Archaeology Information Resources: Books & Articles
Books
All of SFU's books and journals -- both online and print -- are listed here: SFU Library Catalogue
New Books
Interested in what new books the Library is getting for Archaeology? You can keep on top several different ways.
- The Archaeology New Books page listing new titles catalogued and funded by Archaeology monograph funds
- Dig This! will feature a weekly round up of new titles, Videos/DVDs, and other related material
E-books
- The SFU Library provides thousands of e-books, both popular and academic, and all of them are listed in our catalogue. Try an Advanced Keyword search in which you limit your search to Format: Electronic Resource and Books or Journals: Books.
- ebrary: books and reports in all subject areas from a wide range of publishers
- MyiLibrary: thousands of academic books in all subject areas, mostly from the publisher Springer
Journals & Magazines
Start with these databases to find articles in the field of Archaeology. You may also want to view database lists such as Biological Sciences, Geography, First Nations, etc. as appropriate for your specific research topic.
Top Resources
Web of Science
A combined search of all of the Web of Science Citation indexes.
Google Scholar
Search specifically for scholarly literature.
Human Relations Area Files: Archaeology
Full-text data on archaeological traditions from around the world. Text is subject-indexed for quick information retrieval.
Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus unites Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the Anthropological Index Online from the Royal Anthropological Institute. The resource indexes material relating to anthropology and archaeology.
AnthroSource
Full-text access to journals produced by the American Anthropological Association
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Index for all aspects of Native North American culture, history, and life.
Biological and Agricultural Index Plus
Covers core literature in biology and agriculture.
GEOBASE
Human and physical geography.
Human Relations Area Files: World Cultures (formerly Collection of Ethnography)
Source documents on cultures of the world.
JSTOR
Searchable, archival collection of core scholarly arts, humanities and social sciences journals.
For further suggestions, see the full list of Archaeology databases.
