pacific Biotech News.
- Note that Business Source Complete also offers some Life Sciences Analytics and Datamonitor company profiles for major companies around the world. Just click on the Company Profiles button on the right side of the screen in the database and search for your company.
- BSC also has thousands of industry and market reports, many of which touch on biotech topics. Click on Industry Profiles on the right side of the search screen to browse such reports.
- Datamonitor360 - Industry reports in over 7100 industries, with a substantial number touching on biotech/pharma topics. See the BUEC Buzz for a full description. ** Note that our subscription to Datamonitor360 will expire June 19, 2012.
- LexisNexis - has many fulltext trade publications that deal with this topic. Start by searching the following files, each of which covers dozens of relevant industry publications: NewsRX and Pharmaceutical and Cosmetics Stories.
- Check our lists of business databases for more suggestions.
4.2. Science perspective (including biology, medicine, and computing) - Remember to include terms such as industry, business, or commerce in your searches to focus on the business aspects of the topic or you will be buried in scientific articles.
- Agricola: US National Agriculture Library: all things agricultural
- BIOSIS Citation Index: Biology
- IEEE/IEE Electronic Library: Computing/engineering
- INSPEC: Engineering
- Medline: Medical
- Nature Reviews (online journals via the SFU Library): Cancer, Drug Discovery, Genetics, Immunology, Microbiology, Molecular Cell Biology, Neuroscience.
- Science & Technology Management Bibliography
- Science Indexes: a wide range of sciences
- Also check our guides to Biology and Molecular Biology & Biochemistry resources
4.3. Multidisciplinary perspective
- Academic Search Fulltext Premier
- CBCA: provides a more Canadian angle on the topic. Start with subjects such as Biotechnology industry
- Web of Science: citation index: find out who has cited key articles in their bibliographies
A growing number of economics sources are available on the web. Search for the title of the electronic journal or book you want in the library catalogue. If SFU has access to a web edition of the title, there will be a catalogue record with the words '[electronic resource]' at the end of the title. You can link from this record to the online version of the journal or book. If you would like to see only online journals, start with our Journals Database. Note that most of the electronic sources linked to from our catalogue are restricted to SFU faculty and students.
- The SFU Library Journals Database provides access to fulltext of electronic journals available to SFU Library users, on the web and through selected periodical indexes (CBCA, Business Source Complete, JSTOR, etc.). Use the search function of the database to look for such journal titles as Biotechnology & bioengineering, Biotechnology progress, and Biotechnology advances, as well as such magazines as Biotech Financial Reports.
- You might want to start by scanning the recent issues of some of the Nature Reviews titles owned by SFU. For example ...
-- Nature Reviews. Drug Discovery
-- Nature Reviews. Genetics
-- Nature Reviews. Cancer
5. Books
Books often provide a deeper and broader treatment of a subject than you can get from either a journal article or a web site. Start your search in the SFU Library Catalogue (and other local catalogues) with the following subjects:
- Agricultural biotechnology
- Biotechnology industries
- Biotechnology industries -- British Columbia.
- Biotechnology
- Biotechnology -- Canada
- Biotechnology -- Industrial applications
- Genetic engineering industry
- Pharmaceutical industry
6. Company information
Note that some of the resources listed in the Current Awareness section of this guide will give you recent company news/press releases. In addition, the databases listed in the Articles and Reports section are likely to provide company-specific information. The resources below are for more detailed financial information about companies - primarily of publicly-traded companies.
6.1. Key databases (largely financial data)
- Datamonitor360: Over 31,000 company reports, more than 2000 of which are in the pharma/healthcare field.
- FPinfomart.ca
- LexisNexis
- MINT Global
- See our list of Financial Data resources via the SFU Library for more suggestions of this sort. Also see our Company Information guide for resources that offer more textual information (descriptions, SWOTs, etc.).
- BIOTECanada's member list
- Biotechnology Company Directories: Industry Canada
- Biotech Industry Organization (BIO)'s member list
- Canadian Biotechnology Directory: Bennett Reference: HD 9999 B443 C45 - NOTE: there is an online version of this directory, but it doesn't supply complete company profiles and the search options are relatively basic.
- LifeSciences BC's member list (formerly BCBiotec)
- Ontario Agri-Food Technologies - Industry list
6.3. More detailed SFU Library guides for company information
7. Associations and industry organizations
Associations and industry organizations often have publications, news, and links to further resources. The following are a few of the many associations and organizations associated with biotechnology. To search for other organizations, try the sources listed in the Associations topic guide.
- BIO Alberta
- BIO Biotechnology Industry Organization
- BioNova: Nova Scotia Biotechnology & Life Sciences Industry Association
- BIOTECanada
- Canadian Biotechnology Advisory Committee: CBAC
- Japan Bioindustry Association
- LifeSciences British Columbia
- National Agricultural Biotechnology Council: US
- Ontario Agri-Food Technologies
- Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America
- Toronto Biotechnology Initiative
8. Government information
Governments at all levels can be great sources of useful data and analysis. There are many government publications in the SFU Library. Try searching for them by AUTHOR with either the jurisdiction followed by the name of the ministry or department (for example, British Columbia Ministry of Small Business, Tourism and Culture) or the name of the department by itself (for example, Statistics Canada). Also, don't forget that many government publications are in the microforms part of the library's 6th floor and can be found using the Canadian Research Index.
- Agriculture and Agrifood Canada: Novel (GM) Foods
- Canadian Biotechnology Advisory Committee
- Canadian Biostrategy
- Canadian Food Inspection Agency : Office of Biotechnology
- Canadian Research Index: Canadian government documents
- Environment Canada
- Health Canada: search for "genetic testing" and related topics to find reports. Also check out their Genetically Modified (GM) Foods and Other Novel Foods page.
- Industry Canada:
- Industry Profiles: Human Resources and Social Development Canada (slightly dated)
- Life Sciences: Alberta Government - some points relevant to BC and Canada as a whole
- Statistics Canada:
- Biotechnology resources (note that the CANSIM tables listed are available to SFU researchers via SFU's CANSIM database)
- The Canadian Bioproducts Industry, 2003 and 2006
- Innovation analysis bulletin
- AND Research papers (free, but increasingly dated):
- National Human Genome Research Institute: includes information on ethical, legal & social implications
- US Patent and Trademark Office: searchable patent database
- US Human Genome Project Information
- US FDA: Plant Biotechnology for Food and Feed
- US Dept. of Agriculture: Agricultural Biotechnology Website
- US Regulatory Agencies Unified Biotechnology Website
- Washington LifeScience.com
8.4. International
- Australian Office of the Gene Technology Regulator
- European Commission: Biotechnology
- OECD Biotechnology
- FAO - Agricultural Biotechnologies
- More? - A detailed list of government sites around the world can be found at Governments on the WWW.
9. Web guides & directories
These sites have been chosen because they have extensive links to biotechnology information. They are great places to start searching if the resources in this guide don't have what you need.
- Biotechnology Resources: A Beginner's Kit: article from the May 2002 issue of Searcher - only SFU researchers will be able to view this
- BIOZONE - Biotechnology Links
- FAO - Agricultural Biotechnology - Links
- Information Systems for Biotechnology: Agbiotech information
- International Economics Network: Check out the ITC/Biotech section.
- National Biotech Register: Biotechnology Industry Directory: US
- World Wide Web Virtual Library: Biotechnology Information Directory
10. Bioethics
- Bioethics for Beginners: a bioethics.net site
- Bioethics Resources on the Web: US National Institutes of Health (NIH)
- Biotech Ethics: Ethics in the Biotechnology Industry (see also the related resources on the right side of the page, including a few sites by the same author: Genetics & Ethics; StemCells.ca; and PharmacoEthics.com)
- Biotechnology, Ethics & Government: A Synthesis
- Canadian Bioethics Society
- The [U.S.] President's Council on Bioethics
Start by searching the indexes listed in the journal/magazine article section above. The following list of journals are among the many potentially relevant titles that are fulltext online for SFU researchers.
- American journal of bioethics
- Journal of business ethics
- Kennedy Institute of Ethics journal
- Health Matrix: Journal of Law Medicine
- Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics
- Journal of Medical Ethics
- Theoretical medicine and bioethics
Start your search in our catalogue with such subject headings as:
- Bioethics
- Biology - Social Aspects
- Business - Ethics
- Medical ethics
- Social responsibility of business
- Technology - Moral And Ethical Aspects
11. Patents
I plan to add several more patent resources in this section in the future, but for now the following guides to patent research are great starting points:
- World Intellectual Property Office (WIPO): Intellectual Property and Genetic Resources, Traditional Knowledge, and Folklore
- SFU Library guide to patent research
- PATSCAN: Includes many links to patent databases, information about patents, etc.
